Mum Blog : Glucose Test

in #motherhood5 years ago

Adobe_Post_20190809_091339.png

After a terrible night's sleep here I am at the local pathology centre getting my glucose test done for what will be a 3 hour long test.

The Glucose Test

This test is to see if I have gestational diabetes.

Apparently gestational diabetes is a thing some pregnant women acquire during pregnancy and most times it goes once bub is born.

The problem with having gestational diabetes whilst pregnant is the risk of bub growing too big which in turn can affect labour, and perhaps even have follow on effects such as developmental issues as bub grows older.

The test itself involves 3 separate blood tests during a 2 hour period along with 75mls of what I can only describe as concentrate sugar syrup ~ think drinking straight cordial, hold the water.

Right now I'm 1 blood test down, cordial done and I should be up for blood test 2 in a few minutes.

Physically I feel off, so so so off, after that drink. Hubby says my face has gone red (though I attribute that to the stuffy heat in the waiting room) but that aside I can't decide if I want to throw up or not. Throw in vertigo in the mix and you now have a somewhat accurate glimpse of my now.

On the plus side....

I'm using this time to write today's blog, I may even have time to write my art blog after this. And we'll be picking up my magnesium spray this afternoon which is just as well cos my legs have been hurting for hours now.

So yeh. That's me today.

Can't wait for bub to pop out.


bearone.png

MEMBEROFS.png

Team Australia Steem Philippines Steem Silver Gold Qurator Natural Medicine Snbox Alpha

Sort:  

Good luck, Mama. I hope result will be fine 🤗

Thanks hun, I hope so too

Are you at risk of gestational diabetes, or do they test everyone for this as a precaution?

Posted using Partiko Android

I might be considering all the sweets I've had during my pregnancy. When I say sweets I mean buying mud cakes from the cake shop and trays of donuts from Krispy Kremes 🤦🏻‍♀️, then there was the tray of brownies...

But I've been told this is a test preggo women take around this time of the pregnancy anyway.

Lol! Sounds like you've had quite the sweety tooth this pregnancy! Fingers crossed all the tests congee back negative for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ew hope everything comes back clear. It gets to that point waiting for bub to pop out doesn’t it 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Same here 🤞🤞🤞🤞
And yep defo on countdown mode. Feel like the next 11 weeks are gonna drag..

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.666 which ranks you at #1727 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1733).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 187 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09