Minnow Uprising Day 1

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

image
Welcome to Day 1 of the #minnowuprising. The idea originated in this post from @taskmaster4450. You can read it if you’d like to go in depth into what the whole idea is about and the ways that you can get involved. I’ve decided to set myself certain benchmarks for this exercise:

  • Post at least three times per day
  • Use a mixture of Steem-based platforms (busy, Steemit, Dtube etc)
  • Comment on other blogs at least 8 times daily
  • Upvote minnows and redfish/plankton exclusively

Why upvote just minnows and redfish/plankton? Well, if the point of all of this is to redistribute some of the rewards, that’s one of the best ways I know how. I don’t have whale sized upvotes but there are bloggers with talent on Steemit who (sometimes) make less per post than I could give them. Plus, if all the small accounts were to strategically support each other, those votes that might have ended up as dust or just unused could add up to something substantial.

Individually we’re the smallest critters in this ocean but together, we’re huge.


Image sourced form pixabay.com


Image is not of minnows but these fish looked like they were really trying to say something....

Sort:  

Hadn't heard of this particular initiative, but I know there are quite a few things in the works to help newcomers become a little more "seen." Which I think is a good thing. Steemit needs to grow itself a larger "middle class," but that also means more of these minnows (of which I am still one!) need to be powering UP, rather than cashing out every time they have $3.

I agree. Anyone who can afford to power up should be doing so every chance they get but chances are some of the minnows who are powering down tiny amounts are trying to survive off of it so there's not much choice for them. I've heard the average monthly salary in Venezuela's around $2.50US these days (I seriously hope it's more)!

Plankton have been known to cause mass extinctions ;)

Lol, I'm hoping we achieve something a little more positive than that (but it's good to know the little guys have power)!

I appreciate the support for the #minnowuprising initiative. I am providing you an upvote to motivate your commitment to the #Steemit community! As the platform continues to expand, it is imperative that we come together and support each others content. It is a long process to become a minnow here but also a journey well worth taking as the knowledge and learnings achieved are beneficial for our personal growth as well as a step forward to improving our financial position. Please continue supporting the #minnowuprising initiative by posting content as well as curating and upvoting content of others.

Why, thank you @newageinv, I'll keep creating and curating as hard as I can ;)

Brilliant plan- I'm loving the positivity- there are so many talented Stemians here!! E x

And if we work together we can all grow a little faster in July and reap some benefits as the platform gets bigger :)

Regarding dust votes, I encourage everyone to check out @dustsweeper. Basically you send them a little SBD, they double that in your account with them, and upvote all the dust votes you receive so that you actually get paid. So like, if you get a 1¢ vote on a comment and toward the end of the payout no one has also voted to bring it up to 3¢ so that you'll get paid from it, they give you a 2¢ upvote so that you actually DO get payment. It basically tops up dust votes. Check them out! It helps grow your account and helps us baby fish feel like our votes matter. :)

Thanks, I'll give it a try! Since I'm focusing on the little fish this month something like @dustsweeper could really come in handy.

I've been using them for a month or so and they're legit! :)

This is an awesome idea
I did love to be a part of it

This is an awesome
Idea I did love to
Be a part of it

                 - mopelola


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You know, @haikubot, I don't know whether to love or hate you. If nothing else, you entertain me 🤔.

Go for it :) The more the merrier ☮️

upvote for me please? https://steemit.com/news/@bible.com/6h36cq

upvote for me please? https://st

@elementm You have received a 100% upvote from @littlesteps because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by elementm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72