MoNoMad: Little Red Squirrel

in #monomad5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #monomad challenge by @monochromes.

Walking through the forest by the house you will often heard the noisy chatter of the red squirrels. The little reds live mainly among the fir and spruce trees.

They are quick to sound the alarm by loud chattering when an intruder has entered into their territory.


image



The reds weigh about 1/2 a pound. This one is waiting in the snowstorm for a treat. He waits knowing I will bring something outside for him to eat once I see him.

These squirrels do not hibernate as some people think but will stay tucked away in their nest for a few days at a time when the winter weather is extreme.

The food habits of the squirrel include a good variety. Black and white spruce seeds are a prime food source. They store seeds, mushrooms, and other foods away for winter.

I find they also like home cooking and dry cat food.




#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg


image

Sort:  

How lovely is that? Squirrels....they always get me. We have some of those cute fellows in the backyard. The cats love to watch them through the window. It is like kitty tv. Your photo is adorable :)

Thanks @ohmygoodness. Yes kitty tv here too. 🐱 🐿

Awww... he's so stinking cute with the snow all over him!! Look at all that snow Red... you know it's been in the 50's and 60's here and I'm pretty sure we got into the 80's the other day. We've had a mild winter so far and I am not complaining!! Hope all is well!

How are you Monchie? All is well here...putting on my woollies to keep warm. 😊 We have been blasted with old man winter this January. Your temperatures sound great dear friend. ❤️

I'm well Red... my little Chico passed on the 3rd and it hit me pretty hard especially my first day home alone. Things are better ... and we are getting back to normal and back to the grind of daily life.

You could always come visit and get out of all that cold weather. We could have a few drinks and you can eat some awesome food ... and I promise there won't be any of that cold white stuff here lol woollies not required

So sorry to hear this, dear Monchie. I know how sad you must feel.
It would be lovely to have a visit with you. So sweet of you to suggest it. One never knows. I need my passport renewed. 😊 ❤️

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp for your kind support. Most appreciated!

How cute is this adorable little squirrel perched in top of that dome Jo? If I had them visit my place I don't think get much work done as I'd want to watch them for ages. A beautiful monochrome image my friend.

Thanks Trudee. I do love seeing the little squirrels. We don’t have the bigger ones here, like the grays or blacks. There’s the reds and chipmunks. Apparently flying squirrels but I haven’t seen one.

Thanks Calvin @cosmiccrimes for your kind support. 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

He looks so patient!

Thanks @otage. He will wait until I go out with something for him to eat. He likes home cooking and enjoyed a piece of fruitcake. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75