MINNOW OF THE WEEK: The birth of an outstanding steemian

in #minnowoftheweek6 years ago (edited)

)

My name is UDEKWU CHUKWUEBUKA, I am a Nigerian and a Christian. I am fair in complexion and of average height as you can see in the picture of me above. I am a graduate of Electrical Engineering from a very popular University in Nigerian (NNAMDI AZIKIWE UNIVERSITY, AWKA).

I would refer to myself as a smart young man even though many might think otherwise because of how simply I live my life. I don’t discriminate and I take everyone as family because one way or the other we are all connected and coming into steemit has helped me socialize more than ever as I now have the privilege of communicating, not just with the people of my country but with individuals from other parts of the world.

My journey through steemit has been one that I would call most exciting. Steemit has opened my eyes to a lot of things I never thought I would have known. I will take my time to list everything I have been able to gain through steemit and I hope you grab a bowl of popcorn as I take you through my exciting experience on steemit.

Discovering this great platform

I got to know about steemit from a friend of mine (@tolustx) in November 2017, but I never took it serious as I thought it was just one of those online scams we have around were people make money online but can’t have access to it. After about a month, my friend got into a contests organised by @adsactly and he won a huge amount of sbd which gave him a large pay-out. He told me about it and suddenly I picked interest and decided to join on the 2nd of December 2017. He became my mentor and he didn’t absolutely well. He attended to all my questions and led me by the hand till I understood steemit perfectly.

The journey so far

My journey so far on steemit has been worth-while. I first started out with my introductory post after which other great posts followed, but as its always been with minnows on steemit, being discovered was my greatest challenge. It became frustrating and I was getting tired but I decided not to quit. It has never been in my nature to quit though. I had to look for ways to make myself visible. I started studying the steemit environment like I was preparing for an examination because I wanted to know the secret behind the success of others on steemit. I would read various posts, upvote and comment in a bid to make new friends and interact with other people because I got to realize that steemit wasn’t just all about making posts and getting paid but about interaction and socialization and I planned to utilize that opportunity and it worked. Soon enough I started getting upvotes on my posts, even though they were still meagre, but was still better that having zero upvotes on a post you spent about 4 hours preparing.

Great people I have met on this great platform

I have come to meet a lot of great men and women on this platform, people who impacted my life and gave me a new perception about life. I will start by recognizing @runicar, the great brain behind this contest. I haven’t known her for such a long time but the few times I have gotten to interact with her through comments on her posts, I realized she is a great person with a big heart. Most times she upvotes my comments on her posts and I feel really excited because it shows she appreciates my interaction with her. Another person I would love to recognize here is @surpassinggoogle, a man who has great love for minnows and has devoted his time and effort to making sure minnows thrive on steemit like any other person. He is the brain behind the #untalented-adjustments contest which many participated in recently and has been able to earn decent amounts from that contest. I won’t forget to mention @vcelier, the organizer of #steemshort contest through @adsactly which has helped me and my friends on steemit earn decent amounts of SBDs and we are very grateful for that opportunity to participate. If I keep writing about the great people I have met on steemit and how they have impacted my life individually, I might get to write a whole journal so I will just list them out to show my appreciation through this medium. I would love to appreciate @anomadsoul, @greenman, @greenrun, @dorth, @nairadaddy, @acidyo, @swissclive, @candyman, @canadian-coconut, @sisters, @terrycraft, @gamer00, @fibra59, @karenmckersie, @beanz, @stellabelle, @sweetsssj, @infovore, @ehiboss, @dante31 and so many others. Wanna use this medium to say a big THANK YOU to you all for making my stay on steemit most exciting and lovely.

Amazing groups I have come in contact with since I joined steemit

When I first joined steemit, @airhawk-project provided a home for me here. They made me feel like I already had a family on steemit and it has been really fun with the since then. Another group that has made my stay on steemit fun is @air-clinic for their contests and interesting discussions on their discord group. Among others are @stach, @adsactly, @steemnaira, @steembees, etc.

Amazing adjustments that has happened to my life since I met steemit

  • Steemit improved my reading and writing skills. I used to be a very slow reader and my writing skill was nothing to write home about but now everything has changed, thanks to steemit.

  • I have been able to stop an addiction which I won’t mention here because steemit takes all my time. All I do is think about new intriguing posts to make and so no longer have time for my terrible addiction.

  • I used to be anti-social and never really knew how to properly interact with people but now that has changed. Thanks to steemit

Steemit has indeed changed my entire existence and I will forever be grateful to steemit…

Thank you @runicar for this great opportunity to pour out my heart this much, I really do appreciate. Keep up the good work.


image source

Just as the contest requested...below is my BEST POST (because inside this singular post lies my top 5 best posts of 2017 and i hope you have fun going through each of them)

https://steemit.com/my2017top5/@sistem/my-2017-top-5-posts

Sort:  

welcome @sistem.

Thank you very much @fproduction

Welcome to Steem

It's so beautiful to have you here on steemit. I took time to come welcome you and I know you will love it here. Welcome to our family. @greatness96

thanks bro

I love the way you took your time to express yourself, I love this post.

What a in depth analysis. Your journey from being an introvert then suddenly exposing to a great social platform and then being frustrated and deciding not to quite and fight back with more energy and dedication was amazing. You definitely a winner. Congratulation on your success in this platform and looking forward to have more great posts from you.

welcome to steemit community... am sure you will enjoy it here. feel free to follow me @greatman4eva

Hello from Phillipines. Please follow my blogs and I will follow yours as well. Hope we can be good friends.

welcome to steemit, followed and upvoted!

Hello from Phillipines. Please follow my blogs and I will follow yours as well. Hope we can be good friends.

MY CANDID ADVICE TO YOU AS A NEWBIE IS...NEVER GIVE UP ON STEEMIT. KEEP PUTING IN YOUR BEST WORK AND ONE DAY YOU WILL SURELY SMILE

Its the best advice .....never to give up..dedication and hard work always pays off. hats off to you.

Thanks for sharing @sistem.Reading your post has inspired me.
Kindly follow and check out my blog @adedoyinwealth.
Congrats😇

You did a nice and comprehensive self intro Udekwu Chukwuebuka and am glad i stumble on it just on time. I am very new to the steemit community and unlike your case i heard about it on social media and do not really have a mentor like you. But am sure you and other good members of the steemit community will welcome me and tutor me right on time.

This is my first comment and sure am doing it the right way. Am looking forward to hearing from you and making good friends that will make the steemit experience nice and worthwhile.

I will be happy to introduce myself in a post in the shortest posible time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34