Mindful Monday - Be Good To Yourself

in #mindfulmonday5 years ago

mindful monday lotus.jpg

Hello Steemverse!!

I hope all of you have been well. Sorry about not getting my #mindfulmonday post out last week. With all of the changes going on and the platform being down. I didn't want to do a rushed version. I try to aim for quality.

U5dsQzXGmi32MqQQ2XZt7KjFJLv4jm7_1680x8400.png

First of let's get some news out of the way....

If you haven't noticed or heard yet there are amazing happenings with @naturalmedicine. @naturalmedicine just launched their SMT Lotus coin with the front end interface of naturalmedicine.io. Being able to just go to that front end (or through your Tribes on Steempeak) you will be able to find just about everything that is natural medicine, homeopathy, yoga, meditation, mindful, zen, alchemy, cannabis, vegan, perma culture and oh so much more. Head over to naturalmedicine.io and get an idea of what is happening.

Here is the #mindfullife community's weekly post. This week @riverflows did an amazing job or filling in all the details of the activities going on. We are always looking for great spiritual, mindful, mediation, and like posts to promote from this group. Please feel free to use #mindfulmonday for a Monday post and #mindfullife for anything else during the week. It makes is so much easier to find the right content.

U5dsQzXGmi32MqQQ2XZt7KjFJLv4jm7_1680x8400.png

holiness1207699_1280.jpg

Image by John Hain from Pixabay

U5dsQzXGmi32MqQQ2XZt7KjFJLv4jm7_1680x8400.png

On to today's topic ... Be Good To Yourself.

I know sometimes I sound like a broken record. I mean to, but I do. One of the only ways we can invoke change in our lives is to be reminded. It takes 21 days to make or break a habit. It takes 90 days for it to become part of your lifestyle. So if it takes time to create or stop doing something which you had taken a while to learn previously, then why are we so hard on ourselves?

The biggest thing about making a life change is why? You have to want it for the right reasons. That is different for each person, but if you are making a change to make someone else happy then it usually is a bad choice. The main reason being is while it may be something you want for yourself, until you are ready to make this change because you truly want it you are setting yourself up for failure. Then in turn you beat yourself up to be let down. If you're let down, then your desire to make a change of any type is lessened.

With enough setback and the lessened desire to make a change leads down that dirty helpless road of depression. You lose faith in yourself then start making comments of not being good enough, failing at everything you try, stupid for trying this ... We all have talked down on ourselves at one time or another. Some times intentionally, most of the time we think we're being silly. "Ugh, I'm so dumb why did I do that?'
You're walking and simply trip over seemingly nothing. 'I'm such a klutz.'

As I said most of the time we don't think anything of it and we think we're being silly. However, there is this teeny tiny little part of your brain that latches on to that thought and stores it away. Then when you are stressed, depressed, have anxiety or you simply have a bad day all of those comments come flooding back. We all wonder where it came from. Your mind has been storing it to throw it back in your face.

How do we change that? We need to be nicer to ourselves. Forgive ourselves. Accept we are not perfect.
When you do make a comment like that, acknowledge it and simple answer back 'No I am not.' Don't let it find a home. Let the love in your heart be expressed to yourself. Be kind to that person you see in the mirror every day. That person has been through a lot and they deserve your love and respect.

How do you expect someone to be nice to you if you aren't nice to yourself? Start saying nice things to yourself. Write notes to yourself such as Smile! or You are loved. or Giggle something that will trigger a positive or happy emotion. When you miss a day of something .. "Ok that is done and we're not going back.' That moment is gone, don't stay there move to the next.

Once we can start fighting our negative view of ourselves things actually do start to get easier. If you stick with it, it pays off in the end.

U5dsQzXGmi32MqQQ2XZt7KjFJLv4jm7_1680x8400.png



Pay It Forward Contests

Power House Creatives _night mode.png


Brought to you by @quochuy (steem witness)

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral



Thank you for your continued support!
Love,

holiness1207699_1280.jpg

Sort:  

So glad I stumbled onto this today... because lately I have done a lot of thinking about how I prioritise things and somehow I always end up at the bottom of the pile. After all the drama in my world last week, it made me start thinking about that even more... it was/is beginning to feel like no matter how much I give or do for those around me, somehow it is never enough and so little of it apparently acknowledged... so I have begun to ask myself the question why bother. It has put me into a headspace where I have decided that from this point on, I am putting myself first and even just writing that down or verbalising it feels good... because it is about time I did it!

but if you are making a change to make someone else happy then it usually is a bad choice.

Never were truer words spoken!

It is. You have a lot going on and I don't know the half of it. It's hard to put yourself first when you have always done for others. As I am constantly reminded 'You can't fill everyone else's cup when yours is empty.'

Glad this helped a little @jaynie.

You can't fill everyone else's cup when yours is empty.

Well said!!!
And yes it did, thank you again xoxo

@jaynie,

Now listen up, Lassie ... in the entire history of humanity, very FEW people have ever had a poem written as an ode to their pork chops. https://steemit.com/powerhousecreatives/@quillfire/flawless-delicious-vignette-lyric-poetry-contest-by-felixgarciap

In a thousand years, someone is going to come across that poem and ask, "Who was this woman that inspired such adulation?"

Helen Of Troy ... The Iliad

Jaynie of Cape Town ... Flawless, Delicious Vignette

It's all about perspective. :-)

Quill

I hate mondays :D

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL 😋 It's just a day.

That's what my aunt always say...you have to treat yourself well, especially spiritually...when you think of crap, it's always going to come back to you at a later date. And it isn't very easy to throw those stuff away...

For me the answer to most of these bad situations is "can I fix it?" and if the answer is no, leave that and do something better :D You don't waste time when you only have one life...

That's awesome @lilacse. I've tried to teach that to my kids. I didn't learn it until recently, so we're having to throw away a lot of things when they come up.

Hello dear friend @tryskele.

I loved all these reflections on how to make a change in our lives. We must certainly identify our needs for change and be honest with ourselves when setting priorities in our lives.

But thinking about this led me to a new reflection: Should we always be looking for a change in our lives? Will it always be necessary to change? Or maybe it will be negative to achieve and maintain a state of conformity for extended periods?

That is, to feel that we have already achieved everything in life and that we are in a state of personal fulfillment could become a negative factor for ourselves.

We must always be in search of a higher state of consciousness.

All best, Piotr.

Great observation @crypto.piotr. I have always hoped someone would mention the other side. I don't think of it in an inclusive perspective. There are those and I would count you in this category, that are a path in which their view is clear to them. Their lives are fulfilling. So trying to find peace and balance are not needed.

I think there needs to be a little change here and there, if we do become too complacent then we stagnate. When that happens that's when I have noticed friends having issues with their relationships and life. It doesn't mean that one needs to be spiritual or live by a strict mantra. A change can simply be deciding to learn a language or just time away that you normally wouldn't take.

Then there are those of us who have been traumatized, lived years seemingly fine and then unexpectedly find themselves in a state of chaos and conditioned responses that they no longer want. I never thought that my little comments to myself were bad. I thought I was being silly. Turns out I had been hurting myself. My brain likes to remind me of that. So then we work on a change.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.742 which ranks you at #5424 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 116 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It is Monday again tomorrow and I am asking myself where did my weekend go lol. Anyway loving oneself is crucial as we cannot truly love others unless we love our self. Have a happy week ahead and thanks for sharing this topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10