Old castle. The architectural whim of the Emperor

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time, This fortress corresponded to all the classic rules: it was equipped with artillery guns, at noon there was a shot from a cannon, and at sunset raised the drawbridge. It was too long ago, at the turn of the 18-19 centuries. It looks like this nowadays:


DSC09562 (2).JPG
click for full image


This photo is for the #monomad contest hosted by @monochromes and was initiated @brumest.

Russian landscape painter Shchedrin SF (1745-1804) was able to capture in his picture the view of the castle and fortress during that era.


Location: St. Petersburg, Russia. "Pavlovsk" Museum-reserve

Camera SONY DSC-W350

Thank you for Your attention and Your visit. I appreciate Your feedback and comments.

photofriend banner.jpg

Sort:  

Wow so cool to have the painting of the historical fortress and the photo so similar. And looks very nice in monocolor.

@steven-patrick, We visit these places at different times of the year, and in winter this castle also looks attractive :)
DSC03006.JPG
click for full image

Very nice! I also wondered what color the fort was today :) I lived in Minnesota for 8 years. This reminds me of there.

I'm glad it gives you good memories. It reminds me of a knight's castle. But now it is a cozy hotel and a good restaurant.

A very nice place and a very nice picture what you have succeeded there again.
Can you please tell us your camera settings?

My camera Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-W350 . I mainly use automatic settings. Then I edit in black and white. I'm glad you liked this part of our old castle Park. I was pleased to share this photo. Thank you for Your visit :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for your support!

Nice picture, but i like the old painting as well.

It is always interesting to compare the past and the present. There is still an engraving of that time :)

click for full image

Absolutely stunning @madlenfox. If i was judging this would definitely be a winner! 😂

The sky, the reflection, the subject. All gorgeous!

Oh! Thank you @gillianpearce ! I'm glad. I love this place. I like to come here again and again at different times of the year. Nowadays, this castle is a cozy hotel and restaurant.

Is it quite expensive there @madlenfox? It looks like it might be. 😊

The hotel has 22 rooms of four price categories: from $ 200 to $ 1000 per day. Approximate cost of meals in the restaurant 15$-25$

So the meals sound good value but the rooms would be a little much for me I think @madlenfox. 😊

@gillianpearce, I will agree with you that this is a higher cost. They explain this pricing by the fact that all the rooms are very different, non-standard in interior and designed in the historical style of the castle. Some people rent the entire castle for various large events (for example-wedding). I can't tell you the exact amount, but I think it will be about 10,000 or more per day.

Wow the place is so beautiful and even more beautiful the capture. Loved the black and white vibe in this.

I'm pleased to know that. Thank you for Your visit @cave-man

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by madlenfox from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17