Friday Night On Cannon Beach #Monomad

in #monomad6 years ago

This is an older photo, recently reprocessed. When I originally made this photo, all I did was HDR. Some of it was pretty bad in hindsight. I still have the RAW files however, so I was able to take another stab at it.

In brief what I did here was make an new HDR image, then turn it to monochrome as an experiment.

This photo is for the daily #monomad photography contest, sponsored by @monochromes & @brumest.

This is Haystack Rock on Cannon Beach, Oregon. Thanks for taking a look! Please click for a full-screen view.

Nikon D7100, 1/40second, f/16.0 ISO320 24mm

l6tzyce1fe.jpg


The HDR version in colour:

8f2461ujj4.jpg


Please check out my recent posts, thank you!
* Market Friday - I just want a coffee!
* Houseboats for Monomad
* Two Gates for #GateThursday
* Shadow Photo Contest Round 30 - textured wood shadows ~ The Boardwalk
* I Hope You're Not Planning To Steal That Bike!

Sort:  

Awesome @daveks, thanks so much! This day keeps getting better :)

I love the colors, but the b&w is also great.

logoAsset 5@2x copy.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail. To get involved in the future of @photomag please check the @photomag blog. Vote for @markangeltrueman witness here



Photomag is a new proposition by @markangeltrueman on the STEEM blockchain that aims to create a STEEM backed photo magazine website

Greatly appreciated @photomag! What a pleasant surprise this was! Thank you very much!

I can't decide if I like the color or the mono one better...

I can't decide if
I like the color or the
Mono one better...

                 - deadgrlsuppastar


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you haikubot that was awesome of you

Thank you very much, I think maybe the colour. Thanks for sending your comment as a haiku! :)

Beautiful in color and monochrome, Keith:)

Thank you :)

Interesting how the mood of a picture is in the color. The black and white draws attention to the unique landform, but suddenly you shift to "who cares about landforms with all that color? It is fairyland." I suppose it comes down to your purpose.

thanks for that interesting comment - I think you're right, there is something about the colour version that makes me spend more time looking at the beach and the people. The black & white is about the rock... I never thought of this way before.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I like both of these photographs @keithboone. I really liked the black and white one but the saw the colour one and thought "I prefer that one" but then looked again and now I can't decide.

They are both lovely but I particularly like the colours reflected on the sand. 😊

Thank you, Gillian! Honestly, I like the colour version the best but I notice so many places I go there are monochrome prints on the walls. I see this in offices, hotels, etc. People love black and white, perhaps because there is something retro about it?

perhaps because there is something retro about it

Yes. Maybe @keithboone but I see you won the monomad contest so they liked it too. Congratulations!

That's no mean feat since I feel there are certain people who are favoured there. Excellent to see you at the top! 😁

Congratulations, @keithboone. This shot got you the first place on today's #monomad Daily Picks. Thank You!

Thanks a lot, @monochromes, I'm honoured :)

Wow, beautiful!!

Glad you like it @daveks, thanks very much, Dave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13