Geocaching With My Kids - The Best Way To See the Sights

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

I was thinking today about how long it's been since I've been out geocaching. I also thought about how hot it is and how much fun walking around in the sun wouldn't be.

So I thought that instead of going out and getting some caches and a heat stroke, I'd just show you some pictures from the last time my kids and I went out cachin'.

A Great Way To See the Sights

One of my favorite ways to see and experience new places is through geocaching. Locals place caches in their favorite places, and those are the places I want to see!

On this day, in the spring, we didn't go far. Joplin, MO and Galena, KS are right next to each other, just separated by the state line. But even so, caching in Galena took us to some things we've never seen.

This train is on display in front of a building salvage yard. The cache is under it in an ammo can.



1530844570916.jpg



What's she pointing at?
Oh, that! On the flat car behind the engine was an old steam shovel bucket, a memory of Galena's mining days. The thing is huge.
And there's something in it.



1530844648844.jpg



That's my daughter, @randomphandom, with a 5 ft skeleton.
What do you do when you find a 5 ft skeleton? Pose!!



1530844701558.jpg


1530844750013.jpg



It's so squinty outside! Where are your sunglasses, kids?

Clever Cache Names

One of the caches we hit in Galena had a very mysterious name. Murder at the Bordello's. Here's the picture from the cache location...and my finger.



1530844842712.jpg



Cool Route 66 Road Side Spot

The famous Route 66 runs through both Joplin and Galena, but we have never driven down it. A cache location brought us here, to the cool little spot. It's just a covered area to sit and eat. Two sides are walled and painted all Route 66 themed. There are some of those photo props to put your head through. I promised my 20 and 23 year kids ice cream if they'd just sick their heads in them so I could take a picture. My son demanded an extra scoop for sticking his hand through... He drives a hard bargain.



1530845018331.jpg



My Favorite! Cemetery Caches.

Just about every cemetery has a geocache in it. I love cool old cemeteries. Those caches are my fave! I was glad I had Big, my oldest son who's real name is Brendan, with me. He's tall, and that's handy!

I love caches like this. The cache container is a water tight tube. You can see the tube's lid on the belly of the bird.



1530848234079.jpg



There are a couple night caches in the area that might be fun to go grab while it's so hot. But I'd kinda like to save them for Halloween.

Well, thanks for stopping by!

Be sure to check out this post on medicinal Passion flower and enter for the medicinal seed giveaway!

1522684956444.jpg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

All pictures are mine!

Sort:  

Hi, fun article!

You have received an upvote (from @rycharde) and a resteem (from @accelerator) as part of the new MAP Trail initiative to support curated content.
You can see your entry here and the curator who promoted your post.
All of this is free and part of MAP's mission to support quality content creators by supporting curators.
You may help support the MAP Trail by either upvoting, resteeming or delegating to @accelerator...
... or just upvoting this comment :-)

I didn't realize geocaching it still a thing. I had only done a few times, it was fun when we got outside of town. In town, things were hid in strange places (on the underside of a stoplight someone had used an old magnetic spare key holder to keep it hidden) Looks like you guys had a lot of fun!!

We've found some pretty clever in-town hides My daughter and I grabbed this one on the way to the grocery store.

rsz_0329181849a (1).jpg

There's a carabiner hanging on the horizontal connector between the two poles. That tiny bison tube was in the threaded connector of the carabiner.

But, we really like getting out into the woods outside of town too!

That's pretty ingenious.

Congratulations @powellx5, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 74

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. My hubby and I love geocaching, we have done it all over the world! Great way to see new places. @insideoutlet

That looks really fun @powellx5. Geocaching was something I always meant to do with my kids but never got around to it. They're grown up now but maybe I can go with grandkids in a few more years. 😁

You're never too old for geocaching! I go with my husband, my friends and my grown kids. I think more adults than kids geocache! Get the family together and get out there!

Ha, ha, ha @powellx5. Certainly worth a thought! 😁

It looks like a lovely fun filled day out. :)
Thank you for scaring. :)

It's always so much fun!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

What an awesome post! Love the photos too :) A few years ago, my husband and I did a road trip and hit Route 66 for part of the way. I loved the quirky we found there...reminds me so much of your photos! Thanks for sharing :)

Geochaching in town is definitely for those who love quirky!

Quirky is right up my alley @powellx5 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29