Minnows: Be Targeted In Making Your Post; Write Curation Targeted Post

in #minnowsupport6 years ago (edited)

This article was motivated by the chat I had with a relatively new steemian earlier today. The knew Steemian, whom I wouldn't want to mention her name, chatted me up and was requesting my opinion on something. In the course of my response, we inadvertently got into quite a pretty long conversation during which she complained that she hardly make $0.2 per post. Hearing that, I really felt very sorry for her.

images.jpeg

Source

I know how discouraging earning peanuts here can be. Although I am no fat earner, but, at least, I am way off better than her. I asked if she has been commenting on other people's posts to which she answered in the affirmative. I took pity on her and decided to find out if she has been up ad doing. And alas! she was responsible for her travails!

Because her mistakes are not different from those of most newbie Steemians, I decided to share my response to her on my blog. Who knows; it may impact someone out there positively. Before I continue, however, I want to acknowledge one fact: making money on Steemit is not a child's play. You must be ready to forego pleasures and make sacrifices. When you have taken care of these two, you should consider working closely with the following below points:

Stop making multiple posts in a day

Most times, I see some minnows make more than four posts in a day that will end up making less than $1 even when the four posts are added up. And I really wonder the rationale behind such decision. This was the first thing I noticed when I visited the blog page of this my newbie friend.

images (1).jpeg
Source

Why will you make multiple posts when you don't even have 500 people following your account? Most Steemians will remove you from their autovote when they find out that you make multiple posts per day. This is because by making multiple posts, you drain the voting power of the few people that are upvoting your posts.

Unless you are an exceptionally good writer, I will advice you cut down on the number of posts you make in a week. Idealy, 4 — 5 posts per week is very okay. Use other days and engage on social networking. Be active in communities you are a member of. Engage people on their blogs by asking thought provoking questions. Use instrument of comment wisely. Endeavor to comment objectively on people's post.

Write curation targeted post

Most newbies make the mistake of writing just for writing sake. They can write on any discipline; on any vocation. And daily, they keep churning out posts that will end up making less than $0.05. And I wonder where this habit of writing on any available subject will take them to. Unarguably, over time, they become Jack of all trades but master of none.

As a newbie, you should try to develop interest in particular niches that are powered with sizeable steem power for curation purposes. There is @steemstem community that seeks to reward authors who make exceptional posts on science, technology and mathematics. This used to be my major focus before I became a fellow @sndbox and shifted ground in other to write posts that are in conformity to their standard. There is @steemiteducation that seeks to reward authors who make exceptional educational posts.

approved-1049259_1280.png
Source

There are many others like @dlive, @utopian-io, etcx. You can conduct a research to find out others; visit their blog pages to study their guidelines and target your posts towards them. Pay no attention to getting curated initially. But with more time, as you get better at meeting their requirements, you will begin to receive their patronage.

I really took time to write on the above two points because I believe that observing just that two will help you stand out in whatever community you may find yourself. I treat other points in another post. Until then, remain blessed.

Yours truly,
@eurogee

Follow @eurogee, the Steemit's Witness Voting Advocate & Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest. Follow @euronation, An International Support Scheme For New And Struggling Steemians

Join us on Telegram and whatsaap through the below links:

https://t.me/joinchat/HsUnkBJ083m0R6xIp4iA-A

https://chat.whatsapp.com/9VhuK6475477fD7fPIYJ6i

Don't Exit Without Voting For Witnesses!

No Witnesses = No Steem Blockchain; If You Truly Love Here, Vote For Witnesses NOW!

Click This Link To Vote Now

Witnesses are equivalent to life and blood of steem blockchain. Without them, the blockchain will seize to function and we will all be stranded here. Click here to read more on why it is important to vote for witnesses


follow_eurogee.gif

Sort:  

You just explained what I have learnt on steemit for 4+ months in a single post. I wish a lot of minnows will see and read this post..

Hahahahahsh really. Stay cool and focused

Thank youfor sharing.. a big help for me as a newbie.. God bless

Thanks for visiting

I joined the telegram but the whatsap did not link me. Stay lifted

Oh sorry. Get to me via discord. Will add you

The same user name?

Thanks alot for this piece
@eurogee,
I Found This educative because I have learnt something new tonight. Being a Jack of all trade cannot guarantee one success on steemit. One should be known for a specific niche.

Please I have a question

If I am to write posts that center on technology, science and education, will I be wrong if I should tag those communities you specifically mentioned in your post?

Before @eurogee comes, most of those communities have their ways of finding quality contents. Join their discord group to find out how they operate.

I know using #steemstem will make them find you while with curie, it is unnecessary to tag them as they have good numbers of curators looking for exceptional contents to curate.

Like he said, pick a community, study their guidelines and target your posts to meet them.
@eurogee will likely shed more light on it.

That's best info on this. Thanks for helping out

You won't be wrong. Check out my posts on them and you will see the tags I used.

Very informative
This is really good and quite helpful
Thanks a million

Welcome boss.

This is very true sir @eurogee... Me as a minmow is very thankful to my upvoters and I make sure not to abuse their voting power by just posting 1-2 post a day... Thank you for a very informative post 😘😘😘

You are welcome. Thanks

Thanks boss.....i really appreciate this write up...Thanks for showing concern.

You are most welcome

Wow, I found your article helpful, especially in the area of posting multiple post. Im guilty of that , no doubt!
Thanks for sharing a nice article like this ! I resteemed it! @eurogee
Steem your way to greatness!
formula-e-grand-prix-of-marrakech-622861356-5a5274828586e.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15