Steemit Strategies - Is Buying Votes Profitable?

in #minnowhelp6 years ago (edited)

robot-3197226_640.jpg

Why I Use Voting Services and Vote-Bots

For those that have been following my Steemit Essentials and Steemit Strategies posts, I have been teasing you that I would be writing this post in the future. Well here it is! Well, part 1 of 3 is here. You'll have to check back to get all the info because there is just too much to include in 1 post.

So, here is a breakdown of how I plan for these 3 posts to go. I never really know exactly until I write them, but I do have the outlines worked out in advance.

Part I - I am going to discuss whether paying for votes is profitable and what other reasons I have for using voting services and bots. I will also discuss why I think that these are valuable services for helping people achieve their goals on Steemit. I will also show you some numbers of what happens when you pay for upvotes.

Part II - I will be discussing the different voting services that I use for purchasing upvotes and showing you WHY I use these services as opposed to others. I will include a short video as well because I know I have some folks that are too lazy to read (and I like doing the tutorials on video).

Part III - I will be discussing how I determine which "bid-bots" I use and when I use them. I will show some methods in choosing a bot and include a tutorial on how to go through the bidding process on Steembottracker.com

I will cover "Resteem" Services in the next several days following these posts.

hand-3308188_640.jpg

Part I - Why I Buy Upvotes

Imagine this scenario - You see two articles posted on Steemit, but you can only read and upvote one of them. They both have similar titles and similar photos and the Reputation of each of the authors is also equal or close. How do you choose? In marketing and economics, we discuss a concept called "perceived value." In this situation, most people will try to distinguish value from what they can see/observe. In Steemit, you get to see the STU value on the post before you ever click on it. That is ABSOLUTELY HUGE in marketing terms because all other things being equal, you are going to open the post that already has the most, and probably most valuable, upvotes.

Don't believe me? Think back to when you bought a slightly more expensive model of anything - a T.V., a phone, a hairdryer, etc. Most of you should be shaking your head up and down right now remembering that you paid a little bit more for the higher priced model even though there was no discernible difference other than price. Hell, people pay $800 more for an iPhone than I do for my phone. Is their iPhone $800 more useful? Not even close.

The point here is that part of the problem that many of you reading this post have is that someone looks at your post and sees that you have only .24 STU in upvotes and they have already judged that it is likely less valuable than other posts. Is this fair? Maybe not, but it doesn't matter. Steemit wasn't built on fairness.

I will give you another example. I see someone who posts 20 times a week with pictures and very little text while I'm curating and you know what I do? I look directly at their payouts. If they are under a $1.0 STU, I run the images through Google and do a plagiarism check on the text. You know what I find? Over half of them are stolen photos and/or plagiarized.

For those of you who are wondering why I take the time to do this, IT IS CALLED CURATING! Curating is not running around with hugs and roses for anybody that can hit the "Submit" button on a Steemit post.

Okay Jerry, what's the lesson here? The lesson is that people don't want to waste their time reading posts they think nobody else wasted their time reading. In sales, we call this negative association. It's the real reason nobody ate lunch with the poor, fat, ugly boy in high school. Not because that person wasn't wonderful and would eventually go on to own some billion dollar multi-national company with a smoking hot wife. Hell, if we had known, we would have all been slobbering over who got to sit next to him (kind of reminds me of the commenters on a Jerry Banfield post).

chess-2730034_1280.jpg

So, the real lesson here is that if you don't project value on your posts, then you are not going to attract people to even READ your posts and see how awesome, creative, and talented you are.

Reason #1 - I use upvote services and bots to project value on my posts so that other people believe I'm credible. Of course, if my content is shit, they will move on quickly (or not, see the trending page for some examples). Short to Long Term Strategy.

Reason #2 - I want to attract a larger audience with my posts. This means that if by chance someone stumbles upon my article, they will see the $$$$ and think to themselves, maybe this is interesting. This kind of goes along with #1, but also because I write Steemit advice so if someone 3 months from now does a search on voting bots, they will come across a popular (see $$$$) post that has the answers. What are the chances they will check out my posts for more good info - Bingo - nearly a 100% chance. Midrange to Long Term Strategy.

Reason #3 - Get free, easy upvotes from people that don't understand how curation works. Yes, people will upvote high paying posts thinking that somehow that will give them extra money in curation rewards. If someone reading this right now is ALSO thinking that is true - Please Stop NOW. Go to my article on curation rewards and then come back and read the rest. You only enhance your curation rewards when you beat the big votes to the post. Short Term Strategy.

However, you would be surprised how many upvotes I get from trails, random folks, and others that never view, read, or utilize all the Steemit goodness in my posts. See my SP posts from 2 and 3 days ago - I promise you that at least 100 of those upvoters never even opened the article let alone read it. I don't care - I got the upvote. Those of you who read these things I post have a significant advantage over your minnow peers.

#4 - PROFIT - EWWW! You're so greedy Jerry. Whatever. I'm here to make a profit off my investment and time. So are you. Everybody that says they aren't here for a profit are either lying out of guilt (because profit is BAD) or lying because their account is worth shit and they've been here for a year. I find that many of the "no self-vote" crowd fall into these categories. Just saying. Short and Long Term Strategy.

hand-995564_640.jpg

The Part We Have All Been Waiting For

Is buying upvotes profitable? - YES - The crowd goes wild!!! - NO - Stunned faces and a few tears.

You can buy votes and make a profit, but only if you do it right and there is a minefield of factors involved. Some of you have been gingerly walking through that minefield and that is why many of you are missing legs or at least a few toes. Am I right? I wish you could see how many are nodding their heads, YES.

When buying upvotes you can lose your ass. How do I know this? Because buying upvotes was my weight loss plan in February and some of March. I didn't think I would have an ass left I lost so much $$$ on buying upvotes. I almost delegated all my SP and walked away from Steemit.

Let me show you why and how. I made these great little visual aids in PowerPoint - take a look.

Screen Shot 2018-05-07 at 20.56.48.png

I made this up a couple days ago when the market was slightly higher. (yes, I plan my posts and prepare that far in advance - Quality Content)

If you took $36 USD of your money and bought Steem, you would be in the column on the right. If you used that money to buy SBD, you would be in the column on the left. The numbers here are based on buying upvotes that give you a 200% upvote on your SBD. I use 200% because it is what I consider the breakeven amount for an upvote. I'll explain why a little later. You'll notice that the left column leaves you with a 5.5% loss at the end of 10 days. This slide shows you how we get to that number.

Screen Shot 2018-05-07 at 20.57.00.png

Starting with our 11.25 SBD that we bought and paying for an upvote of 200%, we would get a 22.5 STU payout on our post from the upvote we paid for. That number is then reduced by 25%. After that it is split evenly between SBD and the "value" in SP. That "value" is the key. I don't get 8.44 SP, I get 8.44 divided by the current price of Steem. Therefore, my SP return on my first paid for upvote is only 2.34 SP. But I still have the 8.44 SBD and I can continue to buy upvotes with it with diminishing returns until I just about breakeven. In our example after 10 days, I'm -5.5%. After 20 days, I'm pretty close to even.

I would have been better off just buying Steem and converting it to SP and upvoting myself with the extra .002 that I would get for 10 Steem.

I know, many of you were hoping for better news and others are saying, "See, I knew those things were scams." Well, not so quick. You notice that I used the threshold of 200%. Why? Because it worked out close to breakeven and it is an easy number to work with when evaluating the success or failure of a "paid for" upvote.

entrepreneur-3245868_640.jpg

There are two huge benefits of knowing about this 200%. We can still be profitable if we do 1 of 3 things and hopefully ALL 3 things because my goal is to get back more SBD than I paid (10% more to be exact), but a minimum of the exact amount I paid (plus I get the SP as a bonus). Example - I pay 20 SBD for upvotes - Goal receive 22 SBD in rewards and the SP with a minimum of 20 SBD.

#1 Thing - Get more than 200% from our paid upvotes. Yes, it is possible and many services pay more than 200%, but you have to find them and they have to still have some voting power when you do (timing your posts is important especially on weekends). For instance, a 240% upvote on day one after our purchase changes the whole dynamic of the SBD spend in the example I gave you above.

#2 Thing - Lower the amount that is paid out to curators (25%) by increasing the amount paid to YOU in curation by upvoting your own post immediately. Yes, it is possible to gain a HUGE chunk of the curation rewards for yourself as the author. If the paid for upvotes take place before 30 minutes, then you get a portion of those curation rewards also. Now, the upvote services and the bots know this already. It is no secret. However, some of them don't care because they want to sell their vote. Also, some will upvote you less than 200%, but still upvote you in the 1st 10 minutes after the post goes live on Steemit. The trick is finding the balance.

#3 Thing - Your going to get more people to upvote your content because you don't look like the poor, fat, ugly kid at the lunch table. More people are going to be exposed to your post. Not because you're on the trending page necessarily, but because you are going to be out their on Discord, Kryptonia, or anywhere else telling them about it. They are going to see the value on it and take a look. If your stuff is good, you're going to gain votes and followers. Then you're going to answer all their comments and make friends. You, my friends, are going to be at the center of the "Cool Table" and that leads to profitability.

robot-1214536_640.png

Why does this work? Nobody likes a loser. If you invest in yourself, people will believe in you too. If you don't trust your content enough to advertise it, then why are you even here on Steemit. You thought it would be easy. Guess again. If your content is high quality, then you will expand your audience with more upvotes and visitors to your posts. It is like seeing the empty restaurant in the evening. You ask yourself, "why isn't anyone here? Is the food or service bad?"

Imagine I told Domino's Pizza that they would be guaranteed a 95% return on their advertising budget in 10 days. They would sign up in an hour for my advertising services. Why, because they believe in their product and know that once people try it, they will come back, tell their friends, etc. A 5% loss is nothing to promote your product and here you don't HAVE to lose that 5%.

The greatest thing about buying upvotes is that it is advertising with minimal potential losses if you do it right. Even better is that it is accessible on every level. If you're poor, there are still services available to you. You don't need 10 SBD to start. You can buy profitable upvotes right now for 0.05 SBD. I can afford to buy where I want, but I still support some small vote bots and services because they give profitable returns. I will talk about some of those tomorrow and the next day.

Some people disagree with purchasing upvotes. I am not here to argue with them, but the system isn't changing so we need to learn how to work within the system. The arguments that I hear most often are these:

Fairness - It isn't fair that those rich people pay to get their stuff on the Trending Page. Everyone has access to the vote purchasing services. Yes, they have a monetary advantage, but good content has a way of finding viewers if it is promoted in the slightest. Life's unfair sometimes, adjust and overcome or quit. If this was EASY everybody would be doing it (why you see videos saying it is easy, to get more people doing it and buying Steem).

Curation Theft - The Bots/Whales come along and "Steal" all the curation rewards. Really? Please go read my post on curation and how it works if you believe this. This argument is for the intellectually lazy. Curation is paid on voting weight and position AND the first 30 minutes window. Every big upvote I pay for goes after my self-vote and INCREASES my curation rewards. If this confuses you even after you read my post on curation, then there is no hope for you. For you, there is Instagram.

apple-589640_640.jpg

Concluding Remarks and Recap

  1. Paying for Upvotes is GOOD.
  2. Paying for Upvotes CAN be profitable.
  3. Paying for Upvotes CAN lose you money if you don't plan and execute well.
  4. People who hate paid upvotes usually hate puppies and birthday parties and should be avoided.
  5. Get a #kryptonia account and pay for upvotes with FREE #superiorcoin and meet new friends. (I had to throw that in because I love Kryptonia).

Send me comments that are good and get a free upvote on your comment. Send me crappy comments and get nothing.

Come back tomorrow to learn more about which strategies I use with purchasing upvotes and some of the services. You'll be glad you did. Below is a list of my posts that you will find valuable. Read them, it will help. Or don't and continue to make .78 STU while praying for a Curie upvote.

Divider Steemit.png

My Posts That You Should Have Read Already

Steemit Strategies

Curation Rewards
Comment Strategies
4 Month Recap
Communities and Focus
Leasing SP
Delegating SP
Leasing/Delegating Tutorial Video

Steemit Essentials - Tools/Resources

Kryptonia
Steemworld
SteemSupply
Qurator Community
Steemauto
GinaBot
Discord

Divider Steemit.png

Like this article? Please resteem, upvote and comment.
Don't like it? Comment and tell me why. Let's discuss it.
All intelligent comments get an upvote for effort (even if I disagree).
Send me a copy of one of your posts and I will try to read it quickly.

All images are mine or downloaded from Pixabay.com

Posted using: busy
https://busy.org/i/@energyaddict22

Join Kryptonia and Earn Free Superior Coin while Gaining Upvotes - Click Here

Follow me on:

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/jr.byers.58
VK - https://vk.com/id185155240
Discord - EnergyAddict#9726

Special thanks for support from @qurator @jumbot @dynamicsteemians @newbieresteem @resteemit @asapers #payitforward - @thedarkhose, @lynnecoyle1, @wolfhart #kryptonia #superiorcoin @sydesjokes

Divider Steemit.png

smartsteem_banner.8ac637d.gif

SBI banner.png

Kryptonia1.png

DQmarWRv4wXiqPZbmtDCDRTwE5jewDQrG1ATrXcFrTThxht.gif

Sort:  

You got a 33.16% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

As always you spend a lot of time into your post and the effort shows. I especially like the sarcasm and that alone can make reading your post fun; but you are quite heavy on the content too! Kudos for the hard work! You summarized a complicated, and controversial topic in a way that I at least couldn’t have done. So whenever I will have arguments with others on this topic I will send them to this post ... Done!

With that said I don’t agree with every single item you said though, but that is mostly on preference. For example Kryptonia is not something I will invest any time personally, but that’s just me. It only means I don’t have that much time, but others might and power to them.

Personally I used paid bots. I have mixed feelings about them, but they are certainly profitable and in the present steem ecosystem, valuable.

Now finally just a caution on your comment “....but the system isn't changing so we need to learn how to work within the system”

System is changing possibly. Hard fork 20 is in the horizon and multiple people including Ned Scott is hinting that steem is possibly moving from DPOS to account based voting system. I am sure you will be able to look that stuff up. Now nobody knows what that would look like, and all you can do is speculate. I will leave it at that, as I am on my phone and tired of typing already :)

By the way I started steemit in Jan 2018, so we have similar time on the platform.

Thanks again for the excellent post.

Thanks, as always, for stopping by and commenting. I especially like to hear from others that have invested heavily into Steem and the Steemit platform (even more so from people that have invested much more than me).

I like to have fun with the posts and take small jabs at people without calling them out individually. It also provides some fun comments for me read. However, you are correct that a lot of time goes into to trying to find accurate numbers so really small fish have something understandable to help guide them on Steemit.

I spend more money on vote services now than bots and I will discuss that later today and bots tomorrow. I have been a winner and loser with both and hopefully my research and experience will save some people from losing money.

I'm VERY interested in what the horizon has in store for us. When we do see a rules change, I will be at the forefront reading and trying to understand it all clearly so that I can convert it to "normal speak" for my audience. In the meantime, we have to play by the rules as they are. If you read some of my previous posts, I point out that Steemit moves fast, changes fast, and the ties to Steem Price and SBD price changes makes it even more complicated.

Yes, I saw that you started at about the same time. I also noticed that in terms of account strength, you're kicking my ass. Clearly, you have a quicker learning curve than me. LOL

Thanks again for stopping by, reading and commenting. I truly appreciate it. All the best to you.

This is very valuable @energyaddict22. Thank you.

I love the whole Steemit experience but would not be nearly as active if I did not think I could earn something. And how much I earn from Steemit, when I get there, will have a direct influence on how much time I am able to spend on it. Every moment I spend on Steemit is a moment I could have been busy with something else.

I am in a hurry to get to a place where I am making a profit and your strategies are helping a great deal. Even more so as I witness your generosity and sincere and motivating comments to newbies that are lightyears away from being able to reciprocate.

I love it when I buy an upvote and it comes through. Apart from others finding my post more attractive as a result (perceived value), I feel better about my post and the effort I put in.

I look forward to your next posts.

I learnt a lot from this well-written piece about buying votes. But one that really caught my eye is the need self vote and let the bots vote all within the first 30minutes. I knew that voting within the first 30 minutes makes you lose some money if you are not the author. But i never realized how the same concept could become an advantage to one buying votes. I have a friend who was lamenting over the phone just before i saw this post. 2 weeks ago, he started buying votes with 50sbd, now he has 27sbd and 11 SP, giving us 38steem. He already lost 12 steem. Check his wallet @joedigital. This article is a source of enlightenment and an inspiration. I will upvote, resteem and I cant wait for the next parts. Thanks sir @energyaddict22

Thank you @focusnow for stopping by and leaving a great comment. I really appreciate it. Unfortunately, I did the same thing as your friend with buying upvotes and it wasted a lot of my SBD. There is definitely some things that have to be addressed in planning and execution before purchasing upvotes. I hope that we will see more of you here and you can share your stories of success and any challenges.

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

minnowbooster upvote in the amount of $49.04 STU, $92.89 USD.
ebargains upvote in the amount of $2.04 STU, $3.87 USD.
lays upvote in the amount of $1.68 STU, $3.19 USD.

For a total calculated value of $53 STU, $100 USD before curation, with approx. $13 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

The numbers are getting better @transparencybot. Now if you can only fix that pesky curation approximation since 63 STU took place before the 30 minute mark and over 90% before the 5 minutes mark. I'm counting on you (no pun intended) to show your robotic salt and nail down those curation numbers. It would save me a lot of time when planning my budget. It's a great trade, you get to spam my posts and I get some accurate numbers to show my readers. All my love and respect.

robot-3197226_640.jpg

Thank you again for the feedback.

I actually have the curation logic nearly finished, but have had to work on other aspects. Many of the vote sellers will not vote until after the 30 minute window (most bidbots), but of course MB, ST/SM will, so the 25% estimate is often pretty accurate, BUT as you point out there are plenty of exceptions.

I promise to address this in the near future. Thanks for your patience!

Awesome! I'm sincerely eager to see it when it is finished. This is not sarcasm. If you look at this and my most recent posts, I'm sure you'll see why I'm so interested. You're now my 3rd favorite bot (GinaBot is hard to beat).

Yes, I read your post, it is very well done and informative. I of course disagree on the fundamental thesis as to the "vote buying is good" ... but that is fine, I am still glad to be providing a service.

OK, so I have to ask, who is first (or 2nd)?

#1 is GinaBot. She also has a sexier avatar. #2 is Truffle Pig because he always says nice things to me. Of course, I'm not as much into niceties as I am about value, so you come through with those curation numbers and you are SOLID at number 2. Also, I do appreciate the service, just wish it was presented in a more balanced fashion. It comes across like a @cheetah comment.

Yes, I really like @trufflepig myself. He also does a great job of creating an organic trending list. Very talented programmer.

Once the curation is completed the phrase aprox. will change to calculated, so you will see the difference in text as well as numbers.

Sorry about the cheeta ambience, I believe this is just the nature of the concept.

Thanks for the update. I will be excited to see the results.

This exchange is giving me a good laugh. It reminds me of the old Wileycoyote/sheepdog cartoons. Now that I have read the comments I can post my own.

Great Article, good information

Information overload lol! I have to revisit this when my head is clearer. I think it is the heat of the day that is making my head sleepy.

So, bidbots.

The more I read about this, the more I get the point why people use it. I can't through the math though because I don't know math haha! But I am seeing the point clearer as I read. I should read more and who know what happens :D

Thanks for stopping by @leeart. It is always good to see you here. Please send me any questions you might have and I will do my best to help clear them up. Have an excellent day.

hahaha I like how you explain each point, although it is long reading is nice, so I should not be lazy. The issues are important and very helpful. I prefer to read them since my language is Spanish and video would be difficult if you explain it in English. You know that I have not yet understood many things about steemit and I think that with your publications I will clear up many doubts, I am going to read the curator's office to see if there is a great doubt that I have had about what is obtained by the votes . I hope if there is the answer that I have sought so much. Goodnight. (here are 9:30 pm)

Hello again. I'm glad you found it entertaining and useful. It would be great if someone would translate the posts to Spanish for my Central and South American followers so that they would be very clear or maybe just do a video in Spanish explaining the posts. Just a thought if you need ideas for a post.

Please let me know if you have any questions about any of the posts. I understand that they can be long and complicated at times. It's always good to see you here and I enjoy the comments.

I appreciate your clarification on the subject of bots for up-voting and I'm looking forward to Parts 2 and 3. I must admit that navigating your way to understanding of the Steemit platform only comes after turning over every available rock you can find. This rock was well worth the flip.
Post Request Mark up tips, including banners

Hello and thanks for stopping by. I am excited that you flipped over MY rock and found something valuable. Please let me know if you have questions or ideas.

Regarding "mark up tip and banners". I am clearly (as you can see from my posts) not the best at formatting and aesthetics on posts. However, here is a link to a post where I learned some basics and they will have other guides I am sure. https://steemit.com/steemit/@itwithsm/making-steemit-posts-in-different-beautiful-ways-or-beautify-your-steemit-posts

It was your first post which I have read. Information was realy great. Thanks bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89