Philosophy of Consistency and the Importance of Breaking Down Big Goals...

in #mindset5 years ago
Hello, dear Steemians!

In my many years of entrepreneurship I have come to realize that working yourself to the ground hardly ever works. What works, however, is the application of consistency in every endeavor or trial you take on.


image1.jpg
img src

We have all experienced this; we decide to go to the gym and get into shape. On the first day you exercise for 6 hours and when you come home, you look in the mirror and see no change.

The second day you go to the gym and again work out with intensity, but when you come home, you witness no change. You see no results, then it must not be effective. So, you quit.

Or imagine that you are really into someone. You remember their birthday and buy flowers and gifts for them on Valentine’s Day, but you still witness a one-sided emotional interaction. You start to think that it may never work out as you see no signs of it when you do something about it. So, you quit.

When it comes to studying for your exams, you sometimes find it difficult to grasp the subject matter and really understand what it is about. You pick a day, and decide to spend hours and hours pouring into hundreds of pages of manuscript, but you still do not comprehend them in a reasonable way.

Hence, you decide that you may be too thick to understand the lesson or education is not the best course of action in life. So, you quit.


image2.jpg
img src

There is nothing wrong with you, and you are not doing anything wrong. The problem is that our vision is sometimes limited to the idea that everything must have an immediate result in accordance with the laws of cause and effect. That is a misguided perception of how this world works.

When you begin to exercise, you are not going to see results within the first few days. I am not sure how many days it takes, but I do know that if you have consistency, you will get into shape. It is only a matter of time. You are not going to get into shape by going to gym for a week and exercising punishingly and intensely. You are going to get into shape if you work out every day for 20 minutes.

What does brushing your teeth for two minutes a day do for you? Absolutely nothing. What does brushing your teeth for a whole year for two minutes a day do for you? All the world. It will give you healthy teeth.


image3.jpg
img src

When your main aspiration is to reach an income of six thousand dollars in a month, you should not look at it as this overwhelming and unbeatable number. Six thousand dollars a month is two hundred dollars a day.

When you realize that your milestone is to make two hundred dollars a day, achieving the goal will no longer seem like such an impossible idea.
Consistency is one the most important habits of successful people. Pressuring yourself into intense deadlines will gain you nothing. But if you bring consistency and discipline to your schedule, you will not live to regret it.

We cannot exactly say that how long it will take or on what day you will start to see the effects of consistency, but one thing is for sure:

You will eventually start to see those results in everything that you do with consistency.

A BIG HUG!

@chbartist

==================================
Important Note!

I have been working very hard on this blog since the beginning. I have a very busy life but I am giving my best and believe me I have shared experiences that I have been coaching thousands of people and I know that the change of the Mindset should be daily. I am already grateful to see you giving upvotes to each other and you can see this with the fact that many already have 8, 9, 10 upvotes. But I'm sure that with the effort of all of us we will see a community with, 40, 50, 80 upvotes and for that everyone should get engaged so we can make it come true. I believe and we can! Resteem...

***Remember Community: Please, if you commented and upvote on a new post I did, please always go back to the previous one because if someone in the community commented lastly because of time zone differences it will be without your upvote and that would not be fair.

You all know the goal! We can reach: 50+ Upvotes each others!

Attention!!!

I'm reading all the meaningful comments from the posts.

I am here making a list of all of you who have helped build this community by voting for each other who write meaningful comments and soon I will respond to everyone with comment and thank you all because I can already see this spirit being built in this Positive Mindset community and help between all of you.

You will receive my upvote in all material and brief comments I will do this in all the posts I am following very closely and I can see what the people who are generous and contribute to this legacy that I am trying to build with all of you can become reality in a short time.

AND

First of all, I would like to thank all of you, who are the most active and proactive in this community, showing your generosity and always with meaningful comments. From now on I will always make a list of these incredible people who have helped to expand our goal of growing ever more.

And if you are not on this list, please, after making your comment, write in that comment: Include my profile in the list, because I do or want to be part of all this with all of you!

But I ask that if you are new around here you read many of the previous posts because they make it clear that we are building a community with respect among all, generosity and this blog is for those who really want to start moving their Mindset to positive and moreover be part of the growth of all of us who contribute to this blog. Please do not ask to include you in the list if you are just wanting votes or speculating because we want here people genuinely attuned to growth and good attitudes and as I have always said with Respect as the basis of all, generosity and positivity!

Remember the rules. First leave your comment meaningful and then leave your message that you want to be included in this comment. Everyone is welcome and I hope this list grows exponentially because this will be a reflection of everyone's growth. I really do not want to be able to update the list of so many people that can be included in it. Let's go together towards the 50+ upvotes to recognize the efforts of those who dedicate their time so that we can become stronger and leave a legacy of growth in our lives and in the lives of others!

ABOUT OUR LIST!!! WE NEED GROW THIS LIST! LET'S GO TOGETHER IN THIS COMMUNITY - RESTEEM!

I'm not going to put this list in all the posts because I do not quite understand why, but some people did not like me to tag them even though this list is a list of acknowledgment and thanks from the people I've observed being the ones who write meaningful comments , are generous voting for each other and contribute more to this family we are building here. So stay tuned to the text below and in the next posts.

@juanmanuellopez1 @moghul @coolguy222 @newageinv @gowealth @blessed-girl @cruis @lexymaine @alokkumar121 @aceandnotes @darlenys01 @rafique1953 @marvyinnovation @wems @ajks @alaisguineasis @amnlive @kimmysomelove42 @praditya @tommyl33 @samryan @vickykarma @brightsun @oppongk @kryp70kn1gh7 @hobo.media @theticket @royer94 @mentalhealthguru @bradley028 @nummulshrma @steemmatt @maxijgcomm @maikelblogo @mrblu @nancymj @petervi @mcoinz79 @missabigail @saludoalalma @mcnestler @moarafatshow @gargi @luis402 @rem-steem @shahzadeh @sumon-ar-vines @naijauser @yantrax @josema.saborido @khan.dayyanz @shapescooper @aceofhearts @marcocosta @rvag5 @fusroj @cashlane @borrowedearth @michaeljn @kchitrah @mitchhunter @nataliaeline @cherlianny @unknownphoton @unclefz @gardengranny @bettyamv @ghostwriter9 @wandrnrose7 @nancybriti @missladybug @shirophantomhive @rvag5 @ankitjnv @marvyinnovation @tommyl33 @gowealth @ustaadonline @daio @brightsun @mzubairch @lightestofideas @amit1995 @starapple @treodecimo @edinhazard @maxijgcomm @wasito @mariita52 @maroni55 @nataliaeline @ajtech2596 @keithf @wesleyvanderstel @grainsofsand @mariita52 @naijauser

Thanks All of You!!!!

Sort:  

I have always been Guilty of inconsistency until i finally understood how much it cost me in realising my goals........i learnt that breaking my Big goals to smaller bits and chunks made it easy for me to hit my target.....

Consistency is very important whatever we start. Result is a time taking process and we can't expect the result immediately but if we continue to do the same without gap then for sure result will come. Now a days patience level of people is too less and they want instant outcome which is practically not possible. In fact if we keep doing the work without worrying about results then we won't we worried about the time it took to achieve result and that will make us to maintain consistency without any worry.
Thanks for the post @chbartist
I am happy to be mentioned in each and every post of yours because it notify me about your news posts as well. My schedule is quite hectic now a days but whenever i get time i read all your posts and comments and even i vote to each meaningful comment. Have a great day.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are absolutely correct. We should always think of the out come on the long run instead of the short run.

i agree with you . Bruce lee say he was afraid with people who learn one punch on thousand times than people who learn thousand punch only for one times because that man become expert of that punch.

morale of the story : be consistence

Posted using Partiko iOS

You said absolutely correct @tommyl33

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @alokkumar121

Consistency is very important whatever we start.

You nailed it. Discipline and consistency = results.

Yours, Piotr

I agree with what you say. But there is also something I would like to add from my own experience. I wanted to be a stockbroker when I was in my high school. I was following economics programs and magazines since then. I've learned things that people in that age don't know. However, I later realized that both my dream and my thoughts were very effective. Because I really wanted to do that job and did it. I believed that i can this.

Another story is about my marriage. Before I was married, I was thinking about how I would be with someone in my mind. Especially the character structure had to be suitable for me. About 6 months later I got married with that person :) We have been married for 4 years now and have 1 child.

I've provided all of this in my mind. I also believe that the power of the words we use is the most important. Because I think all these issues are related to our belief in our brains. I even wrote a summer about it. You can look here if you want

After all, if we really want, and if we have the ability to do what we want then life will already offer you. We just have to be patient.

Thanks..

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

well said buddy. wise word say ,

If we believe we can , yes we always can but if we believe we cant , yes we always cant.

We are what we thinking either it true or not

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely, it is important that focus our thinking

It takes consistency to achieve a goal. We must remember that Rome was not built in a day. Can we feed ourselves for the whole week by eating too much in a single day? Never! In order to live we have to take food everyday. This is the way things works.
Many times we can't see any change in things despite of our hardest efforts. Some people put too much pressure on themselves to achieve the goal in no time but ultimately it harms them. Too much efforts bring tiredness that eventually forces them to quit.
Hence, patience is a vital thing while pursuing any goal. Shortcuts never work in some situations.

i think we need to add some value on these consistence and discipline hard work which is reason , a big why we want to do it .

so when we wanna stop , it ll remind us what we start that in the first place

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very true @akdx. Good point.

It takes consistency to achieve a goal.

Without consistency and discipline it's really hard to get anywhere.

Cheers
Piotr

Yeah my friend consistency and discipline is necessary to achieve our goals, we should not quit at any stage. Life is kind for those who do struggle.

Thank you for building such a beautiful community. I'm glad to be a part of this wonderful community.

Have a good day from my side.

A great hug for you @chbartist and for other members who are here with us in this journey.

Posted using Partiko Android

yeps 👍👍 consistence and discipline with 👏 job

Posted using Partiko iOS

What consistency and persevetance do in our lives are innumerable. Like you said, it is always difficult to experience the change you had wanted at the starting point and most times this discourages us to continue.

I think we should always look at the out come on the long run instead of relying on instant change immediately we start up something new.

I personally have experienced this hwee on steemit. When I started out on steemit, I was expecting to get instant/fast result and reward but it didnt work out my way. This made to quit steemit. However, later on I wenr back to research on how steemit works and it is exactly what you've given above... Consistency, engagement, good and valuable contents...and the list goes on.

Thank you for sharing such a wonder experience of yours once again.

agree with you buddy. the first step is always the hard one

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah @tommyl33 and if we are not strong enough or encouraged and supported by others we would easily give in.

I completely agree, First of all success is what we crave for and work harder for. being consistent is so damn important as it will lead into something worthy, but I wanted to add my view here, that dragging and pressuring ourselves into deadlines are sometimes and somehow important. it tests our ability to perform in limited period of time which definitely will bring some worthy changes.
keep up with such inspiring content. always happy to be part of your happy community.

another additional point of view .

Craving for success (intention ) -> work hard with consistence (action) -> deadline (goal setting)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I completely agree buddy!

Ahh! Being consistent is the hardest thing ever to do! I think I honestly force it out of me on principal, hoping one day it will somehow pay off and I will be in q better place xD like unemotional faith, or DEPRESSED faith LMFAO!

jokes aside, as usual, an absolutely inspiring post. My generation especially and the next one under me is obsessed with immediate gratification. We are bound to be disappointed, but having info and real wisdom available so we can get out of these bad habits is absolutely imperative.

Posted using Partiko Android

Discipline , consistency with RIGHT way is only way to get good result at the end of any job we do .

I we have good discipline and consistency but our way of doing is wrong , we ll never get good result but all we get is not what we expect to be good .

Like wise word say , we reap what we sow.

Follow me at @tommylee for my travel blog , life journal and photography journey

Posted using Partiko iOS

A very relevant post my friend! We do not need to look very far for examples of this behavior as in the little time I have followed you @chbartist, I have seen consistent motivational discussions. I have also seen your effort to reward the community by asking each to engage with other comments and provide support to those who deserve it. We are getting close to your goals and have also learned the importance of supporting each other as I have learned that a post worth less than $0.02 does not get rewarded after changes to Hard Fork 20. Therefore it is more important us to support each other now! I am am reviewing your community everyday and trying to provide enough voting to ensure that each relevant and meaningful comment surpasses that threshold so that their effort is recognized. It is a token of appreciation for the effort and intention of your consistency!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75