MONDAY MIXTAPE #11 - Favourite Songs For The Week!

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

It's been a while since I did one of these. Had a couple of months where Mondays were super busy (and in total honesty, I was being a lazy ass! 🙈)
But no more of that. It's time to get back onto the Monday Mixtapes! 😎

#mondaymixtape (3).png


I started a new tag:
#mondaymixtape


Quick rules for anyone who wants to participate in the #MondayMixtape tag:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

I think is a great way for everyone to discover new music!

I shall do my best to Upvote all #mondaymixtape posts 😇.
There are a few people who have been continuing to post Monday Mixtapes even when I wasn't posting them.
I know @charlocked is one of them. Thank you for that!
Sending you 2 STEEM as a token of my appretiation 🍻


So without further ado, my 5 picks for this week:

1. Alice Merton - No Roots

One word - Bass! Also that guitar which is just used as a production element - more like a snare roll. Plus love the pharsing of the melody and how it compliments the Bassline. Also that backgrouns vocal line at 1:53 👏🏽
People nowadays stressing on going back to the roots - so I like how the concept of this song is just being a nomad!


2. The Local Train - Mizaaj

These guys are an indie band from India. I've posted some of their other songs in my previous monday mixtapes. Love their work!
This song specifically I have a few things I find interesting. First is that vocal slide right at the beginning. It is just a fifth, but the way Raman (the vocalist) has executed it is very unique in its own way. I keep coming back to the song just to listen to that!
And secondly, the video appealed to me a lot. You can see how much work has gone into putting the thing together. It takes a jab at everything - capitalism, media, power, environtmental destruction, animals endangerment, freedom of speech - there is just so much meaning in the thing. Hats-off!


3. Mree @ CU APAHM Spotlight! - Can't Help Falling in Love by Elvis (cover)

I think this is one of the best version of this song out there! It's not captured very well, you might have to turn up the sound.
She really puts emotion into the words and sings a story. You just need to listen to it.


4. Kodaline - Worth It (Acoustic in Sintra, Portugal)

Kodaline is a band I discovered recently (but not so recently). I absolutely loved some of their stuff - specially these kinda acoustic versions they do. Some of them end up being better than the official recording.
Listen to this one, it is worth it! :)
What a lovley location as well.


5. Jai Wolf - Indian Summer

So I was making a jingle for a client, and they gave me this song as a reference.
Love how the vocal samples are used. Production is wonerful, perfect sounds. Just a lovey track to chill out to on a monday :)


So what is your #mondaymixtape.
You can even post in the comments and let me know.
Or make a post and drop the link the comments!
Have a great week!


♨️ STEEM ON ♨️


If you like my work, please UpVote, ReSteem and Follow me @hardikv


Apply to Join thealliance Family in the Admissions Office


Join the India United Discord Server!

indiaunited.png


Join the Blockchain Musician Discord Server for Indian Musicians and Artists

TBM-footer.gif

Sort:  

Okay those first few seconds of the Alice Merton video blew me away! And as the song progresses, man, I hear you! That bass is sick!!!

I am a Kodaline fan myself, and my favorite song is Talk. Can't wait for their new album, Politics of Living. :)

Love this concept bro, Im an independent artist from NYC and ill definitely be participating in #mondaymixtape ! upvote and a follow for a cultural curator!!

to be very honest, I don't know more about music!! I watched all the videos, I liked most "Jai Wolf - Indian Summer" because of it's cinematography and the music. The other two I like are "Alice Merton - No Roots and The Local Train - Mizaaj"- (lyrics). Btw thanks for posting videos. all are interesting.👍👍

I LOVE this! This is right up my alley. I'm going to do one today, and I'll probably end up a regular with this. Thank you so much!

What a fresh and dynamic initiative, @hardikv! :-) I'm gonna try taking part today, or at least next Monday, hehe.

May the selected songs be from some years ago, and in any idiom?

Ah, I've written to you through the Musicoin Forum chat, like a month ago, but I guess you use to check more often your Discord channels ;-)

Hi @hardikv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.961 which ranks you at #3653 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 3649).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #120.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05