Senior DiscountssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #money5 years ago (edited)

image

Source

Yesterday I telephoned one of my utility companies to inquire about switching my payment date to the same date as the rest of my bills. This particular bill is always due at an odd time and sometimes I forget to pay it.

After talking with the representative and she determined that I was a senior citizen, she said that I could come in and show my drivers license and get my billing date switched and that I also would not have to pay late fees if I was ever late because I am a senior.

Well this was music to my ears and was the second time this week I learned about additional senior citizen discounts available in my area.

If you live in the States and are at least 55, there are many discounts from food establishments, retailers, airlines and other companies who offer discounts, but do not necessarily advertise them.

Some companies require you to be at least 62 or 65 and the percentages vary and have different stipulations, including being offered only on certain days of the week.

Travel Discounts
Southwest, United, Alaskan, Hawaiian, U.S. Airways, American West, and American Airlines all offer discounts to seniors.

Amtrak, Greyhound and Trailways Transportation System offer discounts if you are traveling by rail.

If you are traveling and staying overnight, Marriott and Hyatt Hotels, Holiday Inn, Best Western, Comfort Inn, Comfort Suites and Travelodge offer an array of discounts to seniors.

Many of the well-known car rentals also offer discounts, including Alamo, National, Avis, Budget and Enterprise.

Food and Retail
There are almost too many retail companies to list, but here is a list that I found for the Texas area. The best thing to do is to Google your state to fine discounts or to just simply ask.

Zoe‘s Kitchen near my home offers discounts to seniors. I regularly eat there at least once a week for several years, but just learned this week that this discount was available.

If you are a senior, check out the discounts in your area to help stretch your dollar.

image

Image Enhanced by Adobe Spark

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70