Miss Average versus Miss Above Average

in #money6 years ago

Are you making ends meet financially or lagging behind a little and struggling to take care of all your financial responsibilities? I guess, just making ends meet is what many of us do in our lives; We get paid and spend what we earn, and then some, often resorting to credit to get the things we want.

I recently read a couple of steemit blogs that made me think about this situation. Situation? Maybe opportunity is a more suitable word to use. One offered many great tips on how to save money in life; It outlined things a person could do every day to save. One item was the beverage that individual bought every day, an energy drink was the item I recall. At $5 a throw over 365 days of the year there's $1825 in Red Bull! Even halving that amount would make a massive impact financially. The blog was full of great ideas and I saw it as quite positive.

The other offered what the writer called the best financial tip ever, or some such thing. It essentially said earn more than you spend. It's reasonably sound advice I guess, however I believe the phrase is back to front. I believe in the spend less than you earn credo. There's a difference in the two. Let's investigate a little.

So, Miss Average has a job, a typical job like yours and mine, in an office for instance. Let's say she decides to earn more than she spends. Hmm, here's an issue right away. How does she do so? Ask the boss for another $10,000 a year? Not likely. Let's say, over a year, Miss Average spends $1500 on a coffee at the cafe per day, $2000 shopping on line, $1200 on gym membership, $2000 on brand-name makeup and cosmetics, and $1000 on subscriptions (Netflix, Spotify etc). That's $7700 a year. How does she simply earn more than she makes if she is on a set wage/salary at the office? A second job maybe?

Now take Miss Above Average who works in the same office doing the same job for the same remuneration. She read the first blog I mentioned and decided to curb some of her spending. She found cheaper makeup brands that do the same thing, she gets a small coffee each morning instead of a large, she stopped spending online and only uses cash to buy the same items at the store, (making it hurt more, so she shops less), she cancelled her gym membership and works out at the free gym in the local park, runs and hikes, and cancelled Spotify but retained Netflix. How much do you think she saved? A lot I reckon, but that amount doesn't matter, it's just an example.

You see, "earn more than you spend" doesn't really work; It's just not viable. "Spend less than you earn" certainly does though and we all have areas we can curtail spending. Yep, me included. It's about choices.

I have many clients, some on the poverty line of income, some well above and some so far above they can't even see the line! I was speaking to one some time ago, a few years actually. I asked him what advice he would give someone from a financial-growth perspective and you know what he said? He said..."Spend less than you earn". No surprises there I think.

So, if you're keen on some great tips take a look at the blog the new user @survivecollapse wrote. You can read it here and show him some love if you like what you see.

For me and my wife, Mr and Mrs Average for sure, we think about what we spend. We ask ourselves if there's another alternative, a cheaper option or a way to delay or indeed avoid spending in the first place. We have good jobs, and we have nice things but still, we think about it as one never knows what may be just around the corner. We think we have a good life and the areas we feel could be improved on relate to non-financial things like having more time with our family and little niece @smallsteps which of course actually relates to money as travel would be involved. But you get the idea. Life is not about things. It's not about want want want. Sure you can make it so; There's many banks and financial institutions that would be happy to take your 24% interest on that credit card but is it really worth it? You have to decide I guess.

My point? Well, spending is not always the best way to plan for your future as it's not always possible to simply earn more than you spend. Spending is a habit, wanting is a habit and so is saving. Your choice revolves around what habit you want to embrace.

Sort:  

Love this. I come from a family that has done so much with so little. I appreciate what I have but seeing my parents make it also makes me less sympathetic to the complaining many do when it comes to money. I know people can make it in America, it may take some sacrifice but you can do it and that is one belief that will never really change for me.

Great reply. Both my wife and I come get from humble backgrounds where there was usually only just enough to go around. Understanding the difference between want and need is a valuable skill, as is prioritizing the truly important things in life which aren't always the things we buy.

Yep. I still feel for those in need but since I come from a similar background I know they just aren't making the right decisions.

Compassion and empathy are most worthy emotions and one's I also feel. I am more passionate about empowering people to strive for the things they need, to find the ownership, responsibility and discipline they require to move forwards. Compassion and empathy are only the catalyst for action in my humble opinion and self-action is the best type.

Making a choice is one of the biggest decisions a person must take towards a better future, or one that moves them from one state of being to another.

I see you have a kind heart and that is admirable, commendable. I do also, but am never shy to push my ownership message. I have an ethos you may like:

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default.

I'm going to check out your blag and see what I see. Thanks for commenting @feelsomoon

Im my twenties I ran up a debt on a car I wanted. I had the best car but everyone else was heading away on holidays while I hd no life paying for the bloody thing. Never again I said. I am debt free now apart from a small mortgage but I can go off anywhere I want. The coffee or energy drink saving is a good point. I might do it myself as every day I buy two coffees so I may give up one. But at what point do you say stop in the way of saving. There was a guy on here that had a plan to retire when he is 48. He is 34 now. His sheet was black and white. On it was "no relationships ". I asked him about this and he said he didn't want to pay for restaurants and all the expenses to dating and marriage I suppose. I found this a bit much. So the best years of his life between 34 and 48 will be scrimping and saving and avoiding women at all costs in case they cost him some money. I dunno. I'd rather be broke and retiring at 75! Great post by the way. 1 coffee from now on. Straight into bitcoin to lose then 😂😂

Life is there to be lived of course and enjoyed. Applying some money saving techniques should enhance life not detract from it. Not having a coffee and cake each day may permit a small vacation later down the track for instance. It's all up to the individual. Some will just have to have that Mimco purse and will put on 24% interest credit to have it. Others won't. Choices. Not having a relationship because of the cost? Sounds materialistic and narcissistic to me. Loving money is always a one sided affair.

I much appreciate your reply.

Many years ago heard someone say that rich people have more money because they don't spend it on what they don't need. I think it was in response to someone complaint about another being a tight wad when they had so much money. Anyway, it's something that's always stayed with me.

A valuable concept to grasp early I think.

Great advice

Spend less than you earn" certainly does though and we all have areas we can curtail spending. Yep, me included. It's about choices.

The thing with money is that when it's available l, it tends to block our better sense of judgement...till its gone. I try to stick to the plan but am a little off it sometimes due to other responsibilities not directly involving me. I think we need to treat our financial lives as something like a do or die affair - with all sense of seriousness

We all get side-tracked from our ultimate goal; It's in knowing when it happens and adjusting that matters.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very true bud. Exactly where I am, buy what you really need only and you must really need it. The rest we simply go without and I find myself getting happier with less and even the stress levels drop as I am less consumed with this demon that chases so many to want want want. Earning more can be done by creating a passive second income, but you may have to save a little first in order to invest in such an endeavor and then there is steemit, a fun way to meet new people and start putting away some savings for the future.

True man. I think it's important to curb spending where possible. Look at ways to change wasteful habits etc. I know you know what I mean.

You got a 36.97% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87