Monochrome Monday - Cool details

Monochrome Monday - Cool details

This is a post for Monochrome Monday hosted by @old-guy-photos A challenge I try to join as often as I can, the other challenges he hosts are Sepia Saturday and Tree Tuesday, all fun challenges and worth checking out.

For this weeks post, I was looking through my recent photos and came across some shots I had taken of some of the details on the Sherry_netherland Hotel on 5th Ave and 59th Street that I thought would work well in Mono.

This first shot is a clock that have in front of the hotel, and you can see a lamp in the background that also caught my eye.

1 Monochrome Monday Sherry netherland.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger



So I had to go and look closer at the lamp, this shot looking up at it, and I noticed not only was the lamp coog but so was the support it was one

1 Monochrome Monday Sherry netherland-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 45mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 250
Click here to view larger


So I moved back and got this on the whole feature, and is the first shot I thought of that would work well in mono, and lead to doing them all in Mono

1 Monochrome Monday Sherry netherland-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 128mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And did you notice the top of the lamp mounting thingy, a Gargoyle, now I know @enginewitty likes to see them so I have to tag him

1 Monochrome Monday Sherry netherland-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 208mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


And now it is time to finish off this post, and yes that is a silly pun to lead into my last shot and back to the clock, and going with a blue and white mono shot as I often do

1 Monochrome Monday Sherry netherland-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F6.3 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.7644448 lat -73.972918 long Sherry-Netherland Hotel 5th Ave d3scr

Sort:  

Really great photos! I've walked past that clock many times back in the days before I ever even thought about taking photos! I'm so glad that you are there to show me all the things I missed out on!

I have to admit I have past by it so many times myself and only this time did I think of taking photos of it :)

I'm glad you did. I'm sure I never noticed all the detail before. I was always on the way to somewhere else!

I was normally heading to or from the park, and in a rush also, this day I had some extra time ;)

Is that near where the carriages line up for rides through the park?

Yes that’s right they are down or up 59th street mine you the time I go there these days none are around yet

Ahhh, good memories!

I am trying to remember if I have ever taken a ride on one of those carriages I am not sure i have, Maybe I should do it one day before i leave the city

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the resteem

These are beautiful street/architectural shots. They really deliver you to an idealized place, JJ:):):)A pleasure to inhabit them, so to speak:)

Thanks Kindly, I do love finding old style things like this inthe city :)

These are so great! I love how the monochrome makes them look even more antique. Wonderful architectural details!

Thanks Kindly I love finding cool things like this in the city and these zones jus called for a mono edit to give a timeless feel to them :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monochrome-monday-cool-details


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@tattoodjay great pictures, I find some of my photos I go back to look great when changed to mono as well. It's fun taking photos and changing them to make new interesting scenes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks and yes its fun to go back and do different styles of edits with photos come can come out far better than you ever would imagine them to be

Historic, cool objects, grest edits. How to make a photo look, cool....see tattoodjay.

Everything had so much class versus the 'style' we have today.

Thanks andI agree they had such class and style back then, focusing on cool details rather than technical fancyiness if that makes sense

It does make sense. Outdo the next guy. Add as many modern gadgets as possible, depersonalize and streamline.

I guess it makes sense to the designers but not so much to me or maybe I am just getting old, I just like the old times styles and detail

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @rebeccabe!

@rebeccabe wrote lately about: 3 Magic Words Feel free to follow @rebeccabe if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It is wonderful how old things are saved in NY resteeming!

Thanks kindly and yes that is the cool thing in NYC stylish old things like these

Thanks kindly and yes that is the cool thing in NYC stylish old things like these

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28