Monochrome Monday – Finding Hope

I was being a bit lazy today so no Actifit post but...

For #monochromemonday as started by @old-guy-photos I would like to post this black and white picture that Google Photos made of a photo I took of a small stream:

20190831_151614EFFECTS_sized.jpg
A small stream near where we camped

Sometimes it feels to me like black and white photography simplifies things. I can picture the stream looking very much like it might have looked a hundred years ago. We can hope that the stream will look very much the same in the next hundred years.

Lots of things are changing very rapidly though. The future looks very uncertain. In a way that very uncertainty is something to be hopeful about.

We don’t know what the economy will do. Many people are very worried about the deficit spending of many countries around the world. Environmental and social pressures are forcing many people to move from their homes to other locations. Places where farming was traditionally done are no longer producing food. Some banks are turning to negative interest as central banks keep lowering interest rates and doing quantitative easing. So called safe assets like bonds don’t seem really that safe any more.

Perhaps this economic uncertainty could have people looking for other safe haven assets to invest in. Hopefully one of those assets could be Steem and the price could go up. (I’m often buying little chunks of Steem so this is not exactly an unbiased hope for me, lol)

Many places that you look, unless you are a Pollyanna optimist it is difficult to find hope.

Parts of the world appear to be becoming uninhabitable through sea level rise, temperature extremes, flooding and storms. Rebuilding structures and adding sea walls in some of these areas many not be a productive use of resources at this time. I think we are seeing a partial collapse of services in many places.

How can this be hopeful?

The present way we are doing things has not worked well for many people and something has to change. The very physics of the situation makes it so - yet people are very slow to change unless change is thrust upon them.

There are many solutions out there to many of the issues we face and people are very resourceful. Uncertainty is in our favor and who knows, perhaps tomorrow someone will discover a room temperature super conductor or some other game changing technology. Maybe societies will become a lot more cooperative with each other and find better more efficient methods of utilizing resources.

Perhaps we really don’t know what the future will bring. Somehow I find this hopeful.

There is an old Zen story that relates somewhat to the this: The Zen Master, The Boy, & The Horse


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The picture was taken by me with my Galaxy S9+ and modified in software. Text and graphics copyright lightsplasher & litesplasher.

Sort:  

Well it is real nice to see you do a MM! The world is surely a complex and uncertain place. There is so much sadness and suffering in so many places, it can be rather bleak and hard to deal with. I sure dont have all or any of the answers. As bad as it is, if you look at longevity, things are greatly improved from times past. As crazy as American society is today, it is hard to argue we are not in a better place though than say 200 years ago when slavery was an accepted way of life for so many right here in the US.

Funny I too find the lack of knowing the future as a good thing. I really liked your Zen story. It actually brought a skit to my mind. I share it with respect and just in hopes of levity. It shows when one thinks something is bad, it can actually be good and vice versa... Classic Hee Haw with Archie Campbell and Roy Clark. I think of it often when a situation seems so one sided. Hope you like it :)

That's a funny skit - I remember that show. As I recall my parents were more into it than I was at that time. I was more of a Monty Python fan back then. I wonder what I would think of it if I watched a few of the shows now.

Well they may look technically a bit dated as far as the technology at the time, but I bet the lessons or message are every bit as strong. :)

Parts of the world appear to be becoming uninhabitable through sea level rise, temperature extremes, flooding and storms.

With the way things are going, I won't have to move to the coast to get some beaches, in a couple of decades I'll have coast right next to my house...

I trully think that once we develop AI well enough she will be able to fix most of our problems by predicting and managing most of our assets and by new research done by her

Hi @lightsplasher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.647 which ranks you at #1783 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 93 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04