Monochrome Monday - The Old Tower

Monochrome Monday - The Old Tower

This is a post for Monochrome Monday hosted by @old-guy-photos A challenge I try to join as often as I can, the other challenges he hosts are Sepia Saturday and Tree Tuesday, all fun challenges and worth checking out.

For this weeks entry, I actually have some recent shots from a week or two ago and did not have to go and dig through my archives, and share some shots of the old tower in Downtown Milford.

1 Monochrome Monday the old tower-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 34mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I have shared a few shots of this tower before but its such a cool landmark downtown I had to get some new shots while walking around downtown.

1 Monochrome Monday the old tower.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F7.1 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Not only is the tower cool as seen on the first shot but it has some cool detail, like this door handle on the little door on the tower, I have no idea what is in the tower and behind this door, but the handle is pretty cool

1 Monochrome Monday the old tower-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 67mm F7.1 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Now you may have noted I called it a door handle and that's what I thought it was, but if your more observant than me you may have noted its actually a knocker and not a door handle.
I discovered that when I stopped to read this little sign beside it on the walk.

What the sign says is, This Knocker is from the House on the porch of which in 1740 George Whitfield preached to the Nucleus Plymouth Church.
Majors David Baldwin & Edward Allen (Officers in the Canadian Wars) afterward occupied the house
The gift of Chow Beardsley representative for Milford in its 250th year &the present owner of the house.

And here ends this post, I hope your week is starting well.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.222655 lat -73.055641 long Downtown Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

I love your shoots the first one is wonderful and the details and wood texture on the second one is awesome. 👍🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for your visit and kind words truly appreciated

Nucleus Plymouth Church <<<< I think this is a very strange name for an old church. I have rarely seen this word except in reference to science before.

YEs I did wonder about that myself I have never seen that term either

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That is a really cool tower. It reminds me of some of the old stone buildings that we saw when I was a kid in Newport, RI. They have some very interesting structures there as well as the mansions on the cliff walk.

I have only driving through NewPoert but it is a place I plan to visit sometime i have hear dthere is so much to see there

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 29500 replies. Your next target is to reach 30000 replies.
You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

awesome shots, and including the detail is amazing

Thanks Kindly ;) Have a great day

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monochrome-monday-the-old-tower


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow The tower looks very amazing, great guesses with attractive color and Hopefully you will succeed in the contest ... my friend 😍

Thanks Kindly and have a great day

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 8.55% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Very interesting bit of history to go with cool photos

Thanks I do love this old Tower its one of the things that caught my eye when I first drove through this city and part of what made me fall in love with the city and move here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80