#minnowuprising | #needleworkmonday Progress Report

in #minnowuprising6 years ago (edited)

This report looks at progress to build the wealth of 22 accounts posting under the #needleworkmonday tag as part of the July #minnowuprising campaign initiated by @taskmaster4450. Last week's post set the baseline for reviewing progress.

Building Collective Wealth: Progress Report

Factor08.07.201801.07.2018+/- Change
Steem Power9820973189
SBD1134110727
Steem18416420

Table showing growth over the first week of #minnowuprising.

Value of Posting Frequency

The campaign suggested publishing 3/4 posts daily to increase the potential of attracting more rewards. However, the three accounts which achieved the highest Steem Power rewards posted between 3-5 times (12 posts in total) during the week. Two of these accounts received @curie votes for exceptional content. The people who earned the most Steem Power published between 1-8 posts over the week. It seems that quality is more valuable than quantity.

Use Your 10 Votes

Last week's post suggested that using all your votes would help to build wealth and illustrated that low voting was associated with low growth. This week, on the whole (there were exceptions), the accounts that earned the most Steem Power were using all their votes and they didn't leave their voting power sitting at 100%.

However, some other interesting things were going on. Some of the high earners attracted regular votes from other accounts, and some of them are using paid services to gain extra votes (and rewards). What Steemit Services Do You Use? by @metzli explains this really well. You need SBD in your account to use these types of services.

What's Your Voting Strategy?

I used to enjoy sitting down with my ten votes and a cup of tea and deciding how I was going to use them. It was a quiet twenty minutes away from the hustle and bustle of work and family, a bit of time to reflect, enjoy my interests and, sometimes, find myself laughing.

Gradually I've built a portfolio of people I enjoy and who are worth investing in. These are people who reciprocate and who contribute to the community, in one way or another. It is about getting to know people over time. I noticed the other day that I'm earning a higher percentage of curation rewards than I used to.

IMG_2013.PNG
This is a screenshot of my account on steemworld.org. If you would like to try it, go to the website and type your user name in the box called 'switch account'.

If you look at the box at the bottom, my rewards from curation in the past seven days are about 15% of Steem Power rewards. This is higher than the average of 8% in the all time rewards line. This made me think about my voting strategy. I use steemauto.com to automate some of my votes. I have added the people I regularly vote for to the fanbase section of my account.

Steemauto allows you to select accounts you want to vote for automatically, how many posts you want to vote on each day, the weight of your vote (eg 100% full vote or less) and how long after the post was published you want to vote. It seems that just by automating some of the people I would regularly vote for, I have nearly doubled my curation rewards. This week, I have changed some of the settings slightly to see if curation rewards improve further.

The other good thing about automating some of my votes is that steemworld will let me know when those accounts have posted. I can use the link in steemworld to go straight to the post, enjoy reading it and add my comment. Steemworld is very easy to use, provides lots of useful information and you can use it to explore any other account. Steemauto is slightly more tricky because you provide your posting key - take care that you know what you are doing if you want to sign up to this service.

And Finally ...

use @dustsweeper to ensure you sweep up all those tiny votes coming your way (Dustsweeper FAQs).

Why Am I interested?

At the end of May I read a report about London's technology industry, which is doing very well. However, only 19% of the workforce are women (compared to 49% of the workforce as a whole). I'm guessing that this is probably true for Steemit users - that only one in five is a woman. I don't know whether @abh12345, @arcange or @tcpolymath could provide better information? Then I had a look at what was happening in my own account about the time I read the report:

IMG_1873.PNG
Screenshot of the value of incoming votes to my account. The highest value votes (ie the rewards they bring into my account, not how many times they have voted, or the weight of their vote) are shown clockwise from the right. The first woman voter appears in the lowest value quartile. This is a Steemian who posts, votes and comments regularly.

The people who post in #needleworkmonday are mainly, although not exclusively, women. This seemed a good opportunity to have a look in greater depth to what is happening to women on steemit - are they getting a fair share of the rewards - and if I was going to spend energy supporting #minnowuprising, investing in a community that brings a lot to me seemed like a good idea 😎.

Sort:  

I haven't done any analysis of my steemit situation @shanibeer. I guess I am just not as organised and not a great strategist either 😂

For ages I have wondered whether anyone would really care if I just stopped posting. I have stayed because I have found a community in #needleworkmonday where some people are active the other days of the week and I enjoy reading and commenting on their other posts.

I also stay because I have three daughters who I want to encourage to use technology in a sensible way.

I like the idea of the basic income and was thrilled with that... not sure whether it figures in your report.

I tried #upvoteplankton a couple of times last week and was very impressed with their support and also I think it attracted new readers...

Also for ages I frowned at those who self-vote but I had to start on that to try and supplement the vote value on day 6 because despite the effort I put some days the figures are just low...

I don't count on 'curies' because they're like fairy dust and I don't do 'bots' either because I don't see the point in buying upvotes.

I think my main 'unusual' feature is that I upvote people who visit my blog and leave sensible comments - not much but if they use dustsweeper they may gain something.

Incidentally it's always nice to see your comments 😂

Haha - I held my breath all the way through writing this post. Well, not the whole time 😊

I guess the main measure is do you enjoy steemit and is it adding to your quality of life?

I haven't written about steembasicincome yet - I'll do that next week.

Glad you found #upvoteplankton useful. It all helps, doesn't it? Voting on comments on your blog is a great idea - sometimes I think I earn more from that than writing posts.

I actually gain a lot from the comments readers make @shanibeer, so the 'curating' is essential and should be rewarded 😊

Having a structure in my day; knowing what I need to be doing; finding an excuse for taking photos; finding out about my surprising findings and then writing about it... well, yes. I guess it enhances my life after all 😂

I really enjoyed this schematics of steemit as explained in your post. I honestly feel you did a good job in explaining succinctly how some part of steemit especially the upvote works. I read @metzli posts when I can in fact I even downloaded steemitworld.org after reading one of her article but taking in this post I realize I haven't been using it to the full tho. I mostly like my posts because I feel you have to like what you have before someone else likes it and I use dust sweeper as well.
However we all should be treated fairly regardless of gender and I appreciate your putting up the numbers for easy speculation on whether this has been so. Thank you for your post. Looking forward to next week's post :)

Thank you, I'm glad you found it useful 😊 Liking your posts is a good idea, you're the best person to get one of your votes 😎 Let's see if we can increase everyone's total next week.

Yes, we need more minnows to achieve a better distribution of steem power. Steem Power to the masses!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sevenseals/steem-power-and-user-accounts-per-level-over-time
Cumulative Steem Power.jpg

Just run this by me:
you post a comment promoting your own post and then two accounts who have never posted in #needleworkmonday come and vote you to the top of the comments, but you don't vote for the original post?

Sorry, I forgot it. Normally I do so. Changed it, also my position.

Thank you, a vote has arrived now.

Hey @shanibeer

Sadly the sex of each account is not recorded and so it would mean surveying the whole of Steem (and them telling the truth!) :D

Nothing big, then 😜
Yes, that's what has led me to look at a community that is predominantly women. If I understood more about how to extract information (rather than doing it all manually with a pen and a piece of paper and then putting it in a spreadsheet), I would compare the #needleworkmonday posters with the @runningproject community. But this will do for now, it's an interesting little study.
Thank you for coming by.

This is a good post @shanibeer.
I read about autovotes a while back, but never went back to get things set up for myself. I’ll have to go back and do some research in this.
I’m getting in my 10 votes a day for sure.

Good to hear 😊 Hope all is well with you. I was thinking about you this morning and wondering how your t-shirt is coming along.

Thank you for supporting the #minnowuprising initiative. I am providing you an upvote to motivate your commitment to the #Steemit community! As the platform continues to expand, it is imperative that we come together and support each others content. It is a long process to become a minnow here but also a journey well worth taking as the knowledge and learnings achieved are beneficial for our personal growth as well as a step forward to improving our financial position. Please continue supporting the #minnowuprising initiative by posting content as well as curating and upvoting content of others.

There's no gender field on Steem, so I'm not sure how we'd go about getting data. I'm guessing that probably at least 80% of users overall are of indeterminate gender.

Of active quality users who post personal information, I would guess that the percentage of women is in the thirties somewhere. I deal with a lot of artists and not a lot of libertarians and cryptocurrency analysts, though, so my impression may very well be skewed.

Interesting, 20%-30% sounds about right in terms of numbers; I'm guessing they're also poorer. Is it possible to find out how many in the whale and orca categories are women? That would tell us something.

I'm unaware of any; I believe the highest-SP women I know of are @whatsup, @crimsonclad, and @sjennon, who are dolphins.

You have built a good curation strategy, well done @shanibeer

Oh man....this is some great information cause I never knew of the auto vote. I am new here on Steemit so this is something I would love to use.

Glad you found it useful :)

Thank you so much for this write-up @shanibeer. You have created an awareness on the importance of keeping tab of our stats in order to understand what helps with the earnings/rewards. Thanks to you and @phoenixwren and @mrscwin, I am slowly (very slowly) beginning to understand the numbers. I need to put all this numbers together to fully appreciate how things work. In the meantime, I will post what I enjoy as well as comment and upvote posts that I enjoy reading and participate in contests. I am earning slowly but I feel happy. I am curious most times on how some posts can earn so much! Some posts have 100 over votes but less than $0.50 cents earnings whereas some have less than 50 votes but already earning more than $10! I guess some of these is where the bots service comes in, like what @metzli talked about. But I do notice I have received a downvote each from these 2 accounts, @zartyo and @topfongo1. Not sure why. I think they are bots. Do you get these? (oh I just noticed your comment to @steemcleaners about @zartyo).

Hi @marblely, glad you found the post useful. Good idea to do what you enjoy 😊. The flags are part of a ring, you can read about them here correct link to post. They're a nuisance but shouldn't do too much harm, and more and more people are getting to know about them.

I followed your link and got a market Friday post. Good buys!

Thanks @metzli, I have corrected the link now. Those market friday bargains have a mind of their own!

@marbley it could also have to do with the weight of each persons vote. People with high SP give higher upvotes.

Hi @metzli, thank you for your comment . I would like to increase my SP to at least be able to contribute 0.01 to the author when I upvote. I just got to keep collecting those SP. @shanibeer's latest post talks about this, yay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75