📷 first steps with GIMP: bw portrait (original AND edited) (en/de)

in #monomad5 years ago

The process...

Hello Steemians, as you know I am into photography since quite a while. It is so much fun to learn how to handle the camera and also to edit the photos after a shooting. Unfortunately I don't have Photoshop and so I am forced to use GIMP, the open source program. Of course GIMP is more limited in its functions, but the program does its job and I am happy to work with it. The following photo was easy to edit - not like other I posted before. I just loaded the original image where the model stands in front of a black background, which has a slight opacity. The quality isn't very good and I am seriously thinking about to buy a super heavy black molton for future shooting. However, I wanted to create a black and white portrait and so I went to the Menu "Colors" and chose "Desaturate" - I took the option "Luminosity". The background still was irregular and I wanted it darker. So I went to the Menur "Colors" and chose "Brightness-Contrast" and their I increased the contrast. I played a little bit with the options and the edited image was done. Next time I try to present you a more complex editing. Thanks for tuning in and you attention! All the best, Martin

Der Prozess...

Hallo Steemians, wie ihr wisst bin ich seit einiger Zeit ziemlich beim Fotografieren und interessiere mich dafür. Es macht ziemlich Spaß die Schüsse zu machen und die Fotos danach zu bearbeiten. Leider hab ich kein Photoshop und so bin ich gezwungen auf GIMP auszuweichen, das open-source Programm. Auch wenn GIMP im Gegensatz zu Photoshop doch etwas begrenzter in seinen Funktionen ist, so reicht es definitv aus und es macht dennoch Spaß damit zu arbeiten und immer wieder neue Sachen zu lernen. Das folgende Foto war leicht zu bearbeiten, nicht wie andere, die ich auch schon gepostet hab. Ich lud das Originalbild in das Program, wo das Model vor einem schwarzen Hintergrund steht, der allerdings etwas durchsichtig ist. Leider ist die Qualität nicht die Beste und ich ziehe es ernsthaft in Erwähnung mir ein besseres schwarzes und undurchsichtiges Molton zuzulegen. Wie auch immer... Da ich das Bild in schwarzweiß machen wollte, ging ich zum Menü "Colors" unter "Desaturate" und wählte dabei "Luminosity" aus. Da ja der Hintergrund etwas durchsichtig ist, ging ich wieder unter "Colors" zum Punkt "Brightness-Contrast" und erhöhte den Kontrast, was das gesamte Bild dunkler gestaltete. Das wars. Nicht spektakulär. Beim nächsten Mal versuche ich einen komplexeren Vorgang darzustellen. Danke fürs Reinschauen, alles Beste, Martin



The original image


Shot was taken with: an Olympus OM-D EM5 Mark II and Zuiko digital TOP Pro 12-40mm


Have a great day!

Join my Fanbase on SteemAuto to support my content consistently (Click Here) and register to be my follower. I would appreciate it! THANKS FOR THE SUPPORT!



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75