How I Make Side Cash

in #money6 years ago

B9C042DC-3B5F-496D-8D59-6AB85F6765E9.jpeg

We all wish we could have more money. Not one of us here wishes otherwise. I have a system to generate that extra side cash and half the time I’m too lazy to do it. Between running my own business, family, friends, pets, and normal life...the last thing I want to do is add more side work on top of my schedule. But that’s what I’m going to start doing...soon.

Ya see...I can press comics. I’m pretty decent at it. I taught myself and bought my own presses and through trial and error and a shit ton of practice, I’m comfortable taking other people books. Pressing a comic is basically helping to get some of the kinks out. It is not restoration but can really help a book immensely. Getting out spine roll, non color breaking creases, waviness, and even some water damage. It can repair some of those flaws which can increase the value greatly on a book. I have a system of steaming, then a hot press, then straight to the cold press.

629665FC-5B8B-4CE0-B33A-BCD09016C30A.jpeg

I typically charge $15.00 a book although that can fluctuate and I’m thinking of raising it a few bucks as it is a pain and the market prices are rising for this specific service. It is in demand greatly with the rise of folks submitting books to get graded...they want to submit the best possible version of that book. That’s where I step in.

Take this for example. Last night I had to press 10 books for a gentleman. Some cool stuff and each one made a difference but take a look at the before and after on the House of Secrets #92 & Silver Surfer #4

Before the press. See all the little creases and debts? The inperfections plague this cover.
4A2B7213-C908-4E9C-9D22-B1C9626879F6.jpeg

Here is the after. Look like a completely different book.

3BBEA114-DD3C-409E-BA13-C9A6B8131CE9.jpeg

Here is the before on the Silver Surfer.

E4042919-F44C-437A-9E84-44CA191EE564.jpeg

Now take a look at the after.

797E7E05-3992-4F01-AE41-C3B90C6D3020.jpeg

Difference like this can make an insane difference in the value of the book. I did a book for a client last year. Wonder Woman #98...the first Silver Age Wonder Woman. This was not his book. This was before I was taking before and after pics. I’m using a stock photo just to show the book.

27CC77BD-DB4E-4D1A-9FA1-FBE115933E7A.jpeg

He bought the book for $1400 and I fixed this book up nice. I mean it looked amazing. He got it graded and turned around and sold it for $5500!! That’s a trenendous difference. All he paid me was $15 bucks and it helped his book that much.

My problem is time. This is a time consuming process and takes a ton of precision and care. After all I’m handling something that is not mine, and is of great value and importance. It’s also a great way to make spare cash. I can do it in my home and when I get a stack, that adds up.

We just moved into our new home a few months back and in the coming months as we get set up and organized, it going to set up my permanent pressing station. At that point I’m out of excuses to not take on more work with it. So if you have some good key issues with some flaws that I described...show some pics here and I’ll let ya know if I can help it!!

Sort:  

$4100 is a pretty good profit margin on a comic book... :)

Cool service you've got going on, I would have never thought to do that.

Yeah he did well with that. I don’t know who thought of using a Dry Mount Press to get some kinks out of comics but thank you sir!! Lol

I came here for the dirty down-low on setting up a good old-fashioned ho trade.

Come to find you're talking all this nonsense about 'comics'. Should have known you'd have some angle. ;)

My suggestion: rent out usage of your pressing machine for revenge purposes. $100 to press a finger, $250 for the whole hand, $500 for a testicle, etc... You could have that new home paid off in a matter of hours if you find the right clients. ;)

In all seriousness though, this is a really cool idea and something I never would have thought of. I don't collect anything serious enough to warrant that kind of attention (knowing my horde of 90's books, they'd probably bleed ink all over the place and scream as soon as you got one of them inside it), but I can see it creating some serious value for the hardcore collectors looking to get stuff slabbed with the highest possible grade.

Humble suggestion: bump the price to $17, use the first $15 however you want, and set the other $2 aside to buy Steem and grow dat account. :)

Not too shabby an idea...

The bumping price and investing. Not the testicle crushing. To clean it after that would be a tremendous pain I think.

That's awesome! What's the liability involved? Meaning, is there a chance of making the situation worse?

I would definitely up your rate, but make it a varriable rate. Higher price for a more valuable book. What if you could say something like $50, but if the book ends up not appraising for double, guarantee a 50% refund. Of course, you know the market and you need to price your service competitively.

Another thing that tradesmen like me use is to set a minimum. Yes, my rates start at $50 an hour, but there's a 2 hour minimum. Maybe you could set a 10 book minimum to help bring a higher volume. Say someone had three books they wanted pressed. If they just wanted the three, it would be the same price as adding in seven others.

Just some ideas that I use in my own side hustle that you might consider.

Awesome to see folks making side cash. That's free market af :)

Well there is definitely a liability involved if I fuck the book up. Lol. But I’m extremely careful when I work and have figured out the to do’s and not to do’s through practice on dollar books.

The problem with pricing like that is that they will just go elsewhere. The standard is about $15-$20. Unless it’s a BIG book...then there is room to negotiate. But typically that price is roughly right on.

Sounds like you're right on track then! Looks like a fun side gig.

I need to borrow that for about a week or two man.

The press? Lol. Come get it. I got mine off craigslist. Both of them. Gotta teach yourself though. Learning process blows.

If you have any books you want to me to take a look at lmk. I’ll press for tasty Steem!!

I have no doubts I have some books that definitely could use a press, what are prices like for services? What a cool thing to find on craigslist, what do they list them as? I mean does the ad say "Comic Book Press for Sale" or is it a general press / paperpress used?

Edit: I purposely am pretty ignorant on grading things, not a fan of CGC and other type of services, but over time I have just seen the pressing services be for anyone, just at first I remember it felt like it was done by people who were about to grade the books or something. So while I know pressing isn't a grading thing, I had that view of it and just never re-looked at them.

Dry Mount Press is what you would look up. I’m not a big fan of graded books either. I have 0 in my personal collection that’s for keeps. All raw for me. Lol

But I can’t deny their place in the hobby. Alot of people just bring me their books to press for their own collection. They stay raw.

I’d say if you were serious about having some books pressed by me, pull out some decent books you gave that might have some of the following features....spine roll, waviness, non color breaking creases. Snap a few pics of the books to where I can see em and I’ll let ya know if I think a press would help it. As far as payment goes we could figure something out. Maybe for Steem!!! Lol

I've never heard of steaming comics before to restore them!

I just followed you. You never know, maybe I'll get you to steam a book or two for me down the road!

Making money like that on a comic is truly amazing!

"He got it graded and turned around and sold it for $5500!! That’s a tremendous difference. All he paid me was $15 bucks"

The service you did that guy, he really could have paid you more than $15. Unless there's another guy just down the street keeping prices at a fixed $15, you really should consider raising your fee.

Cos judging by those two examples above, it's an excellent service you're providing! :)

Well there is kinda a standard pricing in the industry. Usually $15-$20 ish. On a much more evpensive book it can get pricier though.

Good job man. Wish u so much work that u will have no time to scratch your butt :-P

Itch ass is the worst.

509E3789-5704-4806-8B90-0AF5B73266D4.gif

Hahahaha. Good one :P

Get them to sign you a percentage cut on the book's final value.

Get them to sign you
A percentage cut on the
Book's final value.

                 - rainbowme


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hard to determine a hard value unless it sells and some just keep the book.

Get More Upvote - FREE

steem.link/sbd

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85