Be a Informed Buyer

in #money6 years ago

My wife never understands why I hate going to the store, well I shop everyday at work, and have spent over a million dollars in the last 10 years just at Home Depot and Lowes alone. So ya I get enough of the shopping life style. But recently I had my pool self leveler break. I came out to find my pool at the brink of over flowing. So I looked in the whole and went to my pool store. 32 dollars please, and they handed me this.....20180513_124114.jpg Knowing from work that it was just a toilet self leveler, I knew that 32 dollars was way too much. Shoot toilets are now only 100 dollars. So just to be sure when I was at Lowes I checked it out. 8.42 out the door. So I went back and returned the piece to the pool store. I needed some other chemicals so they still got my money, but I was able to get more with it. 20180513_124122.jpg

On the other had, buying chlorine from Home depot is a rip off. You need to be aware of the concentration of the tablets, and how much filler is used. The tablets from the pool store are about 5 to 10 dollars more, but they last way longer, because they are 99 percent chlorine. So it definitely goes both ways. Make sure to pay attention when shopping.

Sort:  

so much difference between the prices of the two. I used to be no idea about the products I buy.. but nowadays I always read ingredients etc before I buy...

If you don't you always seem to pay way too much, and then sometimes you buy stuff that you don't even need.

Some good advice there @bigram13

It is amazing how many people just buy things blindly.. I always compare and contrast or have a quick check on my phone to make sure I am not getting ripped off...

Well done on reaching 70 rep as well by the way - great achievement.

Got to always protect yourself, and thanks on the rep, I have been on almost a year to date.

Thanks for this post. It is a good reminder to pay more attention to detail. There is an old saying Buy cheap pay dear. I am very poor at paying attention to these details.

A lot of times it can be the difference in years, and by that I mean years difference in retirement age, that you are able to retire at.

Man, I take forever when I go to the store. I’m always comparing prices and making sure to get good value. The worst part is, if I find a good sale at the grocery store I end up buying more than I went for. Just can’t turn up a good deal on stuff we use, especially in the meat dept.

We just went on a budget, and that is the worst part. I wait till steak is on sale, and then load up usually. But that can blow out a budget pretty quick. Also I have made the mistake of shopping while hungry and that is just asking for trouble.

Am here to ask you a deal sir! Would you give me your discord id please

nice job thanks for sharing.

Hshahah well they handed you that? Well if you don't shop then how do you buy your commodity?
Well what can I say, buying takes a whole lot of understanding sometimes we buy things that we think are the right thing and never realise the mistakes in the next shopping

Well you learnt the lessons lol

attention to detail and a good research is key to buying smart, sometime i always say dont buy cheap

Hello! It is important to know something about the subject when you go to buy a spare of any kind because many times, due to ignorance, we buy something that is not or something that works but we could find cheaper in another more specific store. But it always happens that we are going to buy something and we go out with a lot that we did not even know was missing at home, well that's what happens to us women hahaha

Nice awareness post....@bigram13. thank you so much for sharing with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70