mono chrome monday — past present perfect



The great eventful Present hides the Past;
but through the din of its loud life
hints and echoes from the life behind steal in.
John Greenleaf Whittier

ISO 200 | f/5 | 1/100s

Every age has a keyhole to which its eye is pasted.
Mary McCarthy, On the Contrary

ISO 100 | 135mm | f/9 | 1/160s

Take from the altars of the past the fire - not the ashes.
Jean Jaures

ISO 100 | 135mm | f/9 | 1/50s



photos by

Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm | 55mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018



Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the Monochrome Monday photo challenge.


Sort:  

Love them all! Curious about the middle shot!!

Me too.....I'm not sure what it is. It was hanging from a pole on one side of the street to another. I rotated the photo so it would look fancy in the frame. I think it might have something to do with film production - maybe holding wires?? Dundas is often used in films and tv shows.

I love the mood in these ones, Deb. They all give a sense of isolation and loneliness. In the second photo, the way the wire splits the frame in two is ❤️

Thanks Dan! Glad you like my photos. I like to hear your interpretations.

Great photos to tell your story. I love the raindrops on the fence, great details @countrygirl. So are the windstorms over? John said they were over 100 mph winds! That is scary! Hopefully no damage to your home. Take care!

Oh my goodness....those winds!!!! They got to 126km (78mph). It was tough being able to stand. No damage to the home at all, thankfully. We have a very solid brick house, but we've been woken up by hammering the last couple of mornings - roofers!! Many people are re shingling.

Thank you @birdsinparadise.

Oh wow. These are great shots! I'm such a noob when it comes to photography and appreciate the stats below the photos. Right now I've been keeping preset settings and just changing presets based on what I see and what I want. I will eventually learn how to dial in manual settings and get the best shot possible like it seems you have :)

Do you mean with post editing or presets on your camera?

I'm referring to settings on the camera itself mostly :)

I've just recently come off of auto pilot....and I shoot mostly in aperture priority mode. I feel I can handle things better with this one.

Nice droplets on that first pic. And, for some reason the word Google popped into my head when I first saw the second image ;-)

Yes!!! lol.....mine to but I thot I had been on the internet too much :)

I recognize those rings! Hehe They still look like some strange attempt at shower curtain hooks. Great composition on the angle like that, though!

What are they growing in the field behind that fence? It looks like whatever it is is flourishing spectacularly. Our farmers just got their corn planted about a week ago, and it's barely peeking out of the ground.

You're so smart!!! I rotated them and was going to use the photo in the b&w photo contest for geometric shapes but changed my mind. I still don't know what they were for unless maybe a film production - Dundas is used quite a bit for tv series and movies.

The field photo was taken just at the beginning of March I think....so what you are seeing is dry stuff.....probably corn or hay cut down....I'm making it up bc I don't know :) lol.

Plants are just starting to grow here too....my garden is finally showing signs of real growth, just in a couple of days.

Ha, well it does look rather unkempt on second glance. Here, the farmers seem to generally till the fields before winter sets in.

I'm glad to hear your gardent's started growing! I couldn't find a garden plot, so I'll have to frequent the farmers market and steal crops from my parents' garden.

I agree that in each age you look from a different window. Each one leaves its traces that are added after each keyhole through which we have looked.

I like how you've interpreted this theme. Very nicely done @marynet :)

oh my goodness - each one is so lovely. That first one is really special though! I love seeing the raindrops hanging!!!!
I think these are lonely pictures! that's how they make me feel - but.... that's not always a bad thing. It's kinda like watching asad movie with the intent of making you cry. Catharsis is good sometimes :)

@irreverent-dan thought they were lonely too. That's the beauty of black and white. The viewer can interpret easier than if in color.

I just saw them as linear. Past and present as a constant. I know, deep. ;)

There is something so isolating about mono that I have a love/hate relationship with.

I love that window shot and its tattered look.

You have a love/hate relationship with monochrome ?? Is that what you mean? I did too....I mean, I enjoyed reviewing other people's photos but sometimes felt they were "dark" and "moody" but then I grew to like them once I started editing mine. They seem to take on a totally different story.

The window, yes! I like that too. But then I enjoy anything aged - that's my excuse for being "there".

All the photos are special. I like your approach to this challenge as a photo challenge. Probably this is and I realize only now that I didn't understand from the beginning.

Oh....because of the title you mean? Past present perfect? Is that what you found confusing at first? I always come up with some lyrical kind of title....sometimes it doesn't make sense to anyone but me :) hehe.

Thank you for your kind comments and support @bluemoon. I appreciate it.

Using unusual titles is extremely interesting, I like that much, I try but I cannot do that well. It's a pleasure to know you and thanks for the appreciation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84