Mom, Spring, Flowers. What could be better?

in #mom5 years ago

Happy mothers day to all you beautiful mothers out there! Without moms giving us all life, the world would cease to exist. Unfortunately my mom wasn't feeling well this morning so my family skipped the brunch out at a restaurant and cooked breakfast at home instead. This was perfectly fine with me because I would rather be home with my family where we can talk anyway. You know, many times in our younger years a person can tend to take for granted time spent with immediate family members. Now some of my most favorite days of the year are having dinner with my family for special occasions.

With mothers day also comes the official spring time in the Colorado Rockies because there is a fairly good chance the snow is gone although it snowed last week and could again for sure......a couple of times.

Today is the day I usually plant my flowers on the balcony to make it look nice for my annual Memorial Day Weekend Party and Territory Days in Old Colorado City where I live.....on the Wes Wes. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤑

This year I decided to not only plant flowers in my planters off the railings but also got a few of the ones that hang in baskets. My mom and dad gave me one of the baskets for an Easter gift which was awesome because flowers are expensive!!!!! Holy Crap! It's hard forking over that much loot to make such a small space look nice. In the end it's worth it I guess because it looks great for several months. Happy Mothers Day. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Woo-hoo! Look at those legs! ;)

Sorry to hear that mom wasn't feeling up to par yesterday, but, glad you all got together to make it her day. You did a great job on the flower boxes, now you make sure that you dead-head those things so they flourish.

In actuality, I take off the first blooms and the plants always reward me with a larger, healthier plant, from not having to struggle in the beginning. Transplanting always does that to them.

You have the place looking marvelous and I will bet it looks awesome from the street. Lovely looking. I do miss the Springs in the Spring... late spring that is.

Have a great day and hope it is the start of a wonderful week.

!tip

Hi Denise, I wanted to ask...do you mean we should pick off the blooms that are already on the plant and the ones in the process of the bloom? Before planting or soon after?

@willowwisp

Yes! When I planting new flowers that I get from the nursery, when I take them out of their little pots, I nip off the new bugs and most of the flowers, leaving one or two so I can see they are. Because transplanting takes so much out of a plant, it gives it a better start for a bigger, healthier plant. This works with almost every single plant that reblooms. As they were just planted, it will still work pretty well. In the future, I recommend doing it as you are planting. Another FYI and this has to do with the hanging baskets. If you find that they do not do well and they are lackluster halfway through the season, one of the reasons is because the pot they come in oh, they are usually root bound. So I always transplant them into another hanging basket. Now did not just make your life complicated?

Thank you so much for that information. Picking off the flowers and buds will be hard to do after just purchasing the most beautiful plant. Do you choose a less mature plant, no flower or buds, in your hunt for annuals or perennials?

@willowwisp

That's true, it is very hard, however, it seems to regenerate very quickly when I do that. I do leave a couple so that it doesn't look so bad but I will say that I don't buy the teeny tiny little plants as a normal deal. I'm talking about the little six packs. I usually will buy a 4-inch pot but usually has a nice-sized plant. I'm talking about the annual such as petunias and geraniums and zinnias, and also including marigolds.


1557854127557837032262251323426.jpg



15578541891434024178821231406428.jpg


These were both planted two and a half weeks ago. They've all got new flowers and are blooming like crazy. Apologize to your son for my messing his post up. :)

I think both he and I learned something. Thank you.

It's always my pleasure!

The photo of flower is looking good, you and your family met together on the occasion of your mother, that is mother day. Keep stay safe and feel life with your mother, happy mothers day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow... This kind of planting is very good, 👍spring is the season of beautiful bloom!💐
Being with your family is the most warm and happy time.💖
Happy Mother's Day!🌹

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that's an incredibly small space really, but I'm glad to see the baskets they incredibly look too amazing from my view really, yeah sometimes we tend to take time spent with family for granted, but at the end we'll realise family is everything. Happy mother's day @broncnutz

What could be better? How about the Broncos going all the way! Or a few fluffy cats in that garden there. 😻Mom

Posted using Partiko Android

A wonderful mother is a tressure to have and I am lucky to have one

HAPPY mother's day my dear friend. And need spend some good time with family and Mom. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I bought a crispy pork leg for my Mother's celebration Sir @broncnutz :P
I owe a lot to her especially now that I am almost bed-ridden.

Saludos a migo! Espero hayas pasado un Día de las Madres muy genial al lado de tu progenitora! Saludos de Venezuela! Siempre pendiente de tus publicaciones!

Congratulations @broncnutz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09