I am behind on so many things, I feel like a caveman...or a senior citizen...you name it

in #money6 years ago

It is really amazing how fast can you feel like you have missed stuff. The last couple of days Ive used these words a lot more than I have wanted:

Im not sure if I remember that
That wasnt here when I was here last time
Wait wait, start over....say what??

I would say that is normal when you live somewhere else. You miss social interaction. People move, get new jobs, have babies. Thats happens. If you are not part of the game, you miss crucial information sometimes.

But not on technological behalf


Image

This is what happened to me today. I went for a coffee with some friends. While paying the bill one of my friends says

oke, dont worry, I will send you a tikkie

Uhhhh a what??

A tikkie!!! You know payment through whatsapp that will go to internetbanking

Uhhhhh what??

Ow you really dont know this??

Uhhhhh no???

And there it was.


Image

I felt like granny playing patience because she doesnt know any other feature on her computer. I really had no idea what these people were talking about. So apparently it is an app, that will send your a whatsapp with a direct link on how much you still have to pay to your friend


Image

Things can not get any Dutcher than this!!!

As in Sint Martin we would always say with a bill. Are we paying equal or are we paying Dutch???
Meaning: Do we all pay $20. Or do you pay $17.67 and you $22.18 because you had a extra drink

To be honest I like this kinds of paying things, because there is always some cheap bastard who ALWAYS forgets his wallet. This will prevent that. My friend who sent me the tikkie isnt a cheap bastard, neither am I. We just always split bills, this is a normal thing for us and actually this thing is damn perfect! (and it worked flawless in 2.1 seconds)

But everybody is talking about it like it is the most normal thing. And I had no clue until today. I felt stupid

Next example


Image

Contact free payment

If a payment is smaller than $25 you can swipe your card to the machine without touching it, without putting a pincode, and without signing anything.

Shady as in security wise, but daaaaaamn so convenient

Im hearing all these golden oldies on the good old market are paying like this, and again this is all new to me?????
How could this have happened? Did island life but me back so much in time??? Did I just never bother improving my knowledge??

Im such a modern madame into crypto and blockchains and all of that.

But all these normale payment things are mumbojumbo????? FAWKKKK!! Maybe I am not so modern after all

This post was made on masdacs which allows you to crosspost on Steemit, the Whaleshares page and Golos. With only one button click posting on three pages at the same time. Cool right??

Sort:  

Funny! But don't feel bad I'm still trying to figure out Morse code. In the meantime I have to keep the messenger pigeons ready to deliver mail later today.

hahahh... well it feels like i have been living that kind of style the last couple years!

realllly adjusting at this moment :D

Well, like I said, didn't know it either. But hey, we have a good excuse too as we left the country lol. Asked my boyfriend before he went to sleep. He never heard of this either :) So : gedeelde smart is halve smart! lol!

tikkie, jij bent um

My folks at home here said that this app took storm over the last couple of months so it is very reasonable that i misse it. but still feels strange hahaha

yeah, us foreigners have no idea in the end ;)

I am afraid I am out of step too. We have not lived in Canada for almost 20 years. Wow! The changes. I felt like Alice in Wonderland. When we first moved to Nicaragua, it was like stepping back in time 60 years...

Same for me...

oow stand in line to pay a bill? whuuttt....id never do that i thought

now i wanted to drop by civil registry here, and everybody said to me, make an appointmed first! oyeah, appointments..that is how civilisation works! haha

you would also need some adjustment time for sure

In France, a lot of people pay their bill at the supermarket or any other store still with a check. You have to write the amount on it and sign it and identify yourself with your identity card or drivers license. It takes a lot of time and every time I wonder why they still do this in France. But each country, each island, has its own rules. Let's enjoy it!

technology and creativity will dominate the future, who is not ready Will be crushed

i guess im not ready dude ;)

that might turn into an issue haha

I know exactly what you mean, when I arrived here a few years ago I felt lost😅
But it's kind of cool the way things are moving on. I like the contactless payment is so fast and efficient.

I really also like the contactless payment, but I can imagine for you even more than is was more challenging.

I knew these things were happening without me being there, but if you get 'dumped' in there all of a sudden its damn overwhelming haha!

I can imagine, hey I am organizing a Meetup in Holland next month. You're welcome to join!

Oe sounds cool! Depending on when it is i might join! Up and down in the next couple of weeks, so can not guarantee anything as yet :)

Ok great, will keep you posted 👊🏾

swiping to pay the bill I have seen I do not like it, I do not trust it :-) And tikkie I never heard of it! so you are not on your own! although in Belgium we wll call things differently, but I do not know the habbit. We can pay with banccontact on a app, but it has no fancy name.

Ow I trust this..especially since my friends was standing next to me sending it. So that was all very resonable. Im not that 'achterdochtig' ..if it works it works hehe

Hahaha, nice post @karinxxl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73