Prepping Part 4 - Shopping Around My Food Storage

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

Finally - A Decent Shopping Trip!

It's been a while since my last post on food storage. I've had a few weeks of bummer shopping trips, and I wanted to have a decent haul to give as an example.

Shopping From Storage and Menu Planning

Before I go shopping for the week, I hit up my food storage and make a menu.

Breakfast:

I got 15 boxes of cereal for 90 cents each. A box for me and a box for Adam should last a couple weeks. Eggs from our chickens and English muffins with home made black berry jam either morning will be nice. I'll make the English muffins. I've got everything, including butter from last week's shopping list, to make them.



rsz_1531002721490.jpg



Breakfast Shopping List:

  • milk

Lunch:

I picked up these packages of turkey for 50 cents each. I was gifted a bunch of fruits and veggies last week. I'll have a turkey sandwich, a piece of fruit and some cottage cheese with gifted cherry tomatoes for lunch when there are no left overs.



rsz_1531002936325.jpg



Lunch Shopping List:

  • cottage cheese
  • bread

Dinner

I need to make a menu for dinners.
Monday - baked chicken breast, stuffing, green beans
Tuesday - Breakfast for dinner! My fave! pancakes and eggs
Wednesday - burger patties covered in onions and tomatoes with chilies and garlic potatoes and green beans
Thursday - buffalo chicken strips and fries
*Friday - easy chicken parmesan
We usually go out on Saturdays and just wing it on Sundays.



rsz_1531002851836.jpg



I pulled from the pantry: two cans of green beans, a can of potatoes, a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, a box of spaghetti, a jar of marinara sauce, a bottle of wing sauce, some Panko bread crumbs, and pancake mix. I already had an open syrup. I've got some left over burger.

Dinner shopping list:

*chicken breast
*potatoes

Grocery shopping cost me just under $17. That leaves me $43, minus $10 for toilet paper, for food storage. Today I went to a salvage grocery place that's run out of the local flea market. I think we did decent. There's a giant room where everything's 3 for a dollar. Here's what I brought home.



rsz_1531002663524.jpg rsz_11531003005886.jpg rsz_1531002430459.jpg


I purchased 81 items for $27. The items in the third picture alone would have cost me close to $100 retail.


The items below were $1 per bag, so I grabbed a bag.



rsz_1531002492180.jpg



There's no way we're going to eat 6 bags of granola, but most will go into the freezer and they'll last us a year. The same with the P3 protein packs. I'll put one in Adam's lunch everyday and maybe throw one in my bag every now and then. They'll last a while. I wish there would have been more pasta and canned goods, that sort of thing. But you never know what will be available, so I buy what I can each week, and I try to buy enough of what ever it is to last until something similar is available again.

I hope that was an understandable explanation of how I shop around my food storage and how it saves us money on our grocery bill. And I hope it was helpful!

Be sure to check out this post on medicinal Passion flower and enter for the medicinal seed giveaway!

1522684956444.jpg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

All pictures are mine!

Sort:  

I've never heard of salvage grocery before, but from the looks of your savings, it's amazing!! :)

I found your post because @canadianrenegade featured you in our Pay it Forward Contest (I'm one of the judges).

I've found that salvage grocery stores don't advertise much. I've found them by accident! But there are lists and directories for salvage or discount groceries that you can Google. There maybe one close enough to you too make it worth a trip!

That is so cool @powellx5, thanks for the information 😅

Hey, Sorry we haven't been around as much lately! With all the craziness that is our house build, we've neglected Steemit a little. I am glad to see you on the discord too. Anyway, I just want to drop by and say great post! We also chose to feature your latest post in a Pay It Forward contest here. Cheers, Aimee

Thank you! That's excellent! I don't know how you find time to shower, much less build a house!!! with two little ones!

You're welcome. I don't know how I find the time either. My days are fueled by coffee. Lots, and lots of coffee. -Aimee

Interesting @powellx5, maybe because I live in the tropical country, and our resources of fresh food are everywhere, I've never thinking about hunting for those kind of canned food like you did, but.. I'm so jealous on your food management😊thank you for sharing. Aahh.. found your post from @canadianrenegade entry for the pay it forward contest this week.

And I'm jealous of your access to so much fresh food!

But it's more chalenging to manage your foods bank😉 anyway, I can learn something from you.. to identify and choose the good canned food. 😊

that's some incredible stuff there. We don't have any stores like that around us
I came to your post because @canadianrenegade featured you in the pay it forward curation contest.

I've found that salvage grocery stores don't advertise much. I've found them by accident! But there are lists and directories for salvage or discount groceries that you can Google. There maybe one close enough to you too make it worth a trip!

LOL I did and it came up with walmart and dollar general. I know what your talking about and just have to look harder

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87