my moon, my man

in #moon5 years ago (edited)

Happy 09.09.19.

My student is working on Debussy’s Clair de Lune. There were sections that I recommended fine tuning her control and restraint. As part of the assignment, she also makes time to watch the moon and it shows in her interpretation of the piece. Many pianists play it too fast. It makes me wonder if they’ve ever gone out for an evening walk. The moon is awe-inspiring, dreamy, quiet yet strong. Isn't the moon like that for everyone?

It’s been a part of my earliest memories; a mysterious friend that followed me on walks and long drives. Four year old JNET remembers staring out the car window in awe that this bright glowing ball in the night sky followed faithfully. That night orb comforted me through pensive evening runs on the beach during teen angst and was my companion shining paths on midnight hikes in the woods during college summers. Growing up with the moon has made me who I am. The memories are powerful. They’ve been branded onto me. Take away the moon and music from my life and I would be a shell of who I am.

Miss Kathia’s interpretation of Clair de Lune is my favorite to share.

Back to 09.09.19....and the post titled, My Moon, My Man.

Is it possible to meet a person that is like the moon? A luminescent, kind, quiet guide who gently illuminates the adventurous path of life? A person that is always there but yet at a distance? Perpetually shining in their solitude and yet if their light touches you, you are affected. You’re breath is taken away as they charge the very air you breathe.

When I met E, he terrified me and I thought I had just met the man I would marry someday. But our friendship did not go the simple way. Gravity may pull us into one another’s orbit but we never managed to be mortals to one another. Instead, we’re an ethereal pair that share spare words of encouragement to one another when the planets align just so. Neither of us know how to pull the other toward solid ground. And why should we?

Some people are like the moon. Some people are meant to be loved like moons and stars. If we didn’t have the energy that they give us, wouldn’t we be mere shells of human beings?

I hope you enjoy awe, lightness, and beauty in the silence of moonlight. If you haven’t spent time with the moon in a while, I hope my 09.09.19 post inspires you. Listen to Debussy and then a little bit of Feist.

JNET

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

From N: Another stirring post, Princess. Great metaphor for E. Suits him to a tee.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79