As The Steam Clock Whistle Blows Nine

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

Tourists line up to take photos of the steam-powered clock in Vancouver's Gastown District.

I wanted to capture the overall feeling of the scene, and for me, that meant I had to include the other photographers. I moved around lining things up... I thought it was cool to see the image on the back of the guy's camera.

Nine o'clock approached and we all waited... finally the whistle played the Westminster chimes, and then nine blasts to count out the hour. I know I've mentioned this before: Every time I go to Water Street, it rains!

Fuji X100S, 1/60 second, f/5.6, ISO 6400

DSCF5157-Edit-Edit.jpg

Here is the full-colour version.

DSCF5157-Edit.jpg

This photo is for the #monomad Tuesday Street photography contest by @monochromes.

TOPICS LIST :

  • Monday - Macro
  • Tuesday - Street
  • Wednesday - Abstract
  • Thursday - Animals
  • Friday - Flowers
  • Saturday - Silhouettes
  • Sunday - Skies
Sort:  

Congratulations, @keithboone. This shot got you the first place in this week's #monomad Street challenge. Thanks for participating!

Thank you very much @monochromes, it's a great honour!

The only time I see Water Street is in your photos, and I wouldn't recognize it if it wasn't wet! Love this! Resteeming and tip!

Thanks so much, Melinda! I wouldn't recognize it in the sunshine myself! haha :)

Thats such a cool clock and a great shot

Thanks very much, I'm happy you like it! :)

hahaha......great minds.....except it didn't rain for me.....it was going to but it didn't.

Your photo looks great in both color and b&w.

Thank you very much @countrygirl. :) I'm not kidding about the rain. Here's a shot from my very first visit. I had a tiny little point and shoot camera, probably about 3 Megapixels and I was just getting interested in digital photography - taken in 2009.

Water Street.jpg

Lovely photography, great sit!

Thank you very much!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Terrific pictures. I’ve never seen a steam powered clock. I didn’t even know there was such a thing. :D

Thanks a lot, it's a very cool thing. Check out the sound it makes:

That’s kind of eerie…

But, still way cool!

Hey, I saw you upvoted it – I’d appreciate your critique of the first chapter of my SciFi WIP, The Time It Takes To Die. https://steemit.com/story/@momzillanc/the-time-it-takes-to-die-a-scifi-wip

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: My New Friend! Photofriend Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73