Monochrome Monday St Marys Church

Monochrome Monday Looking Up

This is a post for Monochrome Monday hosted by @old-guy-photos A challenge I try to join as often as I can, the other challenges he hosts are Sepia Saturday and Tree Tuesday, all fun challenges and worth checking out.

For this weeks post, I am going back to St Mary's in Long Island City which I shared some shots of the statues in my Sepia Saturday Post

Its not a huge church but is quite beautiful and classy I think, and with the colors on the street I felt a mono shot gave it the best justice, I went back to my Blueish style of B&W for this one

1 Monochrome Monday St Marys Chirch.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I took this shot looking up the Spire and showing of the cool brickwork detail on the church

1 Monochrome Monday St Marys Chirch-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 32mm F8 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And finishing off with a shot of one of the Doors which make shtis post also fit the Disctinctive Doors tag started by myself. I went with a sepia sort of Mono for this one, it just seemed to work for this shot.

1 Monochrome Monday St Marys Chirch-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 30mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.766913 lat -73.973792 long Central Park NYC d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks I do appreciate the support and resteem

I have always and forever been in awe of the big churches back East. So many Cathedrals in this predominantly Catholic part of the country.

I had always gone to a big, old church back in Connecticut, but, now I get to go to one here. :)

Perhaps that is why it feels like home. :)

I do like the blue, as you know, I have always been a fan of it, but, like you, I also like to mix it up for fun. It used to be that churches were never locked up, but, that was back when people thought it was a sin to steal from them.

Sigh... Oh, the times have changed.

!tip

when I first came across locked up churches I was shocked to be honest, now I am used to them but it still feels so wrong to me

I do love the old churches and cathedrals, speaking of which isnt it devastating what happened to Notre Dame so sad to watch

You probably know me well enough to know I always did so much blue and White for my monos, but now I mix it up a lot, but still slip back to the blues now and again :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monochrome-monday-st-marys-church


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks Kindly :)

That is a pretty impressive church. I have always thought it would be cool to attend a church like this. I have been going to the same one for over 40 years, but it is still a relatively new building compared to this one.

I would have loved to ave seen what it was like inside but as with many of the churches here they are locked at the time I go there in my morning walks

This colour makes the photo looking quite spooky! Could be a shot in the Lord of the Ring!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for your take on this :)

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You made more than 63000 comments. Your next target is to reach 64000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @tattoodjay!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.081 which ranks you at #1069 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 34 places in the last three days (old rank 1103).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I like the blue tinge too. Nice shots, Jay:)

Thanks I used to always do blue and white for my mono now I try and mix it up 😎

Great monochrome shots once again. Great sky on the first picture giving a nice mood to the whole picture.

Posted using Partiko Android

ThanksI was lucky indeed with nice skies in that first shot :)

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: How Do You Want To Be Remembered? Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81