The beginning of an army.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #miniatures6 years ago

The longer you work in a given domain, the better you will get. This is not only concerning your skill level. It also means you get a back catalogue of possible works to start from when you want to do something new.

It is particularly true with digital content. Today I will show a few images of a dwarf which is basically a rehash of the Sindre blacksmith.


The shield was originally made for this model but I have used it for the minotaur as well


same goes for the axe. The helmet is a simple viking/norman style and will probably be reused in other projects as well


the main work on this one was in the body. On the original the upper body was bare. This one needed a cloth-gambeson, so I used some time sculpting on top of the naked body.


My idea with this is, that I make more handweapons, helmets and shield shapes and make several similar versions. I will also make a few other bodies to make room for twohanded weapons and spears.
This little fellow could be the beginning of an army - or a nice supplement to my existing one.


Thanks for reading this. Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem.
If this post is more than 7 days old , consider upvoting one of my newer posts instead.
or you can check out these recent posts

Trolls
hot'n busy
more trolls

If you are interested in my miniatures, you might also consider visiting my shapeways shop

Sort:  

Cool Dwarf - nice modeled - looks great :-)

Such violent accoutrements! Maybe you could mix it up with a spatula, a dinner platter, and a "kiss the cook" apron?

:-) I will consider that. I am pretty sure he is a better blacksmith than a cook though, and I already have him in a non-weaponized blacksmith version

Nice :) What software are you using?

Thanks. I use Blender. I have done so for 15 years or thereabouts. it has become a really great (and totally free) tool for sculpting as well as other 3d work including compositing etc

Great .... I'm Blender user as well, but not for 15 years :) .... I have some posts, mainly about nodes setup for material.

Hello @evilhippie, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks I look forward to it too :-)

@evilhippie You have received a 100% upvote from @getmyroi because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Great stuff @evilhippie! We are currently offering an open call for 3d artists. Would love to have you participating: https://www.creativechain.org/gamma-rewards/

cool dwarf! not its time to paint him

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27