An immutable Mothers Day card

in #mom6 years ago

Hi mom, I wanted to write to you this year, but also found a song that really resonated with me, and I can't very well put a song in a physical card... but I can put it ONLINE. E-cards really aren't that thoughtful in my opinion, so I decided to do something a little bit unique and dedicate a post to you for mothers day.

and for anyone else reading this my mom is @earthlightrocks here.

To start I wanted to explain why this is an "immutable mothers day card" and what that means. I know you are a cool mom with a steemit account, but not sure if you realize it is built upon the STEEM blockchain, and not part of the "normal internet". Because it is on the blockchain, everything I put in this post will , as long as this blockchain exists, be ....
immutable

unchanging over time or unable to be changed

Meaning, I can't delete this, you can't delete it, the CEO of steemit can't delete it.

It really is such a nerdy beautiful metaphor for love
(I'm gonna have so many friends giving me crap for being so mushy haha)


my favorite mama's and my lil sis back in like... 07/08

OK, so here is the song

Son of Yvonne

I love that coincidence haha

This verse and chorus stood out to me a lot

Son of Yvonne, better get the best grades
Couple of B’s, a C and the rest A’s
Not top of the class, but not nearly last
I beat your ass if you think you gon' barely pass
But all my best friends, they be ditching school
Every week is like a Friday ritual
You got a mind of your own, so let it be known
Son of Yvonne, sharp as a kitchen tool

All I do, I do it for you
It’s for all you did, when I was a kid
Cause there's mad friends ain’t wanna be born
But I’m glad to be the son of Yvonne

We both know you'd never "beat my ass" even though you probably shoulda haha (because you wouldn't hurt a fly maybe a spider though). The rest of the verse and the chorus stood out to me so much because that attitude I have taken with me into adulthood. The attitude of striving for better, thinking for yourself, and doing your absolute best in everything.

This I would have to say is the single greatest gift you could have ever given me, and I am genuinely grateful for it every day. You made me a man that refuses to give up, never settles for average, and expects great things for my family... and then WORK for it. All my life I have watched you fight relentlessly for your family, and work your booty off for a better life. Our family, starting with you proves that how you start doesn't matter, but what really matters is how you FINISH. I am proud to be your son.

Sort:  

When I read and listened to this on Mothers Day - lets just say tears were flowing, I have an amazing son, which is also a wonderful father and husband to his wife and kids. As a mother you never think your kids will ever truly realize the things you do for them, and you don't raise them ever expecting them to give you any thanks. It was wonderful to have such a son and such a great mothers day gift.

Awww, you mushy nerd! <3 Soo cute ! You have helluva mama to raise you like that :) and i can't even start with that how cool it is to you to knowledge that and point it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71