Who's In On #minnowuprising?

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

The Who, What and When

The #minnowuprising is the brainchild of @taskmaster4450. You can find a rundown on the event here. The basic idea is for minnows, redfish and plankton to post as many as 4 times a day through the month of July. I'm not going to pretend to know exactly how everything works, but the way I understand it, this is an experiment to see how much of the daily reward pool can be distributed to the smaller accounts on Steemit when we all work together for 31 days.

"This idea of having the Minnows and Planktons, because of their sheer numbers, overwhelming the reward pool with their posts. The STEEM reward system is such that 75% of the payout goes to content creators. Hence it is time for these two categories to start posting a lot more content." ~@taskmaster4450

He goes on to say,

"The goal of this initiative is to help the Minnow and Plankton categories grow collectively in SP."

@preparedwombat explains in this post,

"The general idea is that minnows (and plankton/redfish) should be very active on the Steem blockchain during July, posting 2-4 times a day, commenting on each other's posts, and upvoting each other and themselves." ~@preparedwombat

Somehow, I'm uncomfortable upvoting myself. I'll probably upvote myself on some of my posts this month, but maybe not all of them.

In this post, @kaabir88 writes,

"But I have come to wonder what new users are getting out of being here and how we can do more to make them stay and be engaged." ~@kaabir88

His idea is to search for and upvote posts with #upvoteplankton.



downloadfile-6.jpeg



What I'm Going To Do

I've written out a schedule that I think I can keep for the month of July. I've been experimenting a little with Steepshot, so I'll be posting some from there. I thought I might look into and experiment a little with some of the other posting applications, like:

  • dmania
  • zappl
  • parley.io
    I've played around with actfit for the last week or so, and that might be an option. I've messed with D.tube a little, but neither my phone nor my tablet will upload videos to it. I'm still not sure about steemhunt, but that might be something.

Obviously, there's not enough hours in the day to do an in depth, well researched and sited, lengthy post 4 times a day. I can't put my finger on exactly what constitutes a quality post. That's just too subjective. But I promise to ony post what I believe is quality relative to the application I'm posting from.

What I DO NOT want to do "shit post". I'm not the best writer, or best content creator, on Steemit, and I know it. But I would never intentionally post worthless crap, and I don't want to earn that reputation as a result of this experiment.

So, who's in?

If you're planning on participating in #minnowuprising, use that hashtag or #upvoteplankton. Tell me about some of your plans for July's experiment, and I'll put you on my upvote list for today. It's a tiny upvote, but if we're all working together we can make this a success!

Without participation from the minnows, redfish and plankton out there, this can't work. @taskmaster explains, "We need all the participants we can get. Our goal should be 10K smaller accounts (Minnow and Plankton) involved. It will take that number to truly overwhelm the system."

One More Thing!

Please check out my Circle the Wagons post to help out a couple fellow Steemians and enter for your chance to with a share in Steem Basic Income or Dustsweeper services!

downloadfile-7.jpeg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I wish I'd heard of this sooner, I could have prepared. I'll do my best to take part, it's an interesting experiment.

Might have to do what you say, try using some other posting apps.

I just reminded my daughter, @randomphandom, about it, so I think she's gonna get started tomorrow. Her time's been used up with job hunting, but she's gonna try to squeeze a post or two in each day.

Hey girl!! I am in! LOL just finished my first post too! Yours rocks! Nice job sista ❤❤❤❤

Edit: my sp is all used up i will see if I can get ya some @treeplanter votes!

I'm gonna have to watch my SP through this thing! Sometimes I run it into the ground with out even reaizing it!

That treeplanter thing is cool!

Glad you liked it! That's what I thought first time I received it!!

Im in 🙋 such a great initiative! Just posted my 1st tag with the #upvoteplankton.

Probably wont be able to do 4 posts a day but he majority of my upvotes in July will be supporting this cause!

I have four posts a day laid out for the next month, but that's for just in case I get time. I know I can do two if I put my mind to it, and three on days when my game is on. I'll treat myself with extra dessert on four-post-days! lol, maybe that'll be good motivation!

I aint going to have to much time for posting but will be supporting the cause with upvotes 😆😆

I knew I was going to kill my VP today, and I did, lol. I wanted to at least 100% vote some people, though I knew I couldn't to everyone. I did maybe five 100% votes, and then a bunch more as usual at lower percentages, and yeah, the last I checked, my VP is in the low 70% range. Oops! So many people to upvote, so little voting power!

I kept an eye on mine. Ran out down to right around 80%. I'm going to try to keep an extra close eye on it through this month!

I am already using #upvoteplankton. I can't post 4 times a day and I find it a bit spammy for my followers, but until know I managed to oost about 2,3 times and it's pretty good. Curious though to see the percentages of vests for whales after 31 Jully.

I'm going to try really hard to make sure the quality is there. I post on a variety of things; gardening, chickens, crafting, a little art and the occasional odd-ball something. So I feel like I can post about a couple of those things each day. If the quality drops, that's when I think it becomes spammy, then I'll cut the number of posts. But if I can put out good material I'll shoot for 3 or 4 on the days I have time to put into it.

I'm super interested to see the numbers, today compared to the 31st.

Upped and resteemed.

#minnowuprising is a delightful idea. I think I posted five times in the last two or three days, so I guess I got a jump on it lol

I remember reading @taskmaster4450's post a week or so ago. I guess it's July now, huh?

Let's get it kicked off then :) good start.

I've just got my fingers crossed that nothing rediculous pops up to eat up days of my time this month. I really want to do this and see how it turns out!

Well, I'd say the healthy and rational thing to do would be to quit your job for a month. Just to make sure.

lol, yeah, that's a reasonable option for anyone! Actually, I'm a house wife. I stayed home with our kids and homeschooled them. I finished with the youngest two years ago. Now I spend my time gardening and taking care of the animals and house. So, if nothing huge comes up, I'm good!

Sweet! That's so awesome to hear. My wife stays home too. Haven't talked her into homeschooling yet though.

Actually, the ridiculous, worthless public school system convinced me to homeschool. I pulled my daughter out in the sixth grade and my boys were kindergarten and third grade. If I knew how easy and fun it was going to be, they never would have gone to public school in the first place!

Thanks for using the hashtag, hopefully more will start using it to get more votes and minnows and dolphins can spread some votes around

#upvoteplankton

I appriciate these initiatives. If nothing else it's motivating me to work just a little bit harder!

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined guidelines. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

Thanks for the write up.

One of the big things is for all smaller accounts to use up their daily voting power. Do not let it go to waste.

Thanks for the reminder! I think this is an excellent idea and I'm anxious to see what the numbers look like at the end!

Great approach! I too often am hesitant to upvote myself for posts that are not very quality centric. However, given the initiative I will be doing so it I cannot find post to give my upvote to. I too have limited time but have started writing some posts ahead of time to get ready. It will be an awesome month for the #minnowuprising.

I appreciate the support for the #minnowuprising initiative. I am providing you an upvote to motivate your commitment to the #Steemit community! As the platform continues to expand, it is imperative that we come together and support each others content. It is a long process to become a minnow here but also a journey well worth taking as the knowledge and learnings achieved are beneficial for our personal growth as well as a step forward to improving our financial position. Please continue supporting the #minnowuprising initiative by continuing posting content as well as curating and upvoting content of others.

I've never upvoted myself. It makes me think of my Gram telling me that if you're good at something then you don't have to tell people that you're good at it, people will tell you. I'm going to try to get over that during this experiment. But, I'm pretty sure I'll find 10 posts to upvote at 100%, so I might not self-vote anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86