The Ten Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path

in #mindfulness6 years ago (edited)

The Second Stage

Part 4

Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path are similar to the Theravada idea of the Noble Eight-fold Path, although not the same in the order of the stages, as well as the aim of the various stages that comprise the total trajectory that the Bodhisattva has to traverse. The idea of the Bodhisattva path is linked to the idea of bodhicitta, the aspiration of becoming enlightened, and this aim is for the benefit of all sentient beings—when compared to the Arahant idea it is distinguished by the fact, that the Bodhisattva holds off on attaining final non-returning Nirvana until all sentient beings are brought along the journey of the Bodhisattva path towards enlightenment.

Various Mahayana texts discuss the stages of the path in varying detail and order. For this fourth article in the series, I’ve mainly followed the stages of the Path as explained in the Dasa Bhumika Sutra. Dasa bhumika in Sanskrit means ten stages. Prior to these ten stages, and similar to how the Theravada Eight-fold Path had the gotrabhu (becoming of the lineage), some texts define two preliminary stages that were explained in Part 1 of this series. I’ve also consulted the abhidharmsamuccaya text of Asanga that provides additional information for the stages, as well as the Sutralamkara text.

In this article, I’ll cover the second stage of the 10 Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path.

Stage 2. The Spotless Unstained stage (vimala bhumi)

The second stage is called Spotless and Unstained, because the Bodhisattva realizes that he has become free from unwholesome and bad actions. The Bodhisattva has perfected the Mahayana virtuous precepts (sila paramita) and attained the bases of the ten virtuous and skillful actions (kusala mula). Their thoughts are free from any taints or defilements. The Bodhisattva practices absorption meditation (dhyana) and mind concentration (samadhi).

The Sutralamkara clarifies the Sanskrit term vimala as becoming pure of mind, by freeing oneself from the stain of immorality (dauhsilya-mala) and the stain of attention paid to other vehicles (anyayana-manas-karamala). Vehicles in this sense refers to Non-Mahayana schools of thought.

A Bodhisattva, who practiced and attained the first stage, now aims for the second stage, where one develops the ten intentions of the mind: straight-forward, kind hearted, pliable, well tamed and self-controlled, even-minded, auspicious and helpful, undivided, indifferent, subliminal and greatness.

The mind intention of straight-forward relates to the concentration required to not deviate from the straight path and focus on the task at hand of the perfection of virtue:


1. The mind intention of kind hearted means to be patient when helping others along the path.

2. The mind intention of pliable means to have a mind ready for practice both willing and adaptable to absorb the teachings.

3. The mind intention of well tamed and self-controlled means to not be easily distracted from the Bodhisattva path and it’s practices.

4. The mind intention of even-minded means to have single-pointed concentration on the object of meditation.

5. The mind intention of auspicious and helpful means to have an open mind without preconceptions when helping others.

6. The mind intention of undivided means to not jump onto other internal thoughts or external distractions.

7. The mind intention of indifferent means to treat all mind obstacles equally.

8. The mind intention of subliminal and greatness means to have a pure and virtuous mind.


When these mind intentions are well developed and come to fruition, the Bodhisattva establishes oneself in the second stage.

Along with the development of the positive intentions of the mind, the Bodhisattva no longer has any negative actions, such as:


1. The taking of life of sentient beings.

2. Taking what is not given (stealing).

3. Unwholesome behavior and misconduct.

4. Telling lies and leading people astray.

5. Unwholesome and harsh speech.

6. Idle talk and useless chatter.


This attainment has an effect on how the Bodhisattva sees other sentient beings who are still suffering in cyclical round of birth, aging, and death; because of this, the Bodhisattva commits to convincing others to avoid unwholesome actions, speech, and thoughts as well. This shows how what is attained is directly beneficial to others, in that the right conduct and right view is put into practice to help others immediately. In teaching others what one has attained oneself, the Bodhisattva has the ability to see how each person has a varying level of unwholesome demerit and wholesome merit, and knowns where to help each individual based on their immediate need in each person’s particular weaker areas.

In turn, those who are helped see the great compassion in the Bodhisattva, who now indiscriminately teaches and guides those who are in need, helping them to attain the same right conduct and right view. Out of the perfections (paramita) that are practices as part of the Bodhisattva Mahayana stages, the perfection of virtue (sila paramita) is accentuated in this stage and becomes well established. Virtue in oneself and towards others.

In the next article, I’ll be discussing The Third Stage of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path in full detail.



Pictures From Pixabay


  • The Ten Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path-The Two Preliminary Stages-Part 1
  • The Ten Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path-The Two Preliminary Stages-Part 2
  • The Ten Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path-The Two Preliminary Stages-Part 3

  • The Deathless In Buddhism
  • The "Timeless" Teaching-Being Beyond Temporality

  • The Nine Successive Cessations In buddhist Meditations - Part 1
  • The Nine Successive Cessations In buddhist Meditations - Part 2
  • The Nine Successive Cessations In buddhist Meditations - Part 3

  • The Twelve Links Of Dependent Origination

  • THINGS to DEVELOP and THINGS to AVOID

  • The First Noble Truth
  • The Second Noble Truth
  • The Third Noble Truth
  • The Fourth Noble Truth

  • 10 Fold Path Series

  • EATING MEAT — WHY THE BUDDHA WAS NOT A VEGETARIAN

  • I will flag comment spam at 1% strength. If you keep on spamming my post, I will flag you at 100%. I don't care if you have limited English abilities, write a couple of sentences about this article, no copy-paste, please. I will flag: one sentence comments, links to your blog and begging for up-votes and follows. Also, I will flag comments that have nothing to do with my blog's article. I will also check your comment section to see if you have been comment spamming on other blogs.

    Pictures From Pixabay


    some_text A link to My Blog

    Sort:  

    tipuvote! Thanks for sharing the knowledge :)

    Thank you kindly @cardboard

    the journey of a man to the sanctity of the soul in Sufi science there are stages. These stages are called maqaamat.
    in general maqam:

    • kasyaf
    • Shuhud
    • maqam mortal

    and every maqam there are levels too, a lot of similarities between the holy with the teachings of budaha ,, I like your explanation @reddust

    Thank you for bringing diversity to my Buddhist post. I love comparing our religions and finding common ground we can share together...There are fundamental differences between our religions but we all can agree wisdom, loving kindness, compassion and a pure heart are fundamental for finding what we seek, whether it is god and heaven or enlightenment and Nirvana (final release).

    in the science of Sufi there is known as salik and al wasil, salik is a new person struggling to cleanse the heart of all forms of evil, all vengeance, all anger. so that his relationship with god is still tangled fantasy or stain.
    al washers who have reached the stage of the sanctity of the soul, they are also in some degree, the most sacred level is called mortal, that is no longer look at anything in this nature other than all his mind is directed to god

    Yes that is key, one must clean the mind and heart so one can see what one is aiming for...are we trying to see through our ignorance and mistake God for our delusions? Or do we really want to see God as God is, not as we wish God to be...In Buddhist context, we want to break through our conditioning and see reality as it is so we can turn around and see who is watching the display of our senses and conditioning...hahaha

    If I stay alive after my exams I swear to Buddha and the God of Pancakes that I'll try all stages of the Mahayana path!

    lolol, I know how you feel facing those exams, get your sleep and remember to eat...You will need a good teacher, Mahayana: Zen, Chan, Pureland, Vajrayana all have great teachers but there are a lot of head tripping gurus out there that just want your money!

    I'll start with the youtube videos and try to comprehend on my own at the beginning.
    And then we will see, sensei :)))

    Check out different traditions and pick the one that moves you the most @sadpotato

    Yes master Reds, I'll do as you say!

    Buddhism religion showing me better path for find succeed way through your contents. This time you explained better part number two of Bodisattva path. There are lot of mind controlling system have and we need to sacrifice something for seek better way.

    @kingsberry, this stage can be practiced by anyone just not at the level of a Bodhisattva that has realized the emptiness of all things holds no lasting happiness.

    You see all the mind quality in Buddhism if applied to life of individuals will definitely bring about better people walking this earth. These I’ve learnt today and I look forward to learning more. Thanks for the daily enlightenment

    I understand this stage better than the first stage...I really try to be good even though I like to curse and have a temper...hahaha

    Smiles, well those are not constant you can change them but it takes more than words of mouth to achieve this, I talk like it’s Very easy. Definitely requires determination + dedication to achieve this

    Shamatha and vipassana meditation help because you can feel the conditioning before it becomes thoughts and actions....I thank my first teacher every day when I practice meditation he introduced me to my meditation teacher!

    Oh that’s cool, I thought I could meditate on my own . So I actually need a teacher ?

    You can develop qualities of calmness learning shamatha or anapana breath meditation from youtube...but to fully develop breath meditation and insight (vipassana) you need to go to a meditation retreat. All sorts of stuff we have been hiding in our heads may come up and we can get lost in our mind and or think we are enlightened, achieved the bumis...that is where a teacher comes in handy, they are like a guide that pulls us out of our ignorance when we get stuck in the quicksands of bullshit that litter our subconscious/uncounsious, I can never remember which term is the correct one......hahaha

    Wow. It’s quite deeper than I thought I could handle lol. But thanks for enlightening more. You’re much appreciated my friend

    I've been to a lot of retreats and I have seen within my self and experienced helping others...there are a lot of dark closets, quicksand traps, haunted basements and attics that need to be cleaned out...many people freak out from overwhelming boredom...I always welcomed boredom...it was better than the horrible back pain I used to experience...that went away at the end of my first retreat never to return...but if I had run away from that pain instead of sitting through the pain and eventually letting go, I would of never experienced what happened after that ;-)

    I recommend if you follow and do the needful these steps of Bodhisatva path definitely might control your mind. Mind control is a biggest task around humans life. Meditation stages giving better help for do it better. Well description as you mentioned @reddust.

    In the beginning one may need to control emotions but eventually the conditioning that triggers strong emotions and acting will fade away and a cool calm contentedness will take the place of the hot burning negative emotions and feelings. I have had some experience with the coolness of equanimity...it is awesome! No longer do my emotions lead me around by the nose, well most of the time anyway ;-) at least I don't throw my shoes at when I get angry at the family not putting their stuff away in its proper place....hahahaha

    @reddust, actually I am not a Buddhist, but I believe it's a religion of wisdom and love for humanity, over here in my country it doesn't exist, but Atleast with some principles like the ones you have mentioned in your post, my life grows better daily. I would love to ask are you a Buddhist?

    You could call me a Buddhist but I am finding labels are starting to fall off of me in my old age...hehehe

    It must be my wrinkly saggy skin...the paramitis, the Four Immeasurable

    “The teachings on love given by the Buddha are clear, scientific, and applicable… Love, compassion, joy, and equanimity are the very nature of an enlightened person. They are the four aspects of true love within ourselves and within everyone and everything.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh

    http://www.bodhicitta.net/The%20Practice%20of%20the%20Four%20Immeasurables.htm

    Okay keep it up

    @reddust, I'm learn lot of things from you coz Mahayana Buddhism has some various things between Theravada Buddhism. But very near equality also indeed. Mahayana Bodhisattva Path and Noble Eight-fold Path very near meaningful indeed. No longer difference there.

    Along with the development of the positive qualities of the mind, the Bodhisattva no longer has any negative actions, such as:

    Here's you mentioned six concepts. It very equality to our daily worship five steps Precepts (Pansil). I looked lot of equality both Mahayana & Theravada. However I want to tell, Buddhism wanna best religion for find Nirvana path.

    Mahayana has more flowery discriptions and isn't as organized with it's sutras, many Mahayana schools follow only one sutra but yes the qualities that are developed are the same...although Mahayana puts a lot of stress on bodhicitta, (compassion+emptiness).

    Yep..I agreed with your content. I'll studying it and in future I understand much better both equality.

    I've been following the series and enjoying your writing about enlightenment and everything else. Very cool! Thank you for taking your time to write all this and post it for us.

    My husband is the editor and helps me research these articles so you are hearing some of his ideas as well. We are both Buddhist, however he has never learned to meditate, he is a scholar...sometimes we end up knocking heads over how to translate pali and sanskrit words, I come from a meditaters view and he comes from a book-learning view...we make a good team....

    Sounds like you guys are a dream team! I admire that.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.39
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.040
    BTC 70118.22
    ETH 3546.28
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.89