Parallel Processing 808s?

in #mix6 years ago

sound.jpg

I’ve always had a problem with processing 808s, as sometimes the 808s tend to be too low in range, rendering it quite unnoticeable without a good woofer to show off the low ends. I have found multiple ways to overcome this- with distortion techniqes/clipping techniques. However, today I want to talk about a cleaner way to mix 808s, which is parallel processing.

I would start this by first creating 4 channels, one for the original sample, a dry channel, wet, and then bus channel. I first start with equalising out the unnecessary frequencies from the 808, while at the same time boosting whatever is needed in the signal.

Next, I put a compressor on the dry signal, to balance out the signal with the later compressed ones (The compressor on the dry signal has nothing going on). Then on the wet channel, I’ll put the same compressor but heavily compress the signals, making it borderline clipping.

The last step is just mixing and balancing the dry and wet signals, choosing how much high ends I want from the wet signal, and balancing the bass that goes through from the dry signals.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21