Sort:  

There's no real difference between selling votes and self voting

This is because there's a problem with linear rewards: in order to maximize profit at a manageable effort, one is compelled to engage in content indifferent behavior with their stake, which likely means either selling votes or self voting. Refraining from doing so generally means you gradually lose to everyone else who does, it becomes too costly to actually vote for something you think is good

This basically guarantees that the steemit will fail as a content discovery platform. Which would have a pretty bad carry on effect on the price of the currency.

There seems to be very little consensus in recognizing this despite our best efforts. Maybe this will encourage awareness

top curation bots ROI >> selfvoting / selling votes ROI :)

yea what is it?

Sorry to hear, @trafalgar, that you think Steemit will fail as a content discovery platform. Having migrated from Facebook around a year ago, I have been blogging here, daily, on literature, philosophy, spirituality and cultural issues and it has meant a kind of rebirth for me as a writer. I hope you might visit my blog and tell me if you think I'm wasting my time.

Respectfully, Yahia
yahiala.png

it has nothing to do with you @yahialababidi, the problem is with the economic incentive that's undermining the platform, as stated.

Sigh I know, Kevin... But, egomaniac that I am (aka artist) I always want to make sure that my work will be seen and valued. Good thing that I’m an incorrigible optimist, too, as well as a compulsive sharer 🤪

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend, and that bellydancing piece I posted might tickle ya :D

@kevinwong
73E7FC3A-4BCF-4C94-A499-1596F1B2C817.jpeg

The entire point that kevin and i are trying to make here is that even if everyone on the platform thinks you're one of the greatest writers/artists ever, there's too big an economic deterrent to reward you with money and exposure through votes.

It's a little complicated if you're relatively new, but it wasn't like this before (though n^2 was far too steep) and doesn't have to be like this.

Thank you, for taking the time to explain this to me. For all our sake, I do hope that things change for the better, over time. Meantime, my passion to share my work (even with a few loyal readers) keeps me going until then.

Sweet dreams 🙏🏼

@trafalgar I left a message in your private discord ... if you answer me I would appreciate it very much

loud it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

However, if one simply doesn't view it as a race/competition against others, then the platform can become a more successful content discovery platform with the SP shared with others, in my view.

We can all view Steem as paradise but it doesn't automatically become so. There's a fundamental problem with Steem as stated, which can be fixed.

Far from paradise, but little downside to aim high. As long as Steemit doesn’t have Y2K when they get to HF2000.

what type of mining is this? :p

sad mining

Poor brick :(

same material for someone's brain

Well aight then

Sounds like a deal.

You put the man in manual mining.

Or is it placehodl 🤯

Can i ask you how to join your bot trail to get upvote 😁 i think i deserve some love !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03