Back to the Moon

in #moon6 years ago (edited)

September, 16th. First Quarter

image

Last fime when I posted photos of Moon it was during the eclipse. It was spectacular. And now it is also spectacular because the best view of tne surface is not during the full Moon but when it is any other phase. Then the craters are much better visible closer to the terminator. Terminator is the line that divides the day and night side.

Let's start the little walk to see them close. The telescope is set and the photos I made with the smartphone. I am holding the phone to the eyepiece (on the left side).

image


For better view I use another eyepiece and Barlow lens to get even closer look. Then it comes the tricky point to hold the phone steady and to focus. Yes, I know, there are holders that can be attached to the eyepiece and will make my life easier.


image


If you look at the sky you will see the Moon as it is on the first picture. But because the telescope is reflector, the images are upside down. I kept them as such, because that is how I see through the telescope.

image

Close-up of the Sea of cerenity (Mare Serenitatis) 707 km in diameter.
Once it was believed the dark patches on the surface to be seas and they were all named as such. They actually are plains formed by volcanoes.


Next images show some craters. I tried to show you as much as possible and to get the impression of what I really see.















I very much hope that you enjoyed the walk on the Moon. Thank you for your time.

Images taken with Samsung J5 through the eyepiece of the telescope, editing app Lightroom.

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting, upvoting and resteeming.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

Sort:  

Страхотна Лунна разходка.
Поздравления.

Благодаря ти 😀

so we are looking at the upside down Moon? it's cool :D

Yes, I see the Moon upside down through the eyepiece.

Great shots @nelinoeva
It's always nice to meet other people that are also interested in astrophotography. :-)
Is the scope a Skywatcher 150/750?

Thank you very much for your support. I am absolute beginner in astrophotography and all I have achieved are pictures of the Moon only.
My scope is Omegon 152/750. Not as good as Skywatcher. But not so bad for a beginner.😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25