Mindful Monday: Hosting Meditation (SGM) from Car!

in #mindfullife5 years ago

Hello Kind Mindful Steemians!

Isn't is amazing to start the week with Mindful Monday Post - Thank you @riverflows @naturalmedicine.

The day started quite nicely. Woke up at 5:15 am and before getting up I filled myself with gratitude for being alive and healthy, being able to see, hear, feel, think and so on. Grateful for the family and friends and of course the #meditators folks in mindful life community under @naturalmedicine. Grateful to everyone, everything and every events in the life....
image.png

The gratitude prayers raised my happiness chemical (serotonin) and guess what? It made me happier. I then made coffee and tea for me any my other half to enjoy the drink in the bed. Love that morning coffee in my bed. Drinking the coffee mindfully - slowly raising the cup reaching to my lips, feeling the touch of the cup on my lips and tasting coffee on my tongue, going through my throat and feeling the warm in my belly. Not that I'm always mindfully drinking my coffee like that but I remembered wathcing Thich Naht Hanh interview with Oprah -

.

Then we sat for an hour of meditation together - great way to start the day.

But, anyway I was going to talk about an unusual way of hosting SGM - from my car. Yap. And how mindfulness helped.

Why?
So, we have ran 5 SGM (Steemit Group Meditation) on @naturalmedicine Discord Server and it was the 6th SGM. We had to go to a party from 3 to 8pm and SGM was due to be at 6pm. And I had it all planned - so I thought. From the party I had to drop my daughter to her friend's house for sleep over at around 5pm. So, as per my well thought out plan - I was going to drop my daughter to her friend's house and then go to my home 15-20 mintues away, meditate with wonderful people and then go back to the party. What could go wrong?

We reached to the party at around 3:30pm worrying we were getting late. But due to small mishap caterer was quite a few hours late arriving. As the clock was ticking to 5:30pm, I was getting to my car with my daughter. But before driving off, took few deep breaths - calmed myself and dived inside myself. Noticed the fast pulse and heart rate (with the thought that I might be late for SGM) but observed it objectively. Breath was deep. I also witnessed the arising of worry. Observing everything as if I was separate from the physiological and psychological happenings. Realizing the #Buddha's teaching:
Aniccā vatha sankhārā
Uppāda vaya dhamminō
Uuppajjitvā nirujjhanti
Te san vūpa samō sukhō

A common translation:
All things are impermanent
They arise and pass away
Having arisen they come to an end
Their coming to peace is bliss
(Mahā Parinibbāna Sutta)
Source

Accepting that present moment and surrendering to the NOW put me into ease and peace. Then, traffic tested my mindfulness too. As road got congested I could see the arising of frustration but again it could not grow as I noticed it right at the time of its birth. Then I got to my daughter's friend house just couple of minutes to 6 pm. So there was no time for me to get home and host the meditation session. I thought, hmmm...., may be the universe wants me to try an unusual way of hosting meditation - from my car. So, quickly I parked near a quiet residential area and checked in in our ethereal harmonic Meditation Hall in our amazing mindful life community. And we meditated for half an hour - nicely, quietly and deeply.

I remember laughing and chatting afterward with @yangyanje on my way back to the party. And, reached the party filled with peace and joy of meditation. The party was just amazing. It could not have been better, could it really?

So, yes, that was the story from our 6th SGM - you wanted to know , didn't you @riverflows @vincentnijman @chireerocks?

Interested to join SGM (Steemit Group Meditation)?
We cordially invite you to Mindful Life community, which resides in the @naturalmedicine server HERE. Our #SGM (#SteemitGroupMeditation) in our virtual Meditation Hall are on:

  • Wednesdays 8:30 to 9:30 pm London time (30 minute session)
    (8:30-8:40 pm check in & brief guidance, 8:40-9:10pm guided meditation and 9:10 to 9:30pm Q & A plus chitchat)

  • Saturdays 5:30 to 7:00pm London time (One hour session)
    (5:30-5:40pm check in & brief guidance, 5:40-6:40pm guided meditation and 6:40 to 7:00pm Q & A plus chitchat).

But you are welcome to join just guided meditation session if time prevents you from joining the whole time.

Please join us – we love to share our Happy Place - Meditation Hall.

Promotion and Reward
@naturalmedicine is offering 5SBI for Mindful Monday post.
#Write about what brought you to a meditative experience and how it's benefited your life thus far;
• use the tags #mindfullife and #naturalmedicine for a chance to be upvoted and resteemed

My recent reward of SBI, Steem and SP delegation : 5 SBI give away for reesteems 👍🏼! And deadline to Win 6SP Plus delegation of up to 150SP extended to end of May just finished. I will be announcing the winners and participants soon.

FDB0FA941A40402CA5733C6D760DD9A4.jpeg
B11DCCF1093F44D7B12EC8AD439B5882.jpeg
13458A1C5087420789DF92DB9968485F.gif

With Peace Love & Joy 🕉❤️😊
Let’s grow together in wisdom through #meditation 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Sort:  

@bewithbreath, Aniccā vatha sankhārā Uppāda vaya dhamminō Uuppajjitvā nirujjhanti Te san vūpa samō sukhō 😊 thank you for sharing this wonderful post. I remember that day, as i was doing some administrational work and kept filing. I looked at the watch and rushed out to find a nice spot on a lawn. I went into a residential area and sat next to a clothes drying line besides a big tree. When we were finished, an old lady looked at me with a gurn. 😂 Also, i takes ages to finish my coffees. As i take small sips, i even had them besides me for 12h a cup and long gone cold.

what? 12 hours on a coffee? The Portuguese drink their ( tiny and strong ) coffees in one gulp, when the coffee is still burning hot. My drinking is slower and more mindful but it won't take me much longer than 12 minutes as I like my coffee to still be warm.

Really like espressos or black coffees which won’t take me that long. A cold almond coffee shake does take me a while. Literally a day. Normally my coffees need to be black and without sugar. Some the taste of good roast. Specially from Honduras.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cold almond coffee shake sounds good. I actually got a liter of almond milk at my house, gifted by my sister but never drank it before. Can you share the recipe with me?

I tend to drink black coffee too and don't even remember the last time I drank sugar in it. I love tea with honey, ginger ( and lemon ) though.

Yes, that was beautiful time. I bet the lady was amazingly surprised 😃. Looked like we were in the same wavelength that day then 😃. Drinking coffee slowly and mindfully 🧘🏼‍♂️🙏🏼🕉

Posted using Partiko iOS

It really was 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for sharing that story with us. I think this 'challenge' was brought to you to share this beautiful story with us. It's definitely one of a kind :>)

I make you right - everything happens for a reason, right?

I like to think that too :>)

@bewithbreath, I am really excited for the next one. Due to time differences i cannot express my excitement but i really enjoy these sessions. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and look forward to meditating together in the next sessions 😊🧘🏼‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome and yes.

Congratulations @bewithbreath! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thank you my friend 🙏🏼. Your work is greatly appreciated👋🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @bewithbreath, I'm happy about this! ;-)

The best thing about meditation is that no one cares where you are! And it doesn't matter. Just for fun, one day, get everyone to turn on theit cameras and give you a 1 min show and tell of where THEY are, LOL... be prepared for some fun!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Hahaa😃😃😃 Good idea.
Yes, absolutely agree - we are here and now, where else would we be as Eckhart Tolle puts it 😊🧘🏼‍♂️🤔🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope to join you my friends. Thanks for the reminder @bewithbreath.

Look forward to meditating together my friend.

@bewithbreath, Will try to join this session. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97