Monochrome Monday - Salt Mine


Wieliczka Salt Mine


Here are my Monochrome Monday photos which were taken at the Wieliczka salt mine, just outside Krakow, Poland.

The mine is famous for it's many chapels which are carved from the salt and contain reliefs, benches, alters and even a chandelier.

The miners were underground for weeks at a time and created these places so they had somewhere for their worship and to pass the time

I found the whole experience of visiting them to be both uplifting and awe inspiring.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Chapel Niche Carved In Salt

salt niche.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Lamps Used Within The mine and now in the Museum

miners lamps.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Salt Encrusted Piller

salt pillar.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!



Thanks to @old-guy-photos for this fun initiative.

Sort:  

Love the shrine. I would be fascinated by the lamps but thats the mechanical side of my mind

Yeah. The whole thing is very impressive @steven-patrick. 😊

That looks like a fascinating place to visit. The old lamps are a good show of period equipment. I certainly wouldn't have wanted to be a miner...

It really was well worth the trip @fotosdenada.

I wouldn't have wanted to be a miner either but mining salt, apparently was a lot better than mining coal or tin etc. Breathing in the salt actually had a positive effect on health rather than a negative one.

It is amazing what people will do. They never cease to amaze me. Great find @gillianpearce it must have been a tough life for those miners.

It's well worth a visit if you ever get the opportunity @molometer.

I'll do another post at some point with some more pictures.

Looks like an amazing art!Thanks for sharing, @gillianpearce

It is very unusual @madlenfox.

The chandeliers carved from salt were my favourite. I think I posted a photograph of one when I was new on Steemit. I should probably post it again now I have some followers! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73