#minnowuprising | #needleworkmonday Progress Report 15 July 2018

in #minnowuprising6 years ago (edited)

This report looks at progress to build the wealth of 22 accounts posting under the #needleworkmonday tag as part of the July #minnowuprising campaign initiated by @taskmaster4450. This post set the baseline for reviewing progress.

Building Collective Wealth: Progress Report

Factor15.08.1801.07.2018+/- Change
Steem Power9,9309,731199
SBD1,1751,10768
Steem19416430

Table showing growth over first 15 days of #minnowuprising.

Voting - The One Thing You Can Do!

Steemauto.com
Some accounts have automated regular votes after last week's results about improved rewards from curation. Remember to set the time for your autovote to at least fifteen minutes after the post was published - none of the rewards before this time go to the person voting. I usually place my votes at somewhere between 25-30 minutes.

Finding People To Vote For
You can try the #followfriday tag where Steemians post recommended people to follow; @mrscwin has done some interesting posts having a look at who is following her; @whatsup wrote a post inviting people to introduce and support each other - have a look through the comments to find people who interest you and add a comment yourself.

Checking Out Other People
If you want to know a bit more about how other accounts behave before you start giving them your precious votes, have a look at their account on steemworld.org. Is their voting power sitting at 100% for days on end? How many votes are they using a week (for accounts under 500SP you're looking for about 70 votes in the past seven days)? Are they only voting for a small number of accounts? How often do they post?

Other Ways to Build Your Account

Steem Basic Income
Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. For each share, you sponsor another Steemian and both of you receive an upvote from on your posts. To join, or to add another share, transfer 1 STEEM from your wallet to @steembasicincome and add the username of the person you would like to sponsor in the memo field.

No STEEM? Or several Steemians you would like to sponsor? If you have some SBD in your wallet you can buy some STEEM. You can find out more about Steem Basic Income in the FAQs post.

The are also many contests where you can have a chance to win Steem Basic Income shares - follow @steembasicincome to get regular news about contests. (@phoenixwren also runs regular contests with SBI shares as the prize - here's this week's contest about your favourite things).

Power Up
If you have STEEM or SBD sitting in your wallet, you can use them to buy more Steem Power (Steem Power provides you with more earning power through your votes - STEEM and SBD are just sitting there not doing very much for you). Remember to keep a little STEEM and SBD in the kitty if there are other things you would like to do like buying SBI shares or @dustsweeper service or treating yourself to an extra vote on your post.

Using @treeplanter and @isotonic Services
Both of these services support community projects: you can support them (and treat yourself) by buying an extra vote for one of your posts. Check each account to see how much SBD you need to transfer and the size of the vote you get back - @treeplanter offers 1.6 return on your contribution (if you pay 10 cents, the vote will be worth 16 cents); @isotonic varies according to how much voting power it has. For 10 cents, I have found votes to vary between 14 cents and 24 cents. You will need to check whether this is worthwhile for you.

Other Ways to Check How You are Doing

Redfish Power UP League and Wall of Fame
The aim of the Challenge is to grow your account to 500SP - find out more in this post.

Engagement and Curation Leagues
Follow @abh12345 to get regular updates about the leagues. This is last week's post. I'll add the latest one when it is published. Here is this week's Curation and Engagement Leagues.

Flagging Spam

Some people (me included) have had random flags from small accounts with low reputation. This is a known problem that you can read about in this post from @guiltyparties.

Meanwhile ...

I have started knitting this lovely cropped cardigan in Rowan's Big Wool (picture to follow).
IMG_2054.JPG
I've done away with the fancy cable panel and decided to do double moss stitch instead of single. It's taken me overnight to decode the cryptic instructions for the neck shaping!

Sort:  

Hi @shanibeer, thank you, thank you for writing this post (and all previous posts to guide us through this topic). I have been wondering about how does one increase SP and all that and you pretty much answered them! There is so much to learn here. I would very much like to contribute more to the author when I upvote, but the amount I have now is soooo small to make a difference. You have listed interesting options which I will explore. And you know, there are many posts in Steemit that talks about this kind of topic but the information is always rather scattered here and there. I really appreciate you putting them together for us to learn about them. Thank you again!
Ooo and I 😍 the texture of your cardigan. Oh yes, I sometimes just give up entirely trying to decode cryptic instructions and then end up doing my own thing 😆

Don't worry about the smallness of your vote - most of us have been there. Just keep doing what you are doing - writing quality posts, commenting and using your votes. Authors appreciate a good comment just as much as a vote. When your account is bigger, you will be able to support other newcomers and help to pay it forward 😊 .

Thank you @shanibeer for your support and encouragement :) I will keep doing what I do and hope to be able to help pay it forward later.

Using @treeplanter and @isotonic Services

I made a decision to not buy votes some time ago, are these realy any different from @minnowbooster, @smartsteem and the rest of them?

I think I would be a hypocrite if I started using even these again now. I know @steevc delegates to @isotonic. What makes these acceptable where the others are deemed evil?

I don't understand the "evil" bit - it seems a bit silly to me. I think the opposition to buying votes is for several reasons:

  1. There is no discrimination about quality, if the purchaser has money they can buy votes on whatever poor quality post they wish.
  2. The issue where large accounts are spending hundreds of pounds on votes to get themselves on the trending page. It gives a false impression of the rewards that can be earned and, often, the featured posts are not a great advertisement for steemit. There is also the view that these accounts are helping themselves to an unfair proportion of the rewards pool, depleting the share available for everyone else.
  3. Purchasers can lose money by purchasing votes ie the rewards don't surpass the outlay.

Counter arguments are:

  1. Buying steembasicincome shares or paying an enrolment fee to @runningproject is also buying votes.

  2. @treeplanter is using benefits from vote buying to reforest an area in the Cameroons. Half the income is used to power up and grow the account and half is used to plant trees. Buying votes in this instance is helping to fundraise for a not for profit in the interests of all of us environmental project.

  3. In the case of @isotonic, 90% of rewards are a return on investment for delegators, the other 10% is transferred to @runningproject to build that community account ... which provides votes to its members. I've had a lot of support from @runningproject and given the rate at which lifestyle conditions like diabetes are crippling health and social care services, I want to support projects which encourage and support physical activity.

  4. Like you, I have invested in this platform. To do that, I've transferred funds from my savings. I think it is reasonable to take action, in this case buying votes, to protect that investment and to support initiatives that I believe are in the community interest.

There's a recognition that steemit needs a middle class and there's lots of discussion about accounts investing in themselves. Most of the discussion has been about self-voting, I'm extending it to buying votes. Although, of course, people can always buy these votes for each other. I have thought about doing a @treeplanter voting circle.

I'm interested that you previously bought votes in the early stages of your account - what informed your decision to buy in those early stages and then your decision to stop? Why would you feel hypocritical now?

I'm interested that you previously bought votes in the early stages of your account - what informed your decision to buy in those early stages and then your decision to stop? Why would you feel hypocritical now?

My argument was that I needed to get to respectable reputation level to be taken seriously. That was (55) and when I got there, I decided to stop the vote buying.

Then there's that psychological feeling that your work is worth more as it has a greater value (even though you have paid!).

Seeing your arguments about these two voting services I'm once again drawn toward them, and yet I have informed the community that I wont buy votes again as it is not how Steemit is supposed to work.

That is what I mean about being hypocritical.

You arguments about @steembasicincome etc.. are very valid. The community praises some methods and frowns upon others.

I'm not really one to rock anyone's boat, but the lure of the return you mention on these services still draws me and yet I resist as I have previously stated my principles.

I mentioned before that I won't judge anyone who buys votes, it's everyone's choice as to what they decide to do.

Yes, I understand what you mean and I agree with you, everyone must make their own choice. Some people posting under the #needleworkmonday tag are quite new so it's useful for them to see this discussion. Thank you :)

It also occurs to me that you have better information now that you didn't have before. You'll remember that I was adamant about (not) self-voting and that was right - at the time. However, once I had invested my own money combined with the need to grow a middle class, my views changed.
This is a complex environment - and constantly evolving - I don't think there any straightforward, one size fits all responses. It's more about considering all sides of the situation, taking a balanced view and keeping an open mind.

You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already 3201.14 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18910.73
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post.

Thank you. This looks like an interesting project.

I have also got flagged / down voted - without any explanation @shanibeer. It came from a very low rep account so I reported it.
I look forward to seeing your knitting progress :D

I'm using two computers - one for the writing and one for the images!

Good to see the knitting coming along @shanibeer. I like the stitch; it's so full of texture.

I started looking into @worksinsane because I have had upvotes and I do appreciate those :D I read and followed this link http://www.insaneworks.fi/wecurate/
From that page I captured this from the rolling text :

I just don't understand how all of this works. Who does the curation then ? Are those links just suggestions ?
Perhaps you can enlighten relatively unknowledgeable newbies like me...

  • coincidentally, this post was there... I thought I should say and update this ...

Exciting ... I'm guessing, but I think @worksinsane reads and upvotes the post and puts a link on the WeCurate website so that other people can find it. I did go and look but I only saw as far as the haiku post. Perhaps I was too impatient or perhaps I went to look before the link had been put on the website. I see @phoenixwren's solar panel review is there, too 😊.

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN. />

You haven't upvoted me and this looks like spam.

I love the texture! Double moss stitch looks great in this wool. Can't wait to see the finished cardigan.

Thank you. The wool is lovely to work with, very smooth and silky.

First: lovely sweater! the moss stitch is beautiful, and I always dreamed about a sweater in this stitch pattern, but I find it especially hard on my hands... no idea why.
And second: wow. thank you for all the infos. There is so much I still do not know about steemit. The whole bot part is cryptic for me. I only realized, that most higher payed posts seem to use these services strongly. And I felt dumb by not using these services. Today i will try out the ones you recommend, because trees are always good :-D
Hopefully someday I will be a bit more informed.....

Thank you :)
I find moss stitch can be hard on the hands too - I think it's the swapping backwards and forwards with the yarn. This yarn is very soft and silky, it seems much easier to use.
Glad you find the info useful ... I want everyone to grow their account as fat as possible :)

I love the colour of the yarn you are using. I am still new to crochet and hadnt come across double moss stitch, but it is very effective.

Thank you - I was lucky, the yarn was on offer! Double moss stitch is one of my favourite knitting stitches.

Thank you for gathering the information! And thanks again for introducing me to @dustsweeper :)

A pleasure :)

I appreciate all of the data and information you have shared with us in your latest posts. I especially appreciate that you are encouraging this for the needlework community. It’s really nice in general for people to know about voting and the ways to build their accounts.

The cardi is looking nice! Love that dark brown!

Thank you. People put a lot of time and effort into their posts (never mind the time they have invested in making the item), especially compared to some other posts which are easily written and published in a matter of minutes. It would be good to see that effort valued and rewarded.
I'm aware, as well, of the amount of time that you contribute to building the community, many of which are very small accounts and unable (in the short term) to bring you much in the way of rewards. I really appreciate your time and effort 😊.

That is so very true!! It takes sooo much time making the item and then time putting a post together. This is one of the reasons I am really wanting to see all of these talented folks get rewarded more.

Thank you, I really appreciate that. This may sound cheesy but it’s true...I am already earning my reward. I say that because my whole intention of starting this is coming to life. The community, relationships and exposure are all apart of it . It’s amazing to see and I’m so thrilled it’s happening! You all are the biggest part of my Steemit experience and the funnest!! 😃😉❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29