Apophyllite

in #minerals6 years ago (edited)

Apophyllite-1.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

One of the most interesting crystals in my collection is apophyllite (pronounced: ə - POFF' - ə - līt). Rather than being one discrete mineral, apophyllite is actually a class of three different varieties of mineral crystals with the generic formula 4 Si8O20(, ) ·8H2O, where the and positions can be (□) vacant:

Apophyllite-(KF) [Fluorapophyllite] : KCa4Si8O20(F,OH)·8H2O
Apophyllite-(KOH) [Hydroxyapophyllite] : KCa4Si8O20(OH,F)·8H2O
Apophyllite-(NaF) [Natroapophyllite] : Na4Si8O20F·8H2O

My specimen is probably the first variety, Apophyllite-(KF) [Fluorapophyllite], as it is the most common. Of course, it really does not matter to me because I like it, regardless of which type it is. 😁

The fascinating thing about this crystal is the different "faces" it has. There are FOUR large faces of a similar five-sided shape, which point up towards the top of the crystal. In-between them, along the bottom of the crystal are four smaller faces that are each unique in shape. The following image is the above photo with the faces outlined in aqua to help the viewer see them easier.

Apophyllite-1b.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

There is plenty of "stuff" inside this crystal — bits of uncrystallized material, some of which are planes that reflect light.

Apophyllite-2.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

Over the years that I have been studying crystals, I have seen many sources that indicate crystals with faces of the particular shape as those on my apophyllite crystal (see photo at right) are sacred to Goddess energy. I cannot find a definitive answer referencing the origins of such beliefs, but that shape appears to be a symbol of the great Mother Goddess of the ancient Egyptian religion

One possible explanation for the correlation of such a shape to Goddess might be found in a citation of A.H. Gardiner's "Catalogue of the Egyptian hieroglyphic printing type" [1] which depicts Figure M35 as a "heap of grain," which represents a life-giving force. This shape is not an exact match, but it is the closest explanation I can find at this time.

Those who believe in the metaphysical properties of crystals should note that apophyllite is one of the few crystal types that is purported to possess powerful-enough vibrations to clear negativity in their vicinity, including that trapped in other crystals.

Apophyllite-3.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

ThanksForReading.png 😊


SOURCES
   1 A.H. Gardiner, Catalogue of the Egyptian hieroglyphic printing type
   2 GemQuarry.com: Crystal Glossary
   3 Minerals.net: Apophyllite
   4 SatyaCenter.com: Apophyllite
   5 Wikipedia: Apophyllite


SeeOtherPosts--Crystals.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I love it! One thing that I has always kept my interest since childhood is stones and crystals. I can never pass up a unique stone while out on a hike. I usually end up coming home with at least a fist full haha. I love this post

I love your piece! Do you think this is apophyllite?
gem.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70