The Chișinău Water Tower (Republica Moldova)

in #moldova5 years ago

Today I bring you a few photos of a rare sight: an architectural monument of Chișinău (Кишинёв), Republica Moldova (Респу́блика Молдо́ва).

When I travel, specially to other capitals of Europe, I see plenty of architectural monuments. I never have time to visit them all, as they usually abound... but in the capital of Moldova, the exact opposite happened. I had plenty of time to visit every single monument in an afternoon.

I don't know why there are so few monuments in this city... I'm assuming many were destroyed in wars but I could be terribly wrong. On the other hand, Chișinău is a city full of green parks and little forests.

Next to one of those parks, right next to the Moldova State University there stands a lonely tower...

c91ylw6d4z.jpg

This is the Chișinău Water Tower, "an architectural monument (...) built at the end of 19th century after a project by Alexander Bernadazzi. It was a main part of Chişinău's water system. The upper level was built of wood and was destroyed by an earthquake. It was rebuilt between 1980 and 1983." ~ Wikipedia

958j7j6wlf.jpg

I was lucky enough with the weather and, at the time I got there, the sun was lighting the main parts of the building in a lovely and charming way.

zjgoggrrqf.jpg

I also took a couple more shots from behind the building but with the sun coming from the front, they came out quite dark, naturally. I'll leave both photos here, anyway...

9xbiw6i5cl.jpg

It's a pity that you almost can't see the flowers were covering the ground...

03h4ukb10b.jpg

Despite the lack of monuments, I thought this city was very cute and tranquil. I wouldn't mind spending a couple more days there, just relaxing, enjoying the good food and the views.


CameraCanon IXUS 210
LocationChişinău - Republica Moldova
Photos 1, 2, 3: Unedited, but rotated with GIMP
Photos 4 and 3: Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That is a great architectural piece. A tower, that looks more like it belongs to a castle or fortress, but it is standing all alone. You took some great photoes. Light is great. Thanks for sharing :)

You're welcome. I'm glad you enjoyed the photos. 😃

What a tower! To me, it looks like a defense tower of a castle :P but the castle is missing for some reason O.o
It was kind of a stand-alone project I guess. Thank you for sharing this with us :)

Hello there, @mcnestler!

Yes, it could very well be... but no, the tower was right next to an University and to a public park. I doubt that a castle has ever been built in such a place.

Thanks for stopping by.

Obrigado por partilhar imagens que nos levam a conhecer locais que provavelmente nunca vamos visitar no mundo.

Voçê recebeu um voto de 100% da curadoria @pataty69 que apoia o rodízio do pt-gram

ptgram

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Muito obrigado, @pataty69! 🙋

This is not just a water tower, but a real work of art
Это не просто водонапорная башня, а настоящее произведение искусства

You got that right!

Interesting shape.. I guess it's octagon shape.. Not sure but From picture I assume.. Bold horizontal lines.. Nice captures..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it is. Thanks, the first three came out very well! 😉

I love seeing these architectural monuments in Europe. The main reason I wanna go.
Great shit with the sunshine.

Have you never been in Europe!? 😮

Great shots you have there, i feel your photographic skills, love the angle you took the image from ahahahhaahaha😂😂

Ahahahha, thanks for your sweet comment!

You welcome my friend😁😁

Beautiful shots in the golden hour! Well done 😊

Beautiful pictures Trin. Neat design for a water tower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68