6/4 ~ A MonoMad Post

in #monomad5 years ago

On my way to Las Vegas the other day, something caught my eye as I passed through Yermo, California, and I made a mental note to stop on the way home. I did just that yesterday, and found myself at Liberty Sculpture Park. The park sits on a plot of land purchased by Weiming Chen, a Chinese-born sculptor, in 2017. There are several sculptures, including one of Chief Crazy Horse, but what caught my eye was a giant 64 and this sculpture that obviously depicted the confrontation between man and tank in Tiananman Square.

The builders were at the park, working on a brick wall around the Tank Man sculpture, and they stepped out of the way so I could take this picture. I had to ask about the 64, and found out that it stands for June 4th, 1989, and that this sculpture was dedicated on the 30th anniversary of the Tiananman Square massacre.

You can learn more about the park here. I'm posting these images for the daily #MonoMad photo contest created by @brumest and curated by @monochromes.

1/160 sec, f/9.1, ISO 100, focal length 35.0 mm

xrd2ebq9c1.jpg

1/320 sec, f/7.0, ISO 100, focal length 18.0 mm

idusc2xt8q.jpg
Please click on the images to view them full screen!

Original photographs by @kunschj. All rights reserved

CameraCanon EOS 80D
LensCanon EFS 18-55 mm kit lens
Editing SoftwareGIMP
LocationYermo, California

q9wmavan4j.png

Thanks @otage for my name in blacktop alphabet!


26pnfbytjg.png


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you Pixresteemer!

Aqui mi visita,muy lindas fotos aunque un poco temerosas jaja el tanque de guerra da miedo

No tengas miedo, no es real. ¡jaja! Gracias por su visita.

Sounds like such an interesting park, and I love those two sculptures

There is an additional sculpture of a Chinese dissident who “committed suicide” in jail. I just photographed these two pieces though.

thats interesting must have been such a cool experience to visit it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88