Me and My Beautiful Mama

in #mothersday5 years ago (edited)

IMG_1182.JPG

Hi Friends,

This is one of my favorite photos of me and my mom. Both of our hair really cracks me up. I mean those bangs people... compliments of my dad and his scissors. Pretty sure I could have hid snacks under there to save for later. Then there's my mom's perm! So classic!

I was the first girl (there are a total of 6 kids... 4 boys and @maryjaney and I) and so that pink, puffy sleeve dress you see was pretty much dresscode for me growing up.

I know today can be a complicated day for so many of us. I'd be lying if I said I'd always had the rosiest relationship with my parents - but it is a good day to honor all the maternal figures in your life. For me, that's been my mom at times and sometimes it's beautiful friendships I've built with women I love and respect and have shared their wisdom and guidance with me when I've needed it most.

Being a bit older has helped me get past any childhood hurt I may have experienced, and see the honest and caring people that are my parents. The way my mom has re-connected with me in recent years has been really touching and has caused me to have even more empathy and compassion for her and the struggles she's experienced in life. She's a strong woman that's grown so much and really tries to find joy in the small moments of life.

I love this photo because I think it radiates so much pure joy. I feel like I see my mom here.

What are you all doing for Mother's Day? I went out to my parents house to enjoy lunch and it felt great to see my mom beaming from the experience. It's not too often that she gets all six of her kids in one room these days and we were all able to make it up for Mother's Day. I hope you all take a moment to appreciate the strong, beautiful women in your life!

XO, Lea

Sort:  

That made me smile!

always beautiful since kid

Excellent picture! Glad you had a good Mother's day :)

Sooooooo Lovely CUTE 💙 ♬

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

A beautiful photo. Yes the day can be complicated...but we would truly miss them if they were not with us anymore. Blessings. @coruscate

H☺ppy Mother's day...

Posted using Partiko Android

Very lovely. I hope you enjoyed your Mother's Day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73