Stargazing at Meteora

in #monomad5 years ago

a464f8ed-22d6-4847-be53-3b785c934b28.jpeg


I've been few times to Meteora, Greece. It's a magical place, really out of this World.
Most of the times, of course, I photograph beautiful landscapes with the monasteries but people visiting those holy places and quite interesting and unique. Here's this photo of some random folks, enjoying the views...

This is an entry for the #monomad photography challenge ran by @monochromes, thank you!

Copyright: Damian Hadjiyvanov, Light Captured

Thank you and have a great day!


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad second place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Thank you! Really an honor!
Great contest, it's always a pleasure to participate in it!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lightcaptured
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=stargazing-at-meteora-2018-10-3-15-30-32


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This pic is really good! The perfect amount of shadows and light! Love it!

Much appreciated, dear friend, @blacklux! :)


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

This is simply amazing capture! No words!
How did you captured so sharp and clean sunrays? 8)

Thank you, @boddhisattva!
It is a photo technique where you intentionally use small aperture. The effect depends on the lens by few ways like the optics, the number of blades the diaphragm has, etc. But generally it is safe to assume values between f/16 and f/22 will be enough. And the most important condition is you photograph against a light source, whether it is the Sun or a flash ;)

Then, depending on where you want details to be seen of the objects in your frame, you either underexpose (everything within appears as silhouettes) or you overexpose a bit to bring light into the shadows :)

(How poetic, LMAO) :P


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

Thank you for the explanation!
I know about aperture trick. I used f/16 and less. But my rays are thick and not pronounced.
Like here

As I understand it's the matter of lens? I use a Sigma AF 17-50 for Nikon.

This one? https://www.sigmaphoto.com/17-50mm-f28-ex-dc-os-hsm

It says "Number of Diaphragm Blades" is 7. I am on Canon myself and from all my lenses, the worst diffraction comes out from one of my favorite lenses, 50mm f/1.4 :) And it has 8 blades. From my experience, better effect comes out of 9 blades ;) Also, have you tried hiding the Sun partially? ;)

Yes, this one. And I tried to hide the sun but I had the same effect, I think.
Thanks again for the explanation! 8)

You're very welcome! If you could try with another lens with more blades? I'm pretty sure that's where the issue comes from :)

Yeah, sometime I'll try :-)
I thought that it's the lens problem too. I hate it's green sunflares :-D

Hehe, the sun-flares are another aspect. And generally I love to turn defects into effects :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67