I Created My First MonsterEOS and Steemit Releases v0.19.10!

in #monstereos6 years ago

EOS News

MonsterEOS

The EOS blockchain has so much going on right now, it's hard to keep track of everything. I remember hearing about MonsterEOS and finally got around to playing with it last night and today. I created my first monster and participated in my first battle!

Yes, my monster's name is Luke's Lack of Sleep :)

This is an interesting example of what's possible on the EOS blockchain with free transactions (as long as you have enough staked CPU and bandwidth, along with the RAM needed to store data). I really hope @steemmonsters will be able to do similar things using the json_metadata on Steem, even if some parts have to be off chain to start with.

You can play with http://monstereos.io/ right now, but I would caution you to have a play account you use which you don't keep many funds in for new dapps like this. I'm currently using my 1lukestokes1 EOS account which I created for testing things. If you don't yet have a separate EOS account, you can create one easily using SimplEOS.

If you have any questions, let me know.

How to Keep Up?

There are so many things going on with EOS that it's hard to keep track of it all. It's like the early days of the Internet before search engines where people had to create directories of useful pages to find anything. EOS has a couple of those already with eosinfopedia.io and status-eos.io. If you know of any more, please comment below or reply to this tweet:

Vote for BPs or Set a Proxy!

I also wanted to point out how important it is to vote for block producers with your EOS (please consider eosdacserver). Without enough vote coverage, a small group of whales could potentially vote up their own block producers without them adding any additional value to the ecosystem.

Based on the replies there, it seems many are waiting for hardware support. Keep an eye on this Ledger Trello card for EOS support which currently has 91 votes.

If you don't know who to vote for, don't worry, I've got you covered. You can set lukeeosproxy as your EOS proxy voter using tools like EOS-Voter by @greymass.


Steem v0.19.10 Is Here!

As for Steem, Steemit, inc just released v0.19.10, and I'm rebuilding and replaying on one of my backups now. If that goes well, I'll update my seed node and when I'm confident, update my primary producing node.

I'm reviewing the code diff right now, and you can see the full release notes here. The main thing most people will be excited about is how, eventually, this will allow edits to posts that are older than 7 days old! This also puts some import things in place for the next major release, Hard Fork 20, and reduces the amount of memory (for those using a shared memory file) needed to run a full node. AppBase allows witnesses to break things up into individual nodes instead of having to run everything on one large server and allows us to upgrade things related to the social media side of things without forcing exchanges to upgrade also.

Because some of the changes with this release have a different API format, it's possible some services may break as full node operators roll out updates. Hopefully everyone will be incentivized to keep their systems updated and working nicely.

I'll keep you posted as I learn more.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Aww.... my monster's demise screengrabbed and on the blockchain.... forever....

Hahah! Was that yours? Too funny. I'm sure my monsters will experience quite a few failures of their own as time passes. :)

Yes it was mine, but seems those critters don't die anyway, gameplay isn't perfect since as arena host, you always hit second so there's a higher chance to loose ;)

I hadn't heard of MonsterEOS until just now, I am going to have to take a look at it. It is exciting to see things start coming out on the EOS platform. Thanks for all of the great information in this post. I feel like I am going to have to go back and read it three or four times just to absorb it all!

I like to post stuff as I'm playing around with them. Helps me as much as anyone else so I can go back and re-read stuff I wrote before to re-learn/remember stuff I once knew. :)

Haha that's such a kickass monster name Luke! :)

I just created another one "Procrastination King"

Beat me too it.... Guess I procrastinated too much.

I am interested in learning more about the projects and functionality of EOS. The way that I "learned" about Steem was to join an active discord.

Do you know of any busy happening discords discussing EOS and the various projects?

I'm part of a couple, but it seems like much of the activity happens on Telegram.

Yeah, that's what I've heard. Thanks!

That actually looks pretty sweet. Of course I think steemmonsters is better for now....but it's nice to know there are so many different possibilities on the EOS blockchain.

Right now i have my EOS on binance, but don't know what do to with it :/

I'd say create an EOS account and then send them to that account and then vote for eosdacserver. :)

Unfortunately creating an account is a little tricky at the moment, but you could try out something like this: https://medium.com/coinmonks/create-your-own-eos-account-easily-using-the-non-service-fee-dapp-signupeoseos-b15c5347f2fc

Securely creating your EOS keys can be a little tricky, but I touch on a couple methods here. You could also try just downloading and compiling the main eos code and running cleos create key.

I am interested in making some games that tie into these things. The only thing that has really held me back is I don't necessarily want to do them as a web page based game. I'd like to tie the crypto currencies and blockchain into the games played on stand alone apps. I use the Unity Engine at this point for pretty much everything I do, and yes I could push web based games with that, but that also limits my options on what whiz bang type of stuff I can do.

Maybe some day I'll get around to figuring this out. I am definitely interested in EOS and I'll possibly set you as my voting proxy here sometime soon.

Yeah, I'd like to get into game development myself, even if they are just silly games like I did years ago with my son. I think EOS' 500ms block times will make gaming a real option. We'll see.

I don't know enough about how EOS works yet, but it is something I will likely look into at some point. I own a ton of stuff for game development. A large chunk of profits I have made from Steemit actually went into purchases of game development tools and assets.

I’m not sure how to vote for EOS ledger with the Trello card. Any guidelines on how that works?
Cheers! Lij

Hey Lij. Not sure if voting matters, but you just click the "Vote" action (they are on the right of the card).

ehhh nice Luke :)

Cool
ich brauche EOS merke ich gerade
danke

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79