What to expect when you resign and want to start a businesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #money6 years ago

Beyond the exceptions of those who have fallen from the faculty banks directly at the helm of a successful company, even now I think that in order to have a minimal chance of succeeding, you also need work experience. Often, the level of performance you get at work will also be reflected in your entrepreneurial evolution.

To make a parallel with sport, I see the employee status as a training you do for official games. You will rarely see a footballer, for example, who will be the right-holder of the team but who will treat the training superficially. There is a close link between how you train and the result you get in "matches."

Regarding the reasons why you want to resign, they can be multiple:

  1. you do not like what you are doing and want to change the field in which you work
  2. no longer feel challenged
  3. do not feel appreciated
  4. you have a precarious balance between professional life and your personal life (you want more time for you, less stress, etc.)
  5. there is a contradiction of values between you and the employer and you do not believe in what you are doing
  6. you are dissatisfied with the salary you receive
  7. you want to start something on your own

By what I do, I have "inspired" (it could be said) hundreds of people so far, if not thousands, to resign with the thought of professional reconversion or hope that they can do something on their own. No matter how weird, I do not urge people to give up their jobs.

I really think this is a step you need to think a little before, so you will not be caught off-side and not risk too much. I go on a very simplistic question at first glance when a person resigns:

"What's the worst thing that can happen?"

If you do not risk any money you do not have or do not allow them to lose, the answer should be "to hire again".


This is actually the "sensor" that you are balanced in the decision you make. If you risk lending to the bank, home, car, life savings - then you are probably impulsive.


You will be prepared only when you can simply answer: "If I resign, the worst thing that can happen is to hire me again over a period of time?"


Personally, I resigned when I did not have a penny in my pocket to start a business (and not just once). Every time I rate with my business plan, I hire myself again.


It's funny that every time I was saying, "It's the last time I hire myself." By the fourth attempt ... I was right. It was the last time I hired someone else.


Resignation is an experience that can change your perception of life, values, plans. Unfortunately, more than 50% of those with whom I worked in coaching and who wanted to resign saw this resignation as a personal defeat as a failure. With your hand on your heart, say that when you stay in a job that does not satisfy you - it's really defeat. Resignation can be a personal victory and an experience that can lead you (or not) to another level.

If you're thinking about dropping out of work for a freelance job or a start-up, ask yourself the question right now:

"What's the worst thing that can happen after I resign?"


If the answer is NOT "to hire again", then first make a plan to get this answer.

What to expect when you resign?


Nothing good at first and at first glance:


the feeling of constant hunger (if you do not do something, you have nothing to eat)

the feeling of insecurity (no one guarantees you, you do not have the salary that comes at the end of the month, you can give the rate anytime)

the impression that the whole environment is allied against you (starting from the first client who does not pay you, to the partners who do not get as much as you, from the employees who take the money for nothing, the bureaucracy that prevents you from making a profit, and your activity)

This feeling of insecurity may be the most powerful release for you, but at the same time it can also be a millstone. I have seen people paralyzed by this insecurity, unable to move in one direction or another.


Always say, safety-related: "If you want safety, you're still hired. Entrepreneurship does not have the job for sure. You're never sure of anything. "


We have seen people with a huge self-esteem as highly committed and extremely positive employees who, in the face of the fact, have turned into some victims who have been constantly struggling with how hard it is.


Also, the lack of a program imposed externally by the "system" causes the most disciplined people to turn into the lazy ones.


Things you should be aware of when planning a resignation and after you've given it:


1 - From the moment you think you resign, you become toxic to the company that pays you


That's what I tell you from both roles, both the employee and the employer. It's like a small worm that produces you on the inside, causing you negative emotions, depressed states, lack of productivity. You also risk becoming a destabilizing factor for other colleagues and in relationships with other employees and clients.


As an employer, you prefer to tell me that you want to go and help you leave as quickly as possible, rather than trying to keep you against your will.


Once this thought has grown, sooner or later you will leave. The difference does - what you leave behind. So, from the moment you become aware of this desire, make a plan, work with the same intensity as much as possible, and give your time to get to the point where you say "the biggest risk is that if I fail, I hire myself again ".


The higher the "toxicity" rate without doing anything in this respect, the more you will be prone to make impulse decisions that will not benefit you in the long run.


2 - Do not wait until your family and close ones are ok with your decision


It's one of the mental traps we fall into. Man, in essence, is an emotional animal that scares the unknown. To resign yourself and to start something on your own, it creates a sense of irritability in the family most of the time.


You will not be able to match your husband, children, parents, close friends with your decision. There will always be someone who will say, "Are you crazy? You'll go bankrupt "or" You'll die of hunger. "


If you want to wait for them to agree with you, you will spend a lot of time as a "toxic" employee (see point 1).


3 - Strange a "subsistence" capital


If you do not have investment money, then you will most likely start a small, service-based (where there is no high cost) / brokerage business, a business that relies on your ability to network (to sell among those which you know in the first phase) and your ability to promote in the online environment.


The most common excuse for those who go bankrupt is - "I did not have any investment money." There is a fear that is not based on anything real, the origin of bankruptcy is the level of education of the entrepreneur back.


Any wrong step is a lesson that can lead you to the "worst case scenario", which means, in fact, to commit yourself once to the next "attempt".


Do not make credits, do not make apartments, do not borrow for your business. Most of the successful start-ups I have documented have gone without investments.


When I refer to "raising a capital" - I refer strictly to subsistence capital, which helps you to survive for a period of 6-12 months. If you do not have an entrepreneurial experience, it is not advisable to give you money on your hand to start a business.

4 - What an employer wants from you when you resign


I see a lot of people who, when they resign, make it out of impulse, leaving behind "fire and para", breaking relationships and firing boats. In reality, things are much more humane than that.


An employer puts a face to face with one's decision to leave, just wants to:


  1. be notified in advance to be able to find a replacement
  2. finish the job you started so it will not be taken over by someone else who does not know what you did
  3. Be an example of conduct during the notice period (not to destabilize the team)
  4. do not become emotional and impulsive, in the negative sense, point to "guilty" (feedback is appreciated, but at mature, honest and authentic level)
  5. keep in touch with him in the long run, let him know about you (leave the door open)

5 - Those who resign, tend to take a break (which is wrong!)


I've seen this scenario many times. Immediately after resignation, with the intention of starting a business, the first activity undertaken is to plan a trip to an exotic country or excessive laziness in front of the TV.


At first, the days, then the weeks, maybe the months. And then you will look for another job without even trying something.


On your own, you have to be twice as responsible and harder than before, because now you do not have a fixed schedule and no rigid system that will allow you to get results.


All those who resign, and give it hope that they will win "freedom". At first you will only get the freedom to work twice as hard and twice as much, hoping that at one point the business will stand up and will no longer depend on you.


So go straight into the bread and leave the rest aside.


6 - Learn about marketing and sales!


With talent dying of hunger! Any professional result you have and employee, entrepreneur status requires you to have whom to deliver this result. There are two totally different mentalities.


In the start-up period, whether we are talking about freelancing or entrepreneurial activity, your effort should go to 80% of your working time, customer engagement and sales. Only 20% of the time should you deal with "production".


Sales bring you money, so sell it - daily!


7 - Do not sell cheap (do not rely on discounts and low prices)


The worst approach you can take is to fight for prices on a competitive market (which gives the lowest price). I have seen this scenario thousands of times and it does not lead to a happy future.


Price-based marketing is not marketing, it's the milo! There will always be someone who offers a lower price than you, so you will have to constantly reduce costs, quality, profit margin - just in the idea of

being able to stay on the market.


The beat is so pricey that it's not a smart move to sell you cheaply.


8 - Do not keep customers you do not want


Because of the lack of sales, at first, you will tend to accept compromises. But these compromises will lead you to the edge of the abyss. Customers who pay you hard, do not respect what you are doing, they are constantly negotiating to the minimum price you can offer, which causes constant negative emotions - forget them.


Look for that customer ideal you want and serve it. By concentrating on stupid clients, you will quickly get into the situation where you have no more energy to go on, hating your business and feeling that the whole market is "so." You will not trust people any more, you will not trust your customers, you will forget why you have gone.


Every freelancer or entrepreneur goes with the idea of

bringing value to society through what he does. Secondary - to live well out of this.


Stay true to your ideal customer and treat it as it deserves. Give up any client who does not get into this ideal without blinking.

9 - Do not be afraid to think "big"


Even if you go out on the road as a freelancer or a trader (for example), allow yourself to always dream of a superior level of your business: becoming the best in the country, in Europe, in the world (whatever that means ).


You never enjoy the level at which your business is, because self-sufficiency only leads to bankruptcy, in the absence of an ideal to aspire to.


Do not forget that businesses can not grow more than the level of education of the back entrepreneur. Any hindrance encountered on this journey is given by the level at which you are and your level of understanding the market and what it means for entrepreneurship.


10 - The Blackest Scenario 🙂


Do not forget the basic idea. If it does not work, just engage again. Suggest to get the most out of your new job, look for the "lesson" you have been given last year and plan a new try.


Most of us learn from failures. Victories do not teach us anything, just give us arrogance, a false sense of invincibility, give us self-sufficiency, and prevent us from dreaming further.


Sort:  

You got a 34.89% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

About 10 years ago I was thrust into self-employment when the company I worked for as an independent contractor pulled out of my state. I couldn't get unemployment payments because I'd been a 1099, not an employee. I had only 2 months living expenses saved, so I knew I had that much time to make a business of my own work (doing the same thing I'd done as a contractor). I went to all the clients I had and offered to go direct with them for less than they'd been paying for me (which was more than the company had been paying me out of the funds). Just two said yes, but that was all I needed to get started. That gave me the time to learn how to make a website and logo (and make them) and get a marketing blog up and running to bring traffic to the site. I wound up getting my first $20,000 client off that site within just a couple months of putting it up, and within another 3 years I was making a half million a year. Now I'm retired.

I had tried my hand at businesses before, but I didn't know what I was doing. That time it worked because it so happened that the work I was doing as a consultant was business consulting, and the company had trained me to do it the year before. There really is so much of success that is simply teachable and not intuitive. But once you learn, you see it isn't rocket science.

Wow! Such an impressive story! I think you can have many opportunities when you're in crisis. Also in an economic crisis, a lot of opportunities can be in the front of your eyes. Only if you can "see" them.

I recommend to have at least a fund with a value that can support your actual lifestyle for 6 months.

Thanks for sharing your opionion here!

@smartbot tip 1

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 6500 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you send SBD to resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

Σ$$$ Tipped @ant1dot396 Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.089 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.09 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

You can use the following commands:

  • balance - displays your current wallet balance
  • address- displays your deposit address
  • withdraw <amount> <address> - withdraws the amount of SMART to address
  • tip <username> <amount> - sends the amount of SMART to username
  • terms - displays terms and conditions for using @smartbot

I really like this post and it relates to me too. I was working a dead end job once and could not get myself to resign for fear of not being able to support myself. It wasn't until the pain of not following my dreams got bigger than the fear of not being able to support myself that I felt the confidence to leave that "prison". The next time my unfair boss gave me crap for something silly and threatened to fire me, I grabbed the opportunity to "get fired". I had had it. At that point there was no fear and I actually felt enormous relief. 10 years later i've had a career that most people could only dream about. I'm my own boss and take shit from no one. You can only achieve this if you believe in yourself and your product or service.

Sounds very intereresting :). I think all of us have the ability to reach the top of ourselves. Only if we train enough to do that. Everything can be learned.

I agree. Preparation is key.

with patience and hard work you will succeed in every business to start up.
here is my upvote. thanks for this motivating article.

Thanks for reading!

my pleasure and keep up for more posts

don't

start the business part time if you have an actual slave job

you wont know what it does until at least a few years

that is

IF

you have something to lose

not everyone is cut out for having all responsibility to one-self

I respect your oppinion, but you lose so much time in part time. And what part time job gives you a good income?

This really good inspiration

Thanks! I will keep up writing these post

Thanks for visiting

Nice article here, you've definitely crushed this topic.

A lot of usually run into problem when starting their own business after retirement but with this peice, it couldn't be made more simpler.

Humble apologies for the multiple comments

Great advice. I want to start my own business at some point but have no clue as to what it may be. I need an idea and goal first but once I have it I'm sure I'll go for it.

The simple way to find an idea is to travel a lot. I'm from Romania and I like to travel a lot. I travel especially in western Europe and I saw there a lot of things that I can apply in my country. Also, when you get an idea, write it somewhere, because you will forget it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13