Money or passion - what are you after?

in #money6 years ago (edited)

adult-beard-business-845451.jpg

I talked several times about both passion and money. I always considered money to be a good motivator, and I never judged anyone who worked on something out of desire to have more. I also think working out of passion is great and people who do that have high chances of succeeding, even if that's not their intention at first.

But I do believe that when you want to start doing something, knowing exactly why you are doing that thing and, most importantly, what you want to achieve, is pretty important, at least at first.

For example, in my case, I started freelancing out of passion. That was my first motivation. I didn't like the conventional job system, I didn't want to have a boss that would constantly tell me what to do and I hated the idea of living my life paycheck to paycheck, constantly being stressed that I may lose my job and I won't be able to pay my bills.

However, while my initial motivation was passion, and I really like what I do, my objective right now is to make as much money as I possibly can. I have no interest in being rich - I want to live decently, to buy (or rent) my own place and live without worries. If I can stop working by the time I'm 40 or 50, that's even better.

Knowing all that helps me figure out the strategy I want to approach when doing certain things. You can take my work on Graphic River or Creative Market as an example - I enjoy doing that, but not always, and I don't love it. It's just something nice that I do to get some money at the end of the month.

However, if you look at everything I do, I don't think there's anything there that I'm really proud of, something that I can say "look, I made this!!!!", because every package is made in such a way that it's fit for purchase. Simple photo effects or backgrounds that can be used by some people who want something like that.

I upload fairly often, I try my best to create high quality stuff, but I do everything for money and that's it. In comparison, I'm writing because I like it, and even tho I'm here to make money as well, I don't shape my articles in order to achieve that goal, because I just want to write cool stuff. Money is a secondary thing.

Because of that I can focus all my attention on coming up with new topics, finding all kind of ways to discuss about my opinions or thoughts, or even try to find nice things that could teach you something, like new information, videos, websites, etc.

Another example of this could be learning Blender - I do it because I want to create cool stuff in the future. Because of that I will learn whatever I can to make good looking things, and to even create fan made elements for games like The Witcher 3.

However, a person who'd want to learn how to use Blender to make money would ask for advice and would learn exactly what he or she would need to get a job as fast as possible in the 3D industry.

That's why I believe people should know why they start doing something, and what their end goal could be. There are scenarios when a person could start doing something out of passion and have money as their main goal. For example, an artist who loves to draw and started doing it out of passion could focus all his or her attention on working for others and get paid for it.

Same thing applies for some people who want to learn Blender - they start because they think creating 3D elements is a nice thing, and they learn what they need to be able to use the software, but if their main end goal is to make money, then they'll use their passion to learn what's needed to get a job as soon as possible.

Know why you start working and what's your reason to do what you do. Don't be ashamed of it, and use that reason to make sure you approach things the way you want and go directly for your goal rather than trying all kind of things because you don't know what to do first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71