Monomad Vandalism

in #monomad6 years ago


Shoreham Footbridge Vandalised Glass


In November 2013 a new footbridge was opened that connects Shoreham High Street to Lower Beach Road on Shoreham Beach.

Whilst taking photographs of the bridge today I noticed that a few of the glass panes had been vandalised and, although such acts of wanton destruction are very annoying, I couldn't help but take advantage of it as a photo opportunity.

I thought the texture in the glass and the little boats and far shore behind made a great entry to @brumest's daily monomad contest.

(You can find out more by visiting @monchromes).

qsm5ju8t9y.jpg

This is one of those photographs where you really need to click on the link to view it larger to get the full effect. 😁

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This is what the whole bridge looks like.

0yc3e9pkm9.jpg

It provides a useful link for pedestrians, cutting about 1.5 miles off the alternative route if you walked via the main roads.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

vandals tried to destroy. they accidentally created. haha I like the photo even knowing how it came to be.

Ugh, vandals... Nice job with the photo, though! At least it's not covered with those "love locks." That's a fad that can go away anytime. Maybe the glass was there to prevent locks, and someone got upset?

I know what you mean about those "love locks" @fotosdenada. I thought there were really fun the first time I saw them but now they are becoming an eye sore and the whole idea has gotten very stale.

I wonder will be the first authority to remove them. 😊

Yeah... People were doing that on Ronda's ancient stone bridges. Not cool. Hopefully some other cute, creative idea will come along to copycat.

Or people will leave them alone, particularly in places like Rhonda, to their natural beauty @fotosdenada. 😁

That picture makes it look like it was always meant to be that way :)

It wouldn't be much of view if it was @viruk! 😁

True - but it makes an impressive picture :)

That's what I say, we should always see the good side of any situation. fabulous photo, Gillian!
Vandalism was non-existent in East Timor. But now I see it's here too. How come people have pleasure in destroying...?

How come people have pleasure in destroying...?

I can sort of understand in the case of glass like that, that it might be quite interesting to see the fissures developing across the glass although I doubt the vandals had that in mind.

It's all so mindless. I don't get it either @nolasco. It's the same with littering. I don't get that either.

Neither do I... :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74