Do money offer inner happyness?

in #money5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

I think happiness is about what your expectations are of life vs reality. Some people are happy with who they are and what they have because they don't expect more. While if you constantly keep thriving for more you will never be satisfied. Because you are not in life where you want to be and never will.

I had the opportunity to basically travel the whole world from a very young age. (Because of my fathers international business) This is something i noticed while visiting other countries. In my country Belgium people are very materialistic and they keep wanting more and more. They don't seem that happy. But when i go on vacation to India people are really happy and friendly. They seem to enjoy life more even they have less money than the Europeans. It's because they don't think that materialistic.

That having said, no money can't buy you happiness but you need a certain amount of money to be happy. I think nobody likes to live in poverty. And off course it's nicer to drive a new car than an old beaten up car. But do you really need a lambo?

The thing about money is, you can use it to buy pleasures but not happiness. They are not exactly the same. Because the pleasures they can never fill up the empty feeling of your existence!

It also depends on what you are used to. It's like people who win the lottery, at first they are very happy. But after a while that effect wears of and their life goes back to normal. Because they get used to being rich, it's not anything special anymore.

I can give you kind of an example of that. Looking back at my childhood damn i had a good life. I used to drive around with motorcycles and karts in my fathers factory when i was a kid. At a certain point i had almost 15 motorcycles and every weekend me and my friends used to race against each other. But did it really make me more happy? I think 1 motorcycle would been enough. Because you can only use 1 at the time. I would probably be unhappy when i had no motorcycle but 15 where just to much for me. It was a little excessive. I think people who own a lot of sport cars feel the same way. If it's really your dream to own 1 it might make you happier. But excessive things won't. And you get used to it really fast. 



Sort:  

Money offers a peace of mind and choices. Unless someone has attained inner peace within himself/herself, true happiness cannot be reached.

Congratulations @niel96! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You had my own experience: about 30 years ago, when I visited Thailand for the first time, I realized that people who lived with a dollar a day were definitely happier than me, "rich" western tourist. ;)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, mate!

A huge hug
from @amico!

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (17.86%)
Summoned by @niel96
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70