Natural Ways To Boost Your Milk Supply: Recipes

in #motherhood6 years ago (edited)

milk supply - RECIPES.png

I want to share 3 yummy, nutritional and nourishing recipes with you. These featured recipes contain foods that are packed full of vitamins and minerals and contain those all important chemical properties to that get that lovely breast milk flowing.

balls1.jpg
Lactation Boosting Balls

There are three key ingredients with a long-standing reputation for boosting milk supply in breastfeeding mums: oats, flaxseed and brewers yeast.

These tasty balls combine the classic flavours of chocolate and nuts, with these healthy milk boosting ingredients.

Give yourself an energy boost whilst supporting your milk supply!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup rolled oats
1 tbsp brewers yeast
1 tbsp ground flaxseed
3 tbsp crunchy natural peanut butter/almond butter
1 tbsp cacao powder
3 tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Instructions:

Mix all ingredients together until well combined.

  1. Roll into small balls, approximately 1 teaspoon in size.
  2. Store in an airtight container

burgers.jpg
Chickpea & Brown Rice Veggie Burgers

These burgers are full of fibre, protein and other healthy things! They're also super easy to make and really filling. Jam packed full of milk boosting goodness!

Ingredients:
2 cups cooked and drained chickpeas
1 cup cooked brown rice
1 large shallot, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Coarse salt and pepper
1 egg
2 tablespoons olive oil
Dijon or whole-grain mustard for serving

Instructions:

Mash chickpeas and brown rice by hand or in food processor until thick paste forms. Stir in shallot, garlic, and parsley. Season with salt and pepper. Stir in egg. Form into four 1/2-inch-thick patties.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add patties and cook until golden brown, about 4 minutes per side.

Spread mustard on each pattie and serve with salad in a bun or with any accompaniment of your choice!

moringa smoothie.jpg
Moringa Smoothie

Best first thing in the morning for a super healthy start. Moringa has amazing milk boosting benefits and stimulates the mammory glands. Adding almond milk to the mix will also make it super creamy and vitamin rich.

150 ml almond milk
1 banana
1 cm of root ginger
1 tspn of moringa powder

Blend together till the mixture reaches a smooth consistency. Sprinkle with toppings such as bee pollen, chia seeds, cacao nibs or chopped nuts.

star line .jpg

I hope you enjoy these recipes!

In my next post I will be talking about what herbs can help boost milk supply and will feature my amazing lactation tea blend.

BIG love,

Star xx

Steemit logo.jpg

tribe-steemup-member-banner.jpg

steemitmastermindgroupbanner.png

steemitmamas.png

Sort:  

Hello, everyone! I've created a new Steemit t-shirt and I think that it's better than my previous one! I hope that you'll enjoy my work as well. Order here:
https://teespring.com/welcome-to-steemit-t-shirt
front (7).jpg

Congratulations @startreat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great recipes! Those look delicious!

Thanks @corrielaine I think so! The lactation balls were my fave x

I really like this post. Although I don't have a problem with my milk supply these recipes look delicious :)

Thanks @lizgg I still make the lactation balls just without the brewers yeast as I'm always hungry due to breastfeeding. They are a great little energy booster!

Such yummy looking recipes! I love this post. Breastfeeding mamas should definitely get more encouragement. It's vital to the future for so many reasons. The foundation for a healthy child as well as healthy relationships. Breastmilk is the superfood of life!

"Breastmilk is the superfood of life!" I love that!! Yes I really felt alone when trying to get the feeding established. More support is crucial. When I lived in the UK I had an amazing lactation consultant, but here in Spain I really struggled to get help. I am so happy to share my findings with all the beautiful mamas out there. xx

Brilliant post my child! Congrats on such a high well deserved rating!!!
Luv

This is awesome. I will pinned it for my future baby due on november. Excited to try this, thank you for sharing @startreat.

P.s. that veggie burger look delightful. Yum!

Great! Hope you find them as yummy as me. Check out my article on vocal toning for an easier labour it could really help you when you have your baby in November. Lots of love xx

great recipes and I am loving these series of posts, well done @startreat xxx

Thanks lovely. I'm really pleased with them and hope they reach the mamas who need support in those early stages of feeding xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76