Sort:  

Without a doubt, this is a very complex issue. My starting point would be that all three cultures — and everyone in between — as their starting point would benefit from dialing down their collective love affairs with the concept of "MORE" and instead falling in love with "ENOUGH."

"Expansion" is one thing — where expansion means sufficient that 101 people next year each have the same as 100 people each have this year — but vast majority of the world worships at the altar of eternal growth. "Growth" might be a nifty ideal, but it's ultimately unsustainable, like a great Cosmic Ponzi Scheme. As the simplest of illustrations, a married couple living alone in a 3000sf house that's too big for them don't need to "upgrade" to a 3500sf house that's even more too big for them simply because "they can." It's just an ego illusion that sells some bricks and lumber.

But then all the "freedom" marching in and want to have a discussion about rights and who gets to decide what, but it's really more an issue of voluntary collective resource awareness. We need to work on shedding the illusion that we are somehow "owed" some form of hedonistic luxury lifestyle here, and that our "worth" is somehow tied to that.

Of course, changing human nature is not easy. Moving from an idea that "two is better than one" to simply being happy with the one you have/need is akin to a quantum leap in our development.

Bright Blessings!

I think the problem you're pointing out is what I would refer to as the incorrect physical basis of the idea of "wealth." As soon as we start thinking of wealth in physical terms, this starts the endless pursuit of more for most people. Endless expansion can only work as a wealth of ideas, of solutions, of creativity and imagination that creates a better world for more people without needing to extract more from the Earth to do it.

Sadly, the common denominator amongst all three is greed.
My personal thoughts on the ideas of a tokenised society is that its more like a bartering system of yore, where we exchange services, thus cutting out the middleman taking a huge slice, re Central banks,and wealth should by default be shared more equally, especially in what are currently the more impoverished parts of the world.
What it seems like at the moment is that Crypto has simply become another arena for people to grab as much as they can as quickly as they can and feather their own nests.
Last years bitcoin pump and regression left a bitter aftertaste in my mouth as it was simply trading creating supply and demand, simple economics of a similar ilk to what created the crash of 2008. People gambling and trading nothing basically.
With every form of exchange, there needs to be intrinsic value, it used to be gold reserves that backed currency. Now with Crypto it should be proof of work or like on Steem, the much preferable proof of brain, but sadly right now, its become proof of wallet..again.
Until human attitudes change, crypto and tokenised exchanges will simply assimilate into the rest of the murky, financial instruments and we will be back at square one sadly.
Greedy bankers are simply being replaced by greedy geeks, and whats worse, is that the greedy geeks are hypocritically running on a ticket of liberty and freedom and higher moral values. The reverse is more probably true. At least with bankers, you know that all they care about is the cash and make no attempt to disguise it!
Hope you're having a fabulous weekend Indigo, love and best wishes to you and your loved ones :-)

There is actually a 4th culture I included in my video discussion of this that I left out in this written form. That is what I would call the Scavenger culture. They are not so much a separate culture in their own right, advancing some over-riding value system they have about what's best for the world that they're trying to impose on others, as the others are. There only concern it what's best for them personally, and they will use the methods presented by any of the other cultural systems to advance their interests.

You sum them up as being motivated by greed, and that's a lot of it. But it's important to realize that they don't actually represent any of the other cultures. They represent only what it means to be a human with no real values who's just trying to get over however he can. There are a lot of people like that.

But there are purists in each of these 3 cultures who truly believe that what they're doing helps and that in fact that it's what's best for the most people. As imperfect as we all are, their systems are also imperfect. Yet there are those genuine people in each of these cultures.

I'd put Warren Buffet as such a person among the Cowboys, despite how well he does using the tools of the Bankers. I'd put people like Elizabeth Warren as such a person among the Banker culture. She genuinely cares and believes in Neoliberalism being most helpful to the world's people. I would put Andreas Antanopolous as such a person among the Crypto Crowd, as well as all the people working at Omisego, or Stellar, or WePower and many other projects more focused on creating solutions than profiting off hype.

We have to find those rays of hope, and focus there, or we can be overcome by cynicism by focusing on the worst among us.

We do, I'm just old and world-weary sometimes! We see massive changes in attitude towards gender, race and whatever isms people can come up with which is amazing and some of the greatest triumphs in recent history, its uplifting beyond words. But then I see people still starving, homeless and wealth inequality is getting worse. It's the moral, ethical and absolute responsibility in a global community for those who 'have' and 'can' to protect those who 'haven't' and 'can't'.
I do like your scavengers analogy though. In my opinion, they are the Libertarian (or wumcrs as I prefer to call them) party. With these, my earlier exaggerated cynicism would be justified.
I have been having a trawl through your great website, but generally, I prefer to read rather than watch videos. An exception recently to that though being Sadhguru who I came across recently.

We have to find those rays of hope, and focus there, or we can be overcome by cynicism by focusing on the worst among us.

You are absolutely correct and thank-you for the reminder. The old fella just needs a little prod occasionally. but the merest mention of your brilliant name brings a smile anyway, it truly is the most uplifting name in the world!

I'm really hoping that the crypto tribe can gain momentum and work as a force to empower the billions that have been slowly disenfranchised over the last decades, or last century depending on how far back you want to look.

I think power distribution has a cyclical nature where it gets consolidated more and more to the detriment of the masses until the masses revolt(usually violently because no one gives up power without a fight historically). We're not there yet in America, but the writings on the wall.

I think crypto could be one of the first innovations in history to make power redistribution non-violent. Basically if enough people start using decentralized...well everything. It cuts out these middle men that are a huge factor in squeezing the wealth up to the top.

Yes, and so much of that possibility really comes down to education. Those that see the potential of crypto must let people hear what we have to say about it than they're hearing from the scavengers of crypto. (see my reply to Nathen on that.)

If crypto becomes associated with nothing but a Vegas/ponzi mentality, the public will support the government restricting it. But if it becomes associated with freedom and control over one's own money, then the people will fight the government restricting access to it.

I like your take on this and some of the words you're using - like "ever expanding". I think the same way but haven't put it in those words yet.

I see the centralised, old paradigm system, like a triangle (or pyramid..) and the new, decentralised one, like the flower of life. The other day I explained to a friend that the triangle is closed and limited (=profit for a few), while you can add unlimited layers to the flower of life (=wellbeing for all). That's how the "everexpansion" resonates with me.

Btw, Robert Kiyosaki has labels for your three "cultures":

Gold: God's money
Fiat: the government's money
Crypto: the people's money

I think it's time for people's money :)

I love your way of looking at this and your metaphors! I had no idea R.K. had those 3 cultures. what does he call them, if not cultures?

I read his Rich Dad, Poor Dad decades ago, but haven't kept up with him since. Good to hear he's talking about these things! He has a much bigger audience than me, but this conversation needs to be had. We need to see what's there before we can make conscious choices about what we want to contribute ourselves towards advancing.

Absolutely!! We need more voices for this!

I read his books ages ago, too, and then a few months ago I got curious and googled his name with cryptocurrencies :) I made this post back then: https://steemit.com/crpytocurrencies/@connecteconomy/are-cryptocurrencies-a-good-investment

His first choice is definitely Gold, but he recognises crypto as the "gold" for the new generation. I think he mentioned he bought a bit, but he leaves this up to the young people. Gold will not go away. Crypto will not go away either. But the US Dollar and other fiat money, hm.... ;)

Are you talking about his anywhere outside of Steemit? Could you post your links?

I did a video presentation on FB but don't post my FB stuff here on the blockchain. No privacy controls. But if you're on discord you can contact me there and I can give you a link to the video. I have the same name on discord as here.

I am on discord, but not really active, nor very familiar with it. I just tried to find you, but couldn't. Probably doing something wrong. Or maybe we need to be in the same group there?
If you can see if you can find me - I'd love to check the link. My name is also @connecteconomy there.

I can't seem to find you either for some reason. I usually just ctrl+k then type the handle, but you don't come up. My exact username is IndigoOcean#0384. Maybe try that?

By the way, he is on Steem, @robertkiyosaki, but sadly he hasn't posted beyond the initial post.

I have always believed that extremes and absolutes are never a good thing. In reading your post it almost feels we have been to extremes and the crypto tribe is trying to strike a balance which is where we should aspire. However, the forces of power in both polarities will make it difficult to get there quickly and without some tribes being impacted more than others.

You always have such a creative and insightful way of looking at things. I really appreciate that about you.

Yes, it could also be seen that the progression is the finding of an equilibrium culture as relates to bringing prosperity and well-being to the world's people, one that is not plagued by the polarization of the two previously dominant cultures. We swing left, we swing right, again and again, until eventually we stabilize at a balance point that integrates the opposites.

Initially all people were from the Cowboy culture, right?

At some point, some realized resources are limited and they created the Bankers culture. But they were initially from the Cowboy culture, as everyone else.

Supposing the Crypto culture will be better than the previous ones combined, as we wish for, logically would be that more from the other cultures to join it, until it becomes dominant.

After all we, you and I, are both from one of the previous cultures. But we chose to embrace the new culture.

I think so. I hesitate to speak for the other countries of the world, since every time I travel I'm surprised to see how different perceptions/assumptions are elsewhere. But it makes sense that all over the world we are making this progression.

I think the followers of each of these cultural factions may mature to keep evolving with the overall trend, but the leaders won't. Leaders want everything to stay such that they have the most power. The don't want to have to share power with other leaders. That's why they are the ones leading the people into cultural war, and stirring up trouble every time the people start getting along with those of other "tribes."

I like the way you think, and the perspective and summary-type style you use. Very interesting.

I love it!
I truly understand what you are saying and always look forward to seeing anything from you. I am dealing with the aftermath of storms here so my access to Steemit has been limited, so I got a lot if catching up to do on reading your posts.

Good to have you back around these parts, and to hear the storm has passed. Good luck with all the cleanup.

haha for some reason it reminded it me of a game. There are 3 sides-factions-crews choose one of them and start your new adventure conquering the world and becoming the richest man alive! :P

LOL! I think that really is the game those at the top of each of these groups is playing!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71